We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Real Value for Money”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a Shearings self drive Christmas Break at this hotel. For the price we paid we weren't expecting an outstanding break. We were pleasantly surprised by the welcome from the reception staff. We had a large room with en-suite facilities which was very comfortable. The only drawback was the TV reception, it was unwatchable most of the time. In the room there was a bowl of fruit, chocolates, a diary and calendar. The food was of a good standard and the waiting staff were excellent. There was entertainment every night, with a well stock bar. All the guests received a present from Santa. The building itself is fantastic albeit a little tired, but then again it is Victorian with a lot of original features, it is obvious that a lot of on going maintenance is required but a brilliant building. I commend all the staff for their attitude and helpfulness. Fantastic value for money. We had already booked for next Christmas in Paignton.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms appear to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TroggerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Trogger for leaving your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break with us in Lynton.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the food and had excellent service from our staff and that your holiday was “fantastic value for money”

We wish you a Very Happy New Year and we are sure you will enjoy your Christmas break in Paignton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    169
    120
    81
    58
See reviews for
61
296
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my mother on a three night "Turkey & Tinsel" trip with Shearings, and we had two single rooms with a sea view. It was great! Our driver, Ian, was excellent, very helpful and knowledgeable about this area of Devon. The hotel was lovely, old and traditional, the staff were excellent, food was very good, plenty of choice and good portions, if you wanted anything extra you only had to ask. It was a very good pre Christmas break for us both and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Single rooms 21 & 22 are above the disco area, so expect some music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you annon12, for posting your kind comments on tripadvisor.

We are pleased, that you and your mother had a great holiday with us.

We are also pleased that “the food was very good” and “the staff were excellent”

We will pass your kind comments on to Ian your tour driver.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review; we hope you have a very happy new year and that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Enjoyed a 3 night stay here with National Holidays. I had a single room looking out to sea. Only problem with my room was the position above the entertainment. If you do not want to listen to the music you will have to go out in the evening as the sound proofing is not good. Other than that I loved the place. Lots of history and lovely grand design from back in time. Good location for Lynton and Lynmouth. Walked up and down but there is a cable car too. Food was lovely and efficient staff in the restaurant. Near shops and cafés. Recommend the near by tourist information and community book shop. Lots of walks to Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet. I didn't bother with the included excursions as so much to do on the doorstep and prefer walking to sat on a coach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you SabHull, for leaving your feed back on Trip advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us in Lynton; also that you had “lovely food served by our “efficient restaurant staff”.
We agree our hotel is in a lovely location, surrounded by beautiful scenery and ideal for enjoying the wonderful walks. The Valley of Rocks and Watersmeet walks are a particular favourite with our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your kind comments; we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have recently been on a ‘turkey & tinsel’ break to this hotel – and had a lovely time.
The hotel is in a fabulous position and even better if you pay for a sea view (which we did). Our view was over the bay, cliffs and sea, what a treat to wake up to that every morning.
The food was very good with plenty of choice.
All the staff were very pleasant, helpful and made our stay enjoyable. The reception staff were all lovely.
The entertainment team (two of them) were really good, they worked so hard and got everyone involved and joining in.
The rooms were spotless and comfortable - the chambermaids worked very hard.
Our trips out were great – to a crystal place one day with a lovely cream tea thrown in as well and the second day Dunster which was fabulous – what amazing buildings etc. a real step back in time.
The scenery around here is stunning and if you are a walker (which I’m not!) you would be in your element. But for those who do not walk far – just enjoy the stunning views from the hotel.
We didn’t go on the optional outing to Barnstaple as you could get on the bus for half the price or if you are of a certain age – use your bus pass!
This trip was great value for money and I would recommend this trip and hotel to anyone.
Room tip.** We had room number 28 which was a twin room with a fabulous view (paid extra for this) it also has a shower for those unable to get in and out of a bath so easily - but a word of warning is that the entertainment area is underneath it and you can hear it all!

Room Tip: Room tip.** We had room number 28 which was a twin room with a fabulous view (paid extra for this) i...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank loopyloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you Loopyloo, for taking the time to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel holiday with us in Lynton.
We are happy that your room “was kept spotless by our hard working housekeeping staff” also that you enjoyed the food, entertainment and found our reception staff to be “lovely”.

We agree that room 28 has a fantastic view; we hope you will visit us again and enjoy more of the wonderful scenery, in this beautiful part of North Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

just returned from a wonderful turkey and tinsel weekend .we had aclean warm bedroom .meals were very nice plenty of choice .our waitress Nicole was cheerful and efficient always gave service with a smile .all staff were pleasant. our driver Malcolm was cheerful and his driving round the steep winding roads was excellent.we could not fault anything with the hotel or .,holiday .will certainly be.. returning to valley of the rocks hotel ,thanks for very pleasant break .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BatleyMarg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you Batley Marg, for leaving your wonderful review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel weekend with us, at the Valley of Rocks Hotel.

We will certainly pass your kind comments onto Malcolm our excellent tour driver, and to Nicole who gave you cheerful and efficient service.

We are also pleased that you had a warm clean room, enjoyed the food and found all the staff to pleasant; we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed 29th Nov-2nd Dec and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.....would we go again? most definately yes , if we were planning on going down to Devon again.
Pros...Great situation , friendly staff , good entertainment ( enjoyed dancing), atmospheric hotel plus nice size comfortable bedrooms and good food.
Cons...hotel looks a little tired and needs refurbishing ( next year I believe) , not a lot of hotel parking.
Conclusion ...if you want a value for money break that is enjoyable and relaxing and enjoy dramatic landscape , then this hotel id for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Redimondo, for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.

We agree that we are “pleasantly positioned” in the middle of beautiful Lynton.

We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly you had good food, a nice comfortable sized bedroom and that the hotel had a good atmosphere.

Our nightly evening entertainment is very popular with our guests, we are pleased you enjoyed it and the dancing.

We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited the Valley of the Rocks for a Turkey & Tinsel self drive 3 night break on 29th November 2013. The break was extremely good value for money with several extras included eg. mulled wine, Christmas cake and mince pies, a glass of red wine and crackers.
The hotel is full of character with many original Victorian features. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view ( worth paying extra for). The only niggle was shortage of shelf space in the bathroom.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the variety and quality of the food. We like to join in with entertainment in the evening and we especially enjoyed the Friday evening with Rick Tucker.
All in all an excellent start to Christmas.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view. Make sure you book a car parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are really pleased; you enjoyed your recent Turkey & Tinsel break with us in Lynton.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our very friendly staff, clean comfortable room and the quality of the food.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the evening entertainment; Rick will be happy to read your kind comments.


Thank you Patricia J; for leaving your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing