We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkey & Tinsel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Turkey & Tinsel.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have recently been on a ‘turkey & tinsel’ break to this hotel – and had a lovely time.
The hotel is in a fabulous position and even better if you pay for a sea view (which we did). Our view was over the bay, cliffs and sea, what a treat to wake up to that every morning.
The food was very good with plenty of choice.
All the staff were very pleasant, helpful and made our stay enjoyable. The reception staff were all lovely.
The entertainment team (two of them) were really good, they worked so hard and got everyone involved and joining in.
The rooms were spotless and comfortable - the chambermaids worked very hard.
Our trips out were great – to a crystal place one day with a lovely cream tea thrown in as well and the second day Dunster which was fabulous – what amazing buildings etc. a real step back in time.
The scenery around here is stunning and if you are a walker (which I’m not!) you would be in your element. But for those who do not walk far – just enjoy the stunning views from the hotel.
We didn’t go on the optional outing to Barnstaple as you could get on the bus for half the price or if you are of a certain age – use your bus pass!
This trip was great value for money and I would recommend this trip and hotel to anyone.
Room tip.** We had room number 28 which was a twin room with a fabulous view (paid extra for this) it also has a shower for those unable to get in and out of a bath so easily - but a word of warning is that the entertainment area is underneath it and you can hear it all!

Room Tip: Room tip.** We had room number 28 which was a twin room with a fabulous view (paid extra for this) i...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank loopyloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you Loopyloo, for taking the time to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel holiday with us in Lynton.
We are happy that your room “was kept spotless by our hard working housekeeping staff” also that you enjoyed the food, entertainment and found our reception staff to be “lovely”.

We agree that room 28 has a fantastic view; we hope you will visit us again and enjoy more of the wonderful scenery, in this beautiful part of North Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    161
    112
    76
    54
See reviews for
61
275
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

just returned from a wonderful turkey and tinsel weekend .we had aclean warm bedroom .meals were very nice plenty of choice .our waitress Nicole was cheerful and efficient always gave service with a smile .all staff were pleasant. our driver Malcolm was cheerful and his driving round the steep winding roads was excellent.we could not fault anything with the hotel or .,holiday .will certainly be.. returning to valley of the rocks hotel ,thanks for very pleasant break .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BatleyMarg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you Batley Marg, for leaving your wonderful review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel weekend with us, at the Valley of Rocks Hotel.

We will certainly pass your kind comments onto Malcolm our excellent tour driver, and to Nicole who gave you cheerful and efficient service.

We are also pleased that you had a warm clean room, enjoyed the food and found all the staff to pleasant; we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed 29th Nov-2nd Dec and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.....would we go again? most definately yes , if we were planning on going down to Devon again.
Pros...Great situation , friendly staff , good entertainment ( enjoyed dancing), atmospheric hotel plus nice size comfortable bedrooms and good food.
Cons...hotel looks a little tired and needs refurbishing ( next year I believe) , not a lot of hotel parking.
Conclusion ...if you want a value for money break that is enjoyable and relaxing and enjoy dramatic landscape , then this hotel id for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Redimondo, for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.

We agree that we are “pleasantly positioned” in the middle of beautiful Lynton.

We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly you had good food, a nice comfortable sized bedroom and that the hotel had a good atmosphere.

Our nightly evening entertainment is very popular with our guests, we are pleased you enjoyed it and the dancing.

We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited the Valley of the Rocks for a Turkey & Tinsel self drive 3 night break on 29th November 2013. The break was extremely good value for money with several extras included eg. mulled wine, Christmas cake and mince pies, a glass of red wine and crackers.
The hotel is full of character with many original Victorian features. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view ( worth paying extra for). The only niggle was shortage of shelf space in the bathroom.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the variety and quality of the food. We like to join in with entertainment in the evening and we especially enjoyed the Friday evening with Rick Tucker.
All in all an excellent start to Christmas.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view. Make sure you book a car parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are really pleased; you enjoyed your recent Turkey & Tinsel break with us in Lynton.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our very friendly staff, clean comfortable room and the quality of the food.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the evening entertainment; Rick will be happy to read your kind comments.


Thank you Patricia J; for leaving your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited the Valley of the Rocks hotel for a 5 day Turkey & Tinsel coach holiday break with Shearings in late November 2013. From our point of view the fact that the hotel is right in the centre of Lynton is a major plus point. An easy walk out to the local amenities like pubs and tea rooms is not always possible with coach holiday hotels.

Our room (68 on the second floor) was spacious corner room with a bay with three double windows looking out to sea, the church and Lee Street below. Another double window overlooked Lee Street in the direction of the Town Hall a short distance away.

Although the twin bedded room was much larger than normal the thermostatically controlled heating system kept the room at a comfortable temperature. In November it's really great to come back to a warm room after a trip at about 4pm - often not the case in other coach holiday hotels we have used in the past.

The room has an ensuite shower with an instant supply of endless hot water - at all times - again not something you find everywhere! Two hygienically wrapped beakers were supplied.

The beds were made with sheets and blankets - rather that duvets and extra blankets and pillow were available. There were two comfortable armchairs and tea and coffee facilities on a separate shelf designed for the purpose.

A special mention has to made of the management and staff. There was a friendly welcome when we arrived and the young waiting staff in the restaurant were the fastest and most efficient you will find anywhere. It was a real pleasure to see such a happy, motivated team of people providing such a wonderful service.

The breakfast service was a fast as we have had anywhere and the food was excellent with a wide choice of cereals plus porridge followed by a choice of hot food with eggs cooked as requested. Also supplied was a wide range of jams and honey and marmite to go with a choice of toast.

The evening meals once again were served very efficiently and even though the meals appear to be produced from catering packs, canned or "Aunt Bessie" type frozen sources the food was served hot and well cooked.

The main "Atrium" lounge, a wonderful example of Victorian style, is equipped with plenty of comfortable chairs and is where the nightly entertainment takes place.

We enjoyed our break a this great hotel and would come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankmemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you Frankmemo, for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your Turkey & Tinsel break with us at the Valley of Rocks Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding management and staff, the wonderful service you received and the speed and efficiency of our restaurant team.
We agree we are in the perfect location in Lynton, with lots of places to visit in the town.
We look forward to seeing you again soon; thank you once again for your fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a Shearings self drive 3 night break in the Valley of the Rocks hotel, which is a fine Victorian hotel. The room we had (74), had a lovely view and was clean, warm and comfortable, except for the bed, which must also have been Victorian, as the mattress was totally worn out, with a ridge down the middle and dips either side, which wrecked any hope of a decent night's sleep.

The food was very good and plentiful, although as a vegetarian there was the usual lack of choice. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful, especially Michal, who always greeted us with a smile. The restaurant and public lounges were nicely decorated and comfortable.

The surrounding areas were beautiful, even though the weather wasn't very kind, we enjoyed the location very much. Would recommend but for the dreadful bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee01273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you Dee01273, for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed the food, the views and that your room was clean, warm and comfortable. (Except the bed)
We are also pleased that the food was good and plentiful, served by our friendly and helpful staff, we will pass your kind comments on to Michal, he will be pleased to read them.
We agree the surrounding areas are beautiful, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Valley of the Rocks Hotel this autumn on a special offer which was very good value. I liked Lynton even in the rain and although the weather was very variable we enjoyed our break.
We found that the entrance to the hotel was up several steep steps and this made our arrival with our luggage a little difficult. Finding our room was also confusing, through several fire doors and with some steps in the corridors. The hotel lift is however very easy to use and modern. Our room, room 9, which had been refurbished, looked out into the street and was large and the beds comfortable. The bathroom had been painted and while it was clean the large old grip handle on the wall had been left and was very rusty and conspicuous. The shower lacked water pressure and neither of us could use it. Perhaps this is why many of the rooms seem to lack showers.
The staff were pleasant and the food very good. The dining room was well furnished and our waiter, Michal, took great pains over my difficult diet and always welcomed us with a smile. There is a very large entertainments area and this was well used by the guests during the evenings. A well lit section for those who wish to read or write would be appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you, Cornwall Country girl for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased you had a pleasant weekend break with us, here in Lynton.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be pleasant, thank you for your special mention of Michal, he will be very happy to read your review.

We hope that the weather is better, next time you visit us in Lynton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing