We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Valley of the Rocks Hotel combined with a Shearings (who own Hotel) Coach Holiday provide an exceptional, value for money, short- break holiday.
The Hotel has many years of history, and probably over the years, had many owners. Shearings have added the Companies expertise to provide very good basic accommodation which include comfortable reasonably furnished rooms which are clean, with good linen/towels, etc, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers, mostly with recently refurbished bathrooms.
A lovely dining-room offering several choices of good, freshly prepared food.
A charming and comfortable lounge, with excellent furnishings, nightly professional entertainment, with a separate well stocked bar area.
Without exception I found the staff particularly pleasant and hard working.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chapellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 536 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2008

My wife and I revisited this hotel in Sept 08 (see my comments Sept 07). When I booked I asked for and got the same room (33), the scaffolding was gone and the view was great. This is large, duel aspect room with views over the sea and also the village. I did notice that there was evidence of a water leak on the ceiling from the room above. I was not unsurprised to find the same manager and several of the staff from last year, I always feel that this shows stability. All the comments about the hotel, staff and food are the same as last year and we shall return again next year. My only possible complaint could be that the gravy with the roat beef was too spicy however this did not detract from the holiday. I have visited several Shearings hotels and the valley of the rocks ranks as one of the best in my book. Once again exellent value for money, just compare the prices, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller-Older
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our second visit to Lynton, the first in the Valley of the Rocks. We booked through Shearings. Breakfast and evening meal included. I looked at trip advisor before booking but decided the comments were a bit harsh and to give the hotel a go (all Shearings hotels are usually ok and went on Shearings reputation). The hotel is full of history with stunning views and a lovely garden. The rooms are in the process of being refurbished but are comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and the food is good. There is parking at the back of the hotel but for only 6 cars, howver the hotel will give you a voucher for parking in the village car park, which is not too far away. We had entertainment every night which is as well because there is very little to do in the evenings and the train stops at 7pm, so a trip to Lynmouth, in the night, is only for the hardy! The hotel is a perfect base for exploring Devon, we loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RootytootCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Valley of the Rocks Hotel Lynton is one of the better Shearings Hotels we have stayed at. Still needs a little updating overall but could reccomend for middle aged couples. Entertainment good ,food typical Shearings, Staff in restaurant very good , Hotel clean throughout, bedrooms comfortable . Overall good value break.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

If you consider worn out furniture and poorly maintained rooms to be " charming " then this Hotel is for you ! My Wife and I stayed at the Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton for a long weekend at the end of June, we paid an extra £30 for a sea view.To start with parking the car was not easy as the parking in the Hotel car park is not obvious and stopping outside the Hotel just to pop in to ask directions is not easy as the road is narrow and has double yellow lines ( for your information the car park is on the left hand end of the Hotel through black iron gates, closed when we arrived ) Parking is available in the public car park about 150yds from the Hotel on the left down a side road, parking is free with a ticket supplied by the Hotel but we did worry about the security of the car left in a public car park for this length of time.Our room was on the third floor ( 76 ) there is a good lift to all floors.
On entering the room we were dissapointed with almost everything about the room,the room was quite small,there was a damp patch on the ceiling where there had been a leak from above,the bed had no headboard and the wallpaper was worn away and marked from peoples heads,the room was poorly decorated dark and dingey. But That " Sea View " ( Joke ! ) £30 for a Sea view that was a window about 4ft x 2ft and about 5ft off the floor ! Also the view was obscured by the Trees from the overgrown garden below.The Bathroom was excellent and looked recently fitted.
The meals were good and times of meals to suit most.
The Staff were friendly and helpful.
The Entertainment was Bingo on Friday night ( which no one played ) then a Quiz followed by 60's / 70's music cd's played by the entertainments manager ( pleasent bloke ) Sat, Bingo then live Cabaret with an OK Singer followed by Quiz, Sunday,Quiz and cd's again Ballroom was empty all night !
Nice little lounge area and bar prices are OK.
Views from the Dining room ? OK if you like Trees !
Views from the Ballroom OK if you like Trees !
The Garden is so overgrown and not maintained it blots out what could be a lovely view, the only view is from a side room off fthe Ballroom with two worn out sofa's.
If you like to go out for an evening walk after your meal there is not much to see in Lynton , better to pay a little more and find a Hotel in Lynmouth with it's Sea Front and River walks plus better shops, cafe's and pubs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oncebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Been here a year ago when the hotel was clothed in scaffolding which we werent expecting - our shock and dismay was dealt with admirably by the team on reception, we were made to feel welcome and that our complaints were taken seriously. We expected a big difference on the exterior this year but though there had been a vast amount of scaffoling last June, apart from some window painting (and our room's window had been painted shut!) there appears to be no change. The gardens, flower beds etc are clearly neglected, and outside had barely been swept since the builders left!! We were there for a weekend and the place had no sign of management in attendance and no sign of the previous staff. The hotel appears to be run by a dragon on reception who gets upset if you interrupt her reading her magazines (and my husband faced her wrath when he interrupted her 'fag break'), and a guy in work clothes who should maybe be gardening rather than talking loudly on reception. They are clearly not interested in the guests thats for sure. There were also no management staff in the cafe or bar and the hotel appears to be run by people now who couldnt give a damn. Shearings have just put their prices up - it cant surely be to pay these people to do nothing?? Having had a good moan, and I admit its because the receptionist upset my husband by the way she barked at him, I have to say that the staff in the restaurant are great (enough of them to cope, this time) and the food was ok. Room though needing desperately a lick of paint, was adequate for our needs and clean (ish). Lynton itself is great, locals are friendly, and though it was really bad weather we walked for miles - lots of hills though so make sure you're fit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

I thought I must have a quick word about this hotel. It is a Shearings hotel and is a little worn but it done everything for me. A short break away, very cheap and will defineatly be going again.

Cannot find one thing to complain about. Everything went very smoothly and was a very enjoyable experience all round.

For the price it was outstanding value. Not the Ritz but a very high standard of service in all ares.

Thank you Shearings for an excellent short break See you in December!.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank DavidBanburyOXON_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: $120 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing