We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old Hotel in Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming old Hotel in Prime Location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As it has been said before this lovely building is in need of some work both inside and outside. In my opinion the money spend on the entertainment which only seemed to involve 15% of the guests, would be better spent on doing up this wonderful hotel, my husband and I paid for an upgrade which gave us a great sea view,with floor to ceiling windows, an orthopedic double bed and a modern clean room on the second floor with no noise from outside (room 17) worth the £40 extra for a 3 night stay.....food was good and the service as good as any 4 star hotel we have stayed in. Shearings......PLEASE spend some money on this hotel, you will not regret it, you have a great location, this area is stunning!! We have been all over the world and this is as good as anywhere on earth, especially if the weather is good.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded sea view room like 17 on the first floor at the back of hotel. Great view and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2355regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed the food and received “four star service” from our staff. We are also happy that you liked room 17, which was fully refurbished in February this year; we agree we are in a prime location, in this beautiful part of North Devon.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    169
    120
    81
    58
See reviews for
61
296
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I feel a bit churlish writing a negative review, since somebody else was paying the bill on this occasion. If you are looking for a low cost option in Lynton, this is probably the place. If you're looking for somewhere nice, it isn't. I would strongly advise you to spend a bit more money - there are plenty of much better options in the area.

Let's start with the car park. This is at the back of the hotel, helping to spoil what could be a brilliant view from the dining room. There is no access to the hotel from the car park, so you have to lug your cases round to the front along a street with no pavement.
The back of the hotel also has a large but completely neglected and overgrown garden. This has access to a public footpath below. This could be a great feature (particularly if trees and shrubs were cut back to allow the view from the hotel over the sea to be exploited).
When you walk in and see the gaffer tape on the front step of the carpet inside the front door, you can tell straight off this hotel is desperately trying to cut costs and corners. I don't think I have ever stayed in a dingier or gloomier hotel.
Threadbare and dirty carpets, chipped and dirty paintwork, water stains on the ceilings, grubby white fire doors, battered furniture in the bedrooms, boarding school dinners and over-priced wine. This hotel was probably grand in 1907 - but now the glass ceiling over the atrium is boarded over, and the view from the dining room (which could be spectacular) is of red Biffa waste bins, cars, and trees.
Call in the Hotel Inspector as a matter of urgency....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilTandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Our car park is indeed located at the rear of the hotel (not sure where else to put it?) The door from the main lounge as well as the door from our restaurant both lead, out to our car park?
The trees to the back of the hotel cover approximately 2 acres of woodland, which is home to many types of wildlife; many of the trees are not on our property and are part of Exmoor national park. The hotel is about 500 feet above sea level and the trees cover all the way down to Lynmouth.
We have no record of you making any complaints during your stay, only the original comment that you posted on here that Trip Advisor removed for breaking their guidelines.
We believe we offer excellent value for money, and we will continue with our programme of refurbishment.
Thank you for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lynton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Basically you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean but very old fashioned, quite small and slightly tatty, There are a few that have been updated but not many.
On the plus side the food is really nice, plenty of hot water for showers/baths and the staff are very friendly and very helpful.
Great location for walkers with easy access to Exmoor and for the walk a few mile-ers the coast path from Lynmouth to Valley of rocks is lovely.
Prices are great but as I said depends what you are looking for. Cheap and cheerful? probably love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tinaandandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are pleased that your room was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was really nice and you had plenty of hot water.
We agree this is a great location for walkers, the circular walk from the hotel to the Valley of Rocks and back is a particular favourite with our guests, with fantastic views and a chance to see the Lynton goats.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we hope you can visit us again soon and enjoy some more of the lovely walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro,UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Misunderstanding about car parking on arrival gave very poor first impression. I half expected to meet Basil Fawlty!! Others have said how sad the building and garden are, especially if you see the photos taken in the 1920's when the place was in its prime.
Our room (18) though, was fine, with comfortable beds and good ensuite facilities. We were at the back of the hotel and enjoyed a good view across the bay and almost no unwanted noises. The electrical facilities had a mind of their own, but it wasn't a serious problem.
The food was OK especially for the price and (as others found) our waitress - Hari - was excellent and backed up with great service from the kitchen. We found that all the restaurant and room staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, unlike the reception team who need to be told that customers are their first priority, not chatting and doing whatever they do on their computers.
A pleasant stay and amazing value. Given the same room I would certainly go back as there is so much to do and see in the area, especially if you like a good walk.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished, apparently, others not. Ours (18) was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Lynton, and that your holiday was “amazing value”
Hari is really pleased, that you were happy with the service she provided to you, in our restaurant.
We agree room 18 is a lovely room, even better since it was refurbished this year.
Sorry to hear you were not fully happy with our reception team, but pleased you had good service from the restaurant and housekeeping staff.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we hope you do visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I read the Trip Advisor reviews for Valley Of Rocks before going to stay there - and I had some doubts about my visit there.
The worst first. I agree that the fabric of the hotel could do with a makeover; it has a tendency towards being dark and 'dingey' in the reception and lounge areas. My single room (no. 27) was the strangest, narrow and POINTED bedroom that I have met so far. The en-suite, in area, was probably larger than the sleeping area! ... I was tempted to move the bed in to the en-suite! Obviously, my room had been part of a much bigger bedroom in "better times" and the walls to adjoining rooms were paper - no, hardboard - thin with easy transmission of conversations and any noises.
That was the worst (and, even then, not too bad).
The rest is easy.
The food was very good; pleasantly - and promptly -served by sociable staff.
Indeed, ALL the staff that I came across (reception, night, management, 'house-keeping', bar, entertainment and restaurant) were excellent; sociable, helpful, thoughtful, efficient and considerate. TOP MARKS!!
It goes without saying (but I will!) that the location is, of course, superb with ample for visitors to see and do - although some may find difficulty with walking in such a hilly (but beautiful) area.

No, it is not high-class but nor were the charges. I consider that the Valley was VERY GOOD value for money and, primarily, I thank the staff for making my stay so enjoyable. I will happily return to this hotel - although I'll hope to give Room 27 a miss!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid Room 27!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AndyB169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We were really happy to read your comments regarding all the hotel staff being excellent, sociable, helpful, thoughtful, efficient and considerate. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant and that your holiday was “very good value for money”
Yes room 27 was part of a bigger room in days gone by; we did have the room fully refurbished last year.
We agree this is a superb location, ideal for walking and exploring the Exmoor countryside.
Thank you AndyB169 for taking the time to post your comments, we hope you get the chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have to agree with other reviews that this hotel needs a huge amount of money spending on it to bring it up to an adequate standard.
Positives- the waiting staff were friendly and efficient. Our waitress, Hari, always had a smile and was highly efficient - top marks. Food was good enough considering the price of the break. Towels and sheets were clean and room 68 was well serviced each day. The hotel is in a great position and has good sea views.
Negatives - far too many to make this a hotel to stay at. Room was sea view but windows and decor were sadly neglected. Beds were lumpy and old, curtains and bedspreads clearly old and decayed and although the bathroom had been refurbished, the shower tray had come away from the wall and tiles torn away, resulting in black mold all around - badly installed and quite unacceptable for guests. Reception very unhelpful and dismissive. Decor throughout was poor and old, rooms were cold despite self regulation and turned itself off regularly. A leaking internal soil pipe in the corridor to our room had been leaking and left long brown stains and wallpaper peeling away. i have never seen anything like it in any hotel I have ever stayed at. Gardens must have been lovely once, but are very neglected. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Sea views are nice but hotel not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogeoff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are pleased you were happy with the service you received from Hari your waitress, and that you thought the food was good and your room was kept clean by our room attendant.
We agree the view from room 68 is very nice. (One of the best in Lynton)
We have had a number of bedrooms recently refurbished (including 16 bedrooms during February this year) also the bathroom in room 68 was refurbished recently, we fully checked room 68 after we read your comments, but we could not find any “decaying bedspreads and curtains”
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feed back on Tripadvisor, we are sorry that we did not fully meet your requirements on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

my single room was very small ,narrow,very cold and dark.The heating was off much of the time and a constant wind was blowing through the window .The room wasn't cleaned for all of my four day stay.The decor was very tired and shabby,the whole hotel was very cold.The food was ok service was good when our waitress was on duty ,not so good when she wasn't.I was put with 3 males for my meals I didn't get a choice and being a female traveller on her own I would have perferred being sat with other females.One of the lounge walls full of mildew.

Room Tip: don't get room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 12carolc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are surprised to read your comments regarding the heat being off in your bedroom as the temperature can be individually set by our guests, using the thermostat on the bedroom wall. Regarding your room not being serviced by our room attendants, I have no record of you mentioning this during your stay. (All rooms are serviced daily)

Room 12 was fully refurbished during February 2013 and has new lighting and heating.

We are pleased you had good service from your waitress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing