We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like food go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Didn't expect too much at the price paid but the food was terrible. Burnt bacon, fried egg which was a poached egg reheated on a griddle. Dinner was burnt fishcakes or anything else burnt. Vegetables undercooked or like slops. Room not clean. Wallpaper falling of wall. Some waiters had no idea. Electric failed on Sunday and we were told it was the maintenance mans day off but they would try to have it fixed. It was only after us getting really anoyed that appeared to come up with a solution. Entertainment virtually non existent exept for quizzes.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Two_ronnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

booked a weekend break with Shearings Holidays to stay at Valley of Rocks Hotel in Lynton.
The hotel itself is a very large Victorian building which is being renovated by Shearings -
It needs a bit of updating but everything is very clean. The food was good and adequate, and the waiters were excellent and very polite. We felt the garden was in need of some TLC to bring it back to its original grandeur which would become an asset. It would be a lovely spot to sit and look over the lynmouth harbour if the trees were pruned.
You cannot get tea or coffee or anything to eat during the day until the bar opens at 6pm.
The entertainment on Friday and Saturday was good, but the background music on a Sunday night just sent everyone out or to bed - need to put something on for a Sunday night even if it was just a quiz for an hour.
Overall the break was excellent value for money - we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We got a good last minute deal through Shearings web site so we weren't expecting much. On arrival, we were so pleased that the hotel is right in the main street which has attractive buildings and usual individual shops.
The staff at the hotel work well together and there is evidence they have had good training despite some minor language problems. The range on the menu looked impressive but in reality, most meals were little more than average (vegetables either over or under cooked). If you want entertainment, there's plenty of it, in particular quizzes!
The biggest let down was the room; luxury not expected but ours was extremely shabby and needed basic maintenance. Linings had been cut out of curtains;wardrobe, bathroom and main doors wouldn't close properly; a nice ' tide-mark' around the bath, black mould, chipped bath, filthy plugs, badly stained toilet and hanging shelf greeted us in the bathroom. The carpet was badly stained and needed a good vacuum. Not a very comfortable room!
However, the whole 5 day break represented excellent value when you consider local accommodation tariffs. Most local B/B's charged at least £30 a night per person.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed for four nights as part of a Shearings trip,we got an excellent deal pricewise.The hotel is located in the village of Lynton which is very hilly ,but there is a cliff train which takes you down into Lynmouth and the seafront.Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay,there was entertainment in the hotel which was very good on two of the evenings,we would stay here again as the food was good with plenty of choice and the staff friendly and efficient.It is like a lot of hotels these days that need a bit of freshening up in the corridors and rooms,but it was clean so no problem.There are lots of good walks in the local area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

what can i say paid for a sea view room what a joke ...i saw more water in my sink ...as for the staff would be nice if most of them could talk English my wife and i was here about 8 yrs ago and we loved it ...but how it has fell apart ...what happen to the chefs we always got on well with the chefs and my wife loved Shaun he was always so happy go lucky and we were keeping our fingers crossed that he would still be there but sadly has gone and so has the food its a shame hotels cant hang on to the real workers and replace them with fools ..once a nice hotel ....and the car park that's a joke if you cant get in behind the hotel you get a pass to use the main one would not leave my car down there over night ...oh well if only we could turn back the clocks we would have had fun there again and the food would be great again

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jessica076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

For less that £120 each we had 3 days away over Easter and that must be the criteria to hold in mind. Thanks to another reviewer's tips, we got into the carpark (look out for those black gates) and spent our time walking in the area and we blessed with lovely weather.
The staff at the hotel is its best feature - with almost no exceptions, they do their very best to be helpful and friendly.
Bedrooms - you can see how the original rooms have been split to make as many as possible, but our room (seaview) had a high ceiling and enough space not to feel cramped.
The bed though was very small and incredibly hard which took some getting used to. The ancient boiler meant that hot water took a while to come through (we got that tip from the maintenance guy at reception!) and there were no toiletries at all in the bathroom (despite assurances in the room 'blurb') however, we know that this varies with Shearings hotels, so always come prepared.
Restaurant - breakfast was certainly adequate and despite the coffee was always enjoyable. Dinner wasn't so good - small portions, awful vegetables and just don't mention the salad option.
BUT for this price you can eat out in the evening and after the first night we did and there are some very good places to eat in Lynton.
Would I stay here again? Probably not having seen some of the other places to stay - it was the very hard bed though that would be the deciding fact in my not returning.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank londonlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I went with the mrs and mother in law and their family and was not expecting much but i must say it was the best value for money 3 night stay i have ever had.

If you cant get on their car park at the back they give you a sticker to put in the car and the public car park is about 3 minutes walk away.

Our room was clean and warm with a nice view plus a free bottle of champagne and a box of roses chocholates plus a bowl of fresh fruit! also tea and coffee facility.

Breakfast was cereals, porridge, juices, tea, coffee,full english, toast with kippers if you wanted the three course evening meal was great to with a great choice of nice food with nice veg as well finishing off with three choices of sweet or cheese and biscuits with tea or coffee after that.
The staff were very freindly and helpfull and we made sure we tipped them at the end of the break.
The entertainment was very enjoyable with the bar closing at eleven pm but a local pub two mins away stayed open till late and it was good down there as well, the quiz night was a great laugh on sunday evening, take no notice of the bad reviews we will definately go back and reccommend this hotel to friends, this worked out to around £28.00. per night, i have been in hotels which charge three times this amount with brekkie only and no kettle in the room, just book it and try it yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kickabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: $120 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing