We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynton 4 day coach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lynton 4 day coach trip”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with national hol. Lovely room, recently decorated with sea view. TV reception poor at times, and room had bath but no shower. Reception changed room for us - thank you. Our Waiter Matej very efficient and helpful and so polite, but all waiters rushing around - need more staff - service slow. Meals were really nice quality. Entertainment Fri, Sat good but female singer Sunday treated us like she was in a retirement home. Sat went to Barnstable and Ilfracombe. Sunday drove 1 1/2 hrs to Minehead and told back on bus in 30 mins WHAT !!!! It took 9hrs to get there on fri from North east, i expected 2 days out but only really got one. Very disappointing and sadly wouldn't recommend this trip - far too long on bus (9hrs inc 3 x 1/2 hr motorway service breaks each way!) and just not worth it. Hotel itself is fine, I'd stay again, just not by coach trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one with shower if you really want on, several only have bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hell0chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are pleased, you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Lynton and that your room was lovely. We are also pleased you had efficient, helpful and polite service from Matej your waiter and that you enjoyed the food.
I will pass on your comments regarding the excursions to National Holidays.
We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Thank you for leaving your comments on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    163
    113
    77
    54
See reviews for
61
278
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had read a number of brilliant reviews for this hotel, so I think I was expecting too much. We paid for a superior room with a sea view. Undoubtedly the view was spectacular, the room spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, although the bed could have done with a new mattress as it sloped into the middle of the bed. The bathroom was huge and could be made spectacular, but there was nowhere to put toiletries - My husband put his toothpaste and deodorant on the tiny ledge above the sink and there was nowhere for me to put anything, so my toilet bag had to live in the bedroom and I had to remember to take things into the bathroom with me each time I went in.
The food was ok - salads brilliant, but in general the food was very bland. I ordered two dishes that claimed to contain garlic - I couldn't taste any. I also feel that there should have been another couple of staff in the dining room to avoid some very long delays in having orders taken and the table cleared after the main course.
The village of Lynton is lovely, and a visit to the Cottage Hospital was accomplished quickly. I could not have asked for better treatment. We would love to return to the area when the weather is better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you Nina Gregory, for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased that your room was kept spotlessly clean and our staff were friendly and helpful. We agree that the views from the sea view superior rooms are spectacular.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues regarding your bedroom and the staffing in the restaurant, we will certainly look in to this.
We are surprised you found some of the food bland as we usually get good feedback regarding food quality, we are happy that you thought that the salads were brilliant!
We look forward to you visiting us again, and we hope the weather is better too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTNJET
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at Valley of the Rocks for three nights over New Year.
Check in was quick and efficient, parking arranged in the hotels own car park[ make sure you book in advance as car park only has spaces for 8 cars].
Our room was I think the best positioned in the whole hotel, no. 77. We had our own 'tower' like room on the top floor with marvellous views of the sea and Wales beyond from all three windows.
Well worth the supplement which included nice touches like wine, fruit and chocolates.
ALL meals were excellent, plenty of choice, good size portions and attentively served by Eric or server.
Entertainment on all three nights was excellent and we 'saw the New Year in' in good company.
The building dates back to the 1830's so there are signs of wear and tear, but the service and standards of the staff more than make up for this.
The hotel has commanding views over Lynmouth so be prepared for steep hills to climb, the lift railway does not operate in the winter. The cliff path walk is stunning and don't be surprised to come face to face with a wild goat!
A very enjoyable stay and good start to 2014 !

Room Tip: Book a high floor with sea view, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you LTNJET, for taking the time to post your kind comments.
We are really happy that you had “the best New Year for ages” with us at The Valley of Rocks Hotel.
We agree room 77 has marvellous views of the sea and Wales, (one of the best views in Lynton we think).
We are pleased you enjoyed all the meals, the excellent entertainment and that you saw in the New Year with good company.
Eric, (our restaurant supervisor) was really pleased to read your comments.
Thank you once again for taking your time, to leave such a nice review; we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and l decided after 13 years to have break from the family this past Christmas, so we decided to self drive to Lynton. staying at the "Valley of the Rock" booking with Shearings.
The room No 9 was perfect, the meals were excellent and the staff so helpful, especially "Eric" if l needed an extra kipper on my plate, it was there!! we soon made friends with other guested, Ed & Joan, the group of 4 from Plymouth, we did have a good laugh over Christmas. Entertainment every night, for the price of our stay is fantastic value, to be honest we could'nt find any fault with the hotel. of course if you look deep enough you are bound to find something to complain about.
We have already started to look at other Shearing Bay Hotels for Christmas 2014.

Room Tip: We was given the advice, choose the Hotel you wish to stay over the Christmas Holidays and if it not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you Ken H, for taking the time to post your kind review on Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break with us in Lynton, and that “room 9 was perfect”, “the meals were excellent” and “the staff were helpful”.
Thank you for the special mention regarding Eric, he was really pleased to read your review.
We are happy that you made some new friends and we are sure you will enjoy your next Christmas break with Shearings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a Shearings self drive Christmas Break at this hotel. For the price we paid we weren't expecting an outstanding break. We were pleasantly surprised by the welcome from the reception staff. We had a large room with en-suite facilities which was very comfortable. The only drawback was the TV reception, it was unwatchable most of the time. In the room there was a bowl of fruit, chocolates, a diary and calendar. The food was of a good standard and the waiting staff were excellent. There was entertainment every night, with a well stock bar. All the guests received a present from Santa. The building itself is fantastic albeit a little tired, but then again it is Victorian with a lot of original features, it is obvious that a lot of on going maintenance is required but a brilliant building. I commend all the staff for their attitude and helpfulness. Fantastic value for money. We had already booked for next Christmas in Paignton.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms appear to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TroggerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Trogger for leaving your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break with us in Lynton.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the food and had excellent service from our staff and that your holiday was “fantastic value for money”

We wish you a Very Happy New Year and we are sure you will enjoy your Christmas break in Paignton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my mother on a three night "Turkey & Tinsel" trip with Shearings, and we had two single rooms with a sea view. It was great! Our driver, Ian, was excellent, very helpful and knowledgeable about this area of Devon. The hotel was lovely, old and traditional, the staff were excellent, food was very good, plenty of choice and good portions, if you wanted anything extra you only had to ask. It was a very good pre Christmas break for us both and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Single rooms 21 & 22 are above the disco area, so expect some music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you annon12, for posting your kind comments on tripadvisor.

We are pleased, that you and your mother had a great holiday with us.

We are also pleased that “the food was very good” and “the staff were excellent”

We will pass your kind comments on to Ian your tour driver.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review; we hope you have a very happy new year and that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here with National Holidays. I had a single room looking out to sea. Only problem with my room was the position above the entertainment. If you do not want to listen to the music you will have to go out in the evening as the sound proofing is not good. Other than that I loved the place. Lots of history and lovely grand design from back in time. Good location for Lynton and Lynmouth. Walked up and down but there is a cable car too. Food was lovely and efficient staff in the restaurant. Near shops and cafés. Recommend the near by tourist information and community book shop. Lots of walks to Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet. I didn't bother with the included excursions as so much to do on the doorstep and prefer walking to sat on a coach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you SabHull, for leaving your feed back on Trip advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us in Lynton; also that you had “lovely food served by our “efficient restaurant staff”.
We agree our hotel is in a lovely location, surrounded by beautiful scenery and ideal for enjoying the wonderful walks. The Valley of Rocks and Watersmeet walks are a particular favourite with our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your kind comments; we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing