We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$161
$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$154
$124
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinai House(Lynton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
94
179
128
83
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
179
128
83
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivecoach holidayshearings breaklovely old hotelsuperior roomvictorian hoteltv receptionshower attachmentpublic roomsexcellent value for moneyold victorianlovely weekendplenty of choiceshort breakporridgelounge areastunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 543 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a Shearings self drive Christmas Break at this hotel. For the price we paid we weren't expecting an outstanding break. We were pleasantly surprised by the welcome from the reception staff. We had a large room with en-suite facilities which was very comfortable. The only drawback was the TV reception, it was unwatchable most of the time. In the room there was a bowl of fruit, chocolates, a diary and calendar. The food was of a good standard and the waiting staff were excellent. There was entertainment every night, with a well stock bar. All the guests received a present from Santa. The building itself is fantastic albeit a little tired, but then again it is Victorian with a lot of original features, it is obvious that a lot of on going maintenance is required but a brilliant building. I commend all the staff for their attitude and helpfulness. Fantastic value for money. We had already booked for next Christmas in Paignton.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms appear to be the best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TroggerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you Trogger for leaving your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break with us in Lynton.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the food and had excellent service from our staff and that your holiday was “fantastic value for money”

We wish you a Very Happy New Year and we are sure you will enjoy your Christmas break in Paignton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my mother on a three night "Turkey & Tinsel" trip with Shearings, and we had two single rooms with a sea view. It was great! Our driver, Ian, was excellent, very helpful and knowledgeable about this area of Devon. The hotel was lovely, old and traditional, the staff were excellent, food was very good, plenty of choice and good portions, if you wanted anything extra you only had to ask. It was a very good pre Christmas break for us both and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Single rooms 21 & 22 are above the disco area, so expect some music!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you annon12, for posting your kind comments on tripadvisor.

We are pleased, that you and your mother had a great holiday with us.

We are also pleased that “the food was very good” and “the staff were excellent”

We will pass your kind comments on to Ian your tour driver.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review; we hope you have a very happy new year and that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here with National Holidays. I had a single room looking out to sea. Only problem with my room was the position above the entertainment. If you do not want to listen to the music you will have to go out in the evening as the sound proofing is not good. Other than that I loved the place. Lots of history and lovely grand design from back in time. Good location for Lynton and Lynmouth. Walked up and down but there is a cable car too. Food was lovely and efficient staff in the restaurant. Near shops and cafés. Recommend the near by tourist information and community book shop. Lots of walks to Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet. I didn't bother with the included excursions as so much to do on the doorstep and prefer walking to sat on a coach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you SabHull, for leaving your feed back on Trip advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us in Lynton; also that you had “lovely food served by our “efficient restaurant staff”.
We agree our hotel is in a lovely location, surrounded by beautiful scenery and ideal for enjoying the wonderful walks. The Valley of Rocks and Watersmeet walks are a particular favourite with our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your kind comments; we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have recently been on a ‘turkey & tinsel’ break to this hotel – and had a lovely time.
The hotel is in a fabulous position and even better if you pay for a sea view (which we did). Our view was over the bay, cliffs and sea, what a treat to wake up to that every morning.
The food was very good with plenty of choice.
All the staff were very pleasant, helpful and made our stay enjoyable. The reception staff were all lovely.
The entertainment team (two of them) were really good, they worked so hard and got everyone involved and joining in.
The rooms were spotless and comfortable - the chambermaids worked very hard.
Our trips out were great – to a crystal place one day with a lovely cream tea thrown in as well and the second day Dunster which was fabulous – what amazing buildings etc. a real step back in time.
The scenery around here is stunning and if you are a walker (which I’m not!) you would be in your element. But for those who do not walk far – just enjoy the stunning views from the hotel.
We didn’t go on the optional outing to Barnstaple as you could get on the bus for half the price or if you are of a certain age – use your bus pass!
This trip was great value for money and I would recommend this trip and hotel to anyone.
Room tip.** We had room number 28 which was a twin room with a fabulous view (paid extra for this) it also has a shower for those unable to get in and out of a bath so easily - but a word of warning is that the entertainment area is underneath it and you can hear it all!

Room Tip: Room tip.** We had room number 28 which was a twin room with a fabulous view (paid extra for this) it also has a shower for those unable to get in and out of a bath so easily - but a word of warning is that the entertainment area is underneath it and you can hear it all! But aside from that - a good room.
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank loopyloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you Loopyloo, for taking the time to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel holiday with us in Lynton.
We are happy that your room “was kept spotless by our hard working housekeeping staff” also that you enjoyed the food, entertainment and found our reception staff to be “lovely”.

We agree that room 28 has a fantastic view; we hope you will visit us again and enjoy more of the wonderful scenery, in this beautiful part of North Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

just returned from a wonderful turkey and tinsel weekend .we had aclean warm bedroom .meals were very nice plenty of choice .our waitress Nicole was cheerful and efficient always gave service with a smile .all staff were pleasant. our driver Malcolm was cheerful and his driving round the steep winding roads was excellent.we could not fault anything with the hotel or .,holiday .will certainly be.. returning to valley of the rocks hotel ,thanks for very pleasant break .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BatleyMarg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you Batley Marg, for leaving your wonderful review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel weekend with us, at the Valley of Rocks Hotel.

We will certainly pass your kind comments onto Malcolm our excellent tour driver, and to Nicole who gave you cheerful and efficient service.

We are also pleased that you had a warm clean room, enjoyed the food and found all the staff to pleasant; we look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews