We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was ill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I was ill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Lovely area good location. Unfortunately, like many other guests, from the coach trip who stayed here, both myself and my husband were ill and unable to enjoy the area as we had planned. Glad to be home and recovering from the experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Helen J,

I am sorry that you and your husband’s recent stay with us was affected by illness.

As you may be aware from media reports, there is currently a national increase in the incidence of a gastrointestinal illness caused by Norovirus, commonly referred to as the “winter vomiting bug”.
Norovirus is the most common cause of infectious diarrhoea and vomiting in the UK. The infection is much more common in the winter months, but it can occur at other times of the year.
Norovirus is very widespread, second only to the common cold in the number of cases reported. Up to 1 million people in the UK are thought to be affected by Norovirus every year.

Even though the initial symptoms of sickness and diarrhoea can be quite severe, fortunately most people recover rapidly, generally within 24-48 hours.

Our hotel has comprehensive cleaning procedures that have been agreed with our local health services to deal with any outbreaks should they occur, but we do rely on the assistance of guests to ensure that these controls are fully effective. As the virus is spread easily from person to person, one of the simplest preventative measures everybody can take is to ensure that hands are washed frequently and thoroughly for at least 20 seconds.

Unfortunately it only takes one person infected with the virus to spread the disease, which is why outbreaks are especially common in hospitals, nursing homes and, as in our case, hotels.

We hope that you both made a fast and full recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    161
    112
    77
    54
See reviews for
61
276
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel on a Shearings Coach Holiday and only booked a few days before so got a bargain price. Taking that into account we weren’t too disappointed to get a room (84) that hadn’t been refurbished as it was clean, comfortable and warm, but with paint peeling off the door and doorframe and the bathroom especially looking rather tatty, it is time it had a refurbishment and it would have been nice to have a shower instead of a bath. Breakfasts were very good but the evening meals a bit hit and miss, but the desserts were always very nice. The staff were very pleasant and the waiters and waitresses worked very hard bustling around. There was free wi-fi if you registered with icloud – telephone reception was very bad. There was always a quiz followed by a different entertainer in the evening who we felt were very good, and a couple of evenings there was Bingo as well. We went on an included trip to Dartington Crystal which was worth going on and we enjoyed the cream tea, although it would have been better to go in an afternoon as we were still full after our big breakfast to eat a large scone with jam and cream, although we did manage it! We had a short stay of 45 mins in Minehead for the other tour and then on to Dunster, and we just had time for a quick visit to the Castle as we are National Trust members. Fortunately we didn’t go down with the sicky bug which some of the other people did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
We are pleased that you found our staff to be pleasant, and that you thought our varied evening entertainment was “very good”.
We are also pleased that your room was warm, comfortable and kept clean by our housekeeping team. We have had many of our rooms refurbished and we will continue to do so.
Thank you, Viv England for leaving your comments on tripadvisor, we hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the coach excursions from our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

had a week in this hotel in february with shearings, i have stayed here before. nice hotel staff pleasant, good food, nice rooms what more could you want. the tv system was down when we arrived and my room was one of those without signal, i went to reception and explained that i was on my own due to my friend being ill at last minute and that it could be quite lonely and they found me a room with a tv that worked.the hotel is old like all other seaside resorts but a nice place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We are really happy, that you had a good time at our hotel and that “the staff were pleasant, the food good and the rooms were nice”
We are also pleased that our reception staff managed to change your room.
Thank you Hannah 20, for taking the time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor, we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a mercy mission 480 miles round trip to collect my in-laws. They have previously stayed at this hotel, whilst on a Shearings 5 day trip, on several occasions and have had an enjoyable time. However, upon arrival this time there was a notification in the bedroom re a sickness bug doing its rounds, they were led to believe that this problem had been around the hotel during the previous week! My Mother-in-Law started suffering from the sickness bug within 24 hours of arrival. Why do Shearings continue to send vulnerable people to such locations when they are fully aware of such a serious issue? Upon the leaving the hotel, I witnessed the coach being fumigated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear John White,

I am sorry that your mother in laws recent stay with us was affected by illness.

As you may be aware from media reports, there is currently a national increase in the incidence of a gastrointestinal illness caused by Norovirus, commonly referred to as the “Winter vomiting bug”.
Norovirus is the most common cause of infectious diarrhoea and vomiting in the UK. The infection is much more common in the winter months, but it can occur at other times of the year.
Norovirus is very widespread, second only to the common cold in the number of cases reported. Up to 1 million people in the UK are thought to be affected by Norovirus every year.

Even though the initial symptoms of sickness and diarrhoea can be quite severe, fortunately most people recover rapidly, generally within 24-48 hours.

Our hotel has comprehensive cleaning procedures that have been agreed with our local health services to deal with any outbreaks should they occur, but we do rely on the assistance of guests to ensure that these controls are fully effective. As the virus is spread easily from person to person, one of the simplest preventative measures everybody can take is to ensure that hands are washed frequently and thoroughly for at least 20 seconds.

Unfortunately it only takes one person infected with the virus to spread the disease, which is why outbreaks are especially common in hospitals, nursing homes and, as in our case, hotels.

We hope that you Mother in law made a fast and full recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lynton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful long weekend break at The Valley of Rocks Hotel, it was amazing and weather was fab! Hotel is a little tired but this does not alter the fact that it is super value and in an excellent location for walking. Our room was clean and comfortable, however not a good reception on TV and no signal for your mobile, did not pose a problem for us though.

The food is very good and our waiter Ales from Czech Republic was such a joy to have serving us. He was happy, cheerful, efficient, attentive and quick and he made for a delightful dining experience indeed. The same could not be said however for the blonde lady who served in the bar area, who was very rude and impolite in her manner, which I may add had been commented on by other people staying at this hotel. Perhaps a lesson in people skills could be learned.

The gentleman with a tanned complexion and wavy hair in reception was again extremely helpful and polite.

All in all it was a very good value for money stay in a very nice area with spectacular scenery all around the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you Annie V for taking the time to post your comments, we are happy to hear that you had a lovely weekend with us at The Valley of Rocks Hotel and that your room was clean and comfortable and the food was very good.
Ales is really happy to read your kind comments regarding him being “happy, cheerful, efficient, attentive and quick.
We will ensure that copies of your comments are given to all the staff in our hotel.
We are also pleased that you holiday was “very good value for money” and hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the spectacular scenery in the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I went for a short 5 day break to shake off my cough with shearings and I really enjoyed it. I would recommend the walk down the steep path to Lynmouth, walk around the walk back up every day. I alo enjoyed the coastal path walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us at The Valley of Rocks Hotel and that your holiday was “excellent for the price”

We are also pleased you enjoyed walking the coastal path and steep path down to Lynmouth; we hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of the lovely walks in this beautiful part of North Devon.

Thank you Alan W, for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a last minute break that i booked for my husband and myself on the Monday before we went on the Friday.We stayed Fri 21st march -Sun 23rd march.We loved it!A very relaxing place to stay.Food excellent,staff are lovely and work very hard.I would recommend this hotel who wants a quiet break.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 38 overlooking the road but you never heard the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirandahartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you Taunton Mandy, for leaving you fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, in lovely Lynton.

Room 38 is a popular room with our guests and has a nice view of our village.

We are happy that you had “a very relaxing time, had excellent food served by our lovely hardworking staff” Thank you for recommending our hotel; we hope you will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing