We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully different-Great for a large group”

Review of The Lynhurst

Seaviews enjoyed from the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaviews enjoyed from the property
New kitchen fitted in January 2018 with 3 oven Aga, 2 fridges, 2 dishwashers, 2 double ovens, hob
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Seaviews enjoyed from the property
New kitchen fitted in January 2018 with 3 oven Aga, 2 fridges, 2 dishwashers, 2 double ovens, hob
New for 2018 panoramic viewing terrace.  Views of the sea, Lynmouth and Exmoor
The Lynhurst from the lawned area in extensive grounds with seaviews
One of two lounges with coal fire, piano, seaviews and balcony
One of two lounges, seaviews, balcony, wood burning stove, TV, CD, comfortable seating
1 of 10 bedrooms, ensuite, balcony for relaxing, overlooking the sea and the garden
Four poster room overlooking the sea with ensuite bath with overhead shower
Double or twin (zip and link) ensuite with balcony and garden views
Room 8 twin with beatiful views of the sea and Lynmouth
Double ensuite with balcony and garden views
Superking ensuite with Lynton village views
Twin ensuite with garden views
Family room with double and twin beds ensuite.  Breathtaking views of Exmoor, the sea and the garden
Room 3 with balcony and sea views.  Shower and hand basin
Twin (zip and link) or double ensuite, garden views
The BBQ area with 2 charcoal BBQs and ample seating with seaviews
The Lawned Area of the Garden
The views from a balcony
Magnificent front entrance with Victorian painted stain glass features
View from the upper path
The very special seaviews from The Lynhurst
A tranquil seating area with seaviews
The lawned area of the extensive gardens
The  glorious BBQ area with two large charcoal grills
The secluded and private location of The Lynhurst
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
10 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Lynton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
choppingL...
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfully different-Great for a large group”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ten rooms, so it sleeps 20+. The bedrooms rooms are slighly variable in quality but all comfortable if a little quirky. The public rooms - Lounges and Conservatory - are very good. Kitchen is well equipped and works very well for a large group. Overall it works very well and our group had a wonderful week in a beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beuatiful Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Hi thank you for your review. You did mention in our conversation that the mattress on the four poster bed was uncomfortable. It is great that you told me about this as unless I know of a problem its obvious that I cannot repair or replace an item. No one has mentioned it before. The mattress has been replaced so I hope everything is now in order. Thank you for letting me know Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara123...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great House for a Wedding”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for 5 days in April. We live in London but married in Lynton Town Hall and as we had our families travelling from overseas we needed a large house good for all ages and that lived up to every ones expectations!
The house is great and really well equipped. The dining room is huge and there are two lounge rooms which means you can have the kids in one and the adults in the other. Also enough bathrooms for everyone.
In a lovely location with views and great grassed area for the kids.
We all really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend for a large group.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverjRo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I'm amazed that I'm only the second person to give the Lyndhurst a review on here - the guestbook is full of lovely comments and we were all completely blown away. I guess people are trying to keep the secret.

We went in May as a group of 24 for a stag do to this beautiful house overlooking the sea. The house is enormous and beautifully equipped, most rooms even have ensuites! I stayed in the master suite and was very impressed by the 4 post bed and the views out to the sea (although I also had my eye on the two rooms next door with the balconies). It had everything we needed (and more) to cook and cater for such a large number of people while the BBQ outside is perfect and we had a very fun couple of nights on the terrace and in the conservatory.

We also went to Napnarta Thai which is joined by to the Lynhurst by a footpath that starts at the house and finished 5 minutes later at the restaurant! Too good to be true

It's really hard to give justice to the place from photos and comments but it really is something special.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2015
Thank you so much. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Lynhurst. I have spent several years upgrading and improving the property, but as you say the location is gorgeous, can't improve that! Its also good to hear about guest experiences at local restaurants so that I am able to pass this information on. I hope we can see you again someday and thank you for chossing The Lynhurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Lynhurst. I am certainly delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that it met with your expectations. Best wishes and hope to see you again some day. Jane Weston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Walking up the hill from Lynmouth! Best use the fabulous tram service.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to The Lynhurst.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It is so good to know that the last few months of upgrading the entire house has proved to be a success.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian C
1 review
“Great house for any type of gathering.”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a great house. This former hotel is just perfect for a large group of friends,a family or both, with many bedrooms and bathrooms there was a room to suit everyone.
A very, VERY, well equiped kitchen, a cook of any ability would be able to lay their hands on almost any tool you would require to cook for a large group. I've never used a range cooker before but it was great for popping a couple of packs of saussages in and them being ready in minutes.
The two lounges meant that the younger people could relax in their own room.
We all agreed we'd like to stay at this house again.

There are some very nice walks from Lynton and the local bus stop is just 200 yards away. (310 - 1hr from Barnstaple) A great getaway location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms and the sense of space.
Liked least: Accessibility could be an issue with older people
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Lynhurst. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you again on some future occasion. Regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and character of the house
Liked least: the arched stairs restricting the views from the dining room.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Lynhurst. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing