We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break 14th-17th December (last minute booking). Wonderful time, food excellent, lovely room on the second floor (68) with views of the sea, the church and the Main Street. "Yes" the hotel is old and could do with a refurb but for a weekend break on half board, plus a trip out and four drinks vouchers per night for 99.00 it's very hard to beat. Staff lovely very attentive, Reception Staff went that "extra mile" in helpfulness. Over the years have travelled to many parts of the world some 5 star plus, but would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for its location, customer service and value for money.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

We are really happy that you had a “wonderful time” staying with us for your recent holiday.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding reception staff, excellent food, lovely room and lovely staff in general. We are also pleased you found your holiday to be "value for money" and that you would "recommend our hotel and customer service".

We hope you will visit us again soon, in this beautiful part of North devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 534 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just returned from a Shearings weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
The old hotel is full of character and we were warm, well fed , and looked after well by lovely friendly staff
The hotel is well situated to walk to many beautiful places but it is very hilly for less able and advise taking the bus or taxi down to Lynmouth which is a lovely little village by the sea, with nice little shops and the best ,pasties, we have ever tasted
Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Nice to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments on Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your “lovely winter break” with us and that you were “warm and well fed” and that you were “looked after by our lovely friendly staff”

We agree Lynmouth is a lovely village, thank you for the tip regarding “the best pasties you have ever tasted” we will have to try one (or two).

We are also really pleased you had excellent value for money, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We took my 81 year old mother with us on a Shearing's weekend break. Arrived about 6:30 pm so just put luggage in rooms and went down for dinner. Dining room cold and soup lukewarm. Dinner was good. Bar area was good. Holiday spoilt as all areas of hotel were cold. My mothers bed was damp and her heating did not work at all. Went out next day and bought hot water bottle to air her bed. The hotel was generally run down and had several health and safety issues. Staff very good and helpful. Lovely location with plenty to do in area. Entertainment was non existent on Sunday evening, guest did quiz.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We have had a new heating system fitted to all guest bedrooms and the temperature can now be set by each individual guest. Since your comments on here it has also been checked in every bedroom and they all work fine, we have no record of any heater being reported as not working.
We hosted a charity Christmas quiz and raffle on the Sunday night which was run by “Lyn Toddlers Committee” (a local charity) as we also served mince pies and mulled wine.
We are pleased you found the dinner and bar to be good, also the staff very good and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having just returned from a 5 day stay at the Valley of the Rocks Lynton I would like to share with you my thoughts, the Hotel is in a great position for the high street and is good for walking along the coastal path, The food was good nice choice the restaurant staff where efficient we were not kept waiting. The Hotel it self like many Shearings Hotels has seen better days but an effort is being made to upgrade it, our room 50 was on the second floor with a sea view and had been upgraded so we had a very spacious (Cold) bathroom with shower and bath flat screen TV and nice decor the down side TV reception was hit and miss because of the transmitter may be a satellite system would be better, also the bathroom had no ventilation due to a broken window that had be covered over with plastic this led to lots of condensation building up on walls therefore black mould had started to appear on the new tiles also the shower hose was in need of a clean and the toilet cistern was running all the time, needs a new washer perhaps, the bedroom window was single glazed and again due to poor ventilation had a condensation issue there was a puddle on the window sill every morning. It is such a shame as a little bit of maintenance would help all the effort and expense made to update it all last longer. the Entertainment was very good and we enjoyed the trips out WiFi would be nice. would recommend a stay here to all

2  Thank esherapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

We are really pleased you found the entertainment to be very good, enjoyed the trips, had good food and that our restaurant staff were efficient.
Room 50 is very spacious and was fully refurbished this year, thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention.
We are indeed, in a great position in Lynton with some beautiful walks, thank you for recommending our hotel, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our third visit to this hotel (10 - 14 Dec. 2012 ), and as other reviewers have pointed out Shearings have fitted a new heating system in this hotel.All this system is intended to do is keep down the heating bills for Shearings.I have never been so cold in a hotel before. In the dining room people were wearing thick coats and woolly hats.The beds only had blankets we were given extra blankets but they weighed a ton and we still found it hard to sleep because of the cold.We love this part of the world but we will not be going to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We have indeed had a new heating system fitted to all the guest bedrooms, guests can now control their own bedroom temperature by simply pressing a button on the bedroom thermostat. We have oil fired central heating in the main public areas; this is a separate system from the bedroom heating.
We are sorry to hear that you will not visit us again and hope you will change your mind, (please phone me at the hotel if you would like to discuss this further) thank you for posting your comments; we will pass them on to the relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After reading recent reviews i went there open minded and i must say for the price its very very good. the food was fantastic and plenty of it and the staff apart from the ( car park ) man who happened to be very rude to me.we stayed there the last weekend in November , the weather was awful but i enjoyed the hotel.

Yes its a bit rough round the edges but so would you be if you were of that age.I loved the victorian grandeur of the place, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, unfortunately we had a very bad TV but that did not matter. Overall i would g there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jembaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are really pleased you found the food and staff to be “fantastic” and the rooms spacious and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, we will pass your other comments on to the relevant departments.
We hope you do get the time to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I spent four nights at this hotel 26th.to 30th.November 2012.(Self Drive) We arrived at the hotel at about 4pm,the gentleman at reception was very pleasant and obliging.He informed us that we could park our car on the road opposite the hotel for free.(There was a space,so we saved £12 parking charge)
Our room was on the second floor number 52.Outside our room in the corridor was a container to catch the water that was dripping from the ceiling. The room was spacious and looked as if it had recently been refurbished.It had a very comfortable double-bed with adequate furniture.The bathroom and toilet was spotless with a bath and shower.There was a lovely view of the gardens and sea. It also had a new flat-screen TV but we could not get a picture on it.(It just displayer a "no signal" sign).
The next morning the maintenance man was at reception,I informed him about the TV.He told me the TV signal depended on whether the tide was in or out.I told him the TV in the bar had a signal and a perfect picture.He then told me it depended on which side of the hotel my room was on.(As far as I could make out room 52 was on the same side as the bar).He said he would sort it out. I met him again in the afternoon and asked him about the TV.He said he was waiting for the engineer who was in Exeter.
The following afternoon I asked the gentleman at reception for an update on the TV in room 52.(There was no record of the problem and had to explain all over again the lack of a signal) He told me the signal came from Wales and I would probably find that half the TVs in the village were without a signal.( I found this a strange and unhelpful comment).
The restaurant was a little chilly in the evenings but the food and servive at breakfast and dinner was excellent.We were looked after by Eric and Pablo who were first class, a big thank you to them.Also a big thank you to the lady who serviced our room each day.
The entertainment in the evenings was very enjoyable, especially the quiz.
The location of the hotel is very good with amazing scenery.If you want a quiet relaxing time away from the TV this is the place to go.

Incidentally, I checked the TV on Friday morning before I checked out , still "NO SIGNAL".

Room Tip: If you want to watch TV in your room,ensure the TV in your room has a signal before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed the evening entertainment, found the food to be excellent and had first class service from Eric and Pablo in our restaurant. We are also pleased you liked your refurbished bedroom and that it was kept spotless by Claire, your room attendant.
Thank you for bringing the issue regarding the TV to our attention.
Room 52 has wonderful views from the window; our hotel is in a lovely location with amazing scenery. Thank you for posting your comments; we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: $57 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing