We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!!”
Review of Rockvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rockvale
Ranked #7 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A real gem!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Rockvale on our way from Cornwell to London. The room wag spotless and pleasant. The ladies who managed the place were very kind through our stay, the breakfast was great, the children got a small basket of Easter eggs and were very happy about is.
The nice guests leaving room has a nice fireplace.
The cliff railway to lynnouth is only few minutes away as well as few nice restaurants, which there menus can be found at Rockvale's reception. We had dinner at The Vanila Pod and enjoyed it very much.
We highly recommend Rockvale for couples and families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
93
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had an absolutely excellent stay at Rockvale - from being welcomed with a cup of tea and hot cross bun in the extremely comfortable guest lounge (where we were left to watch the rugby), to enjoying the home made lemon curd and jams at breakfast. The eggs (from their own chickens) were also lovely. The rooms were spotlessly clean (despite our showing up unexpectedly - without a booking), and very thoughtfully furnished and our room at the front had a great view over the valley. Alwyn and Heather are great hosts and very welcoming and have clearly put a lot of personal effort into Rockvale. As a young couple who enjoy doing hikes in the surrounding area we found this an ideal base to walk from - and they are kind enough to dry out any soggy boots in the airing cupboard! We would definitely recommend this - excellent value and it will be our first choice of place to stay when we return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Lynton helped by the fantastic weather! Rockvale was everything we look for in a hotel - characterful with spacious, comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean and very kind, friendly and helpful owners. The real fire was a lovely touch and the breakfast was just wonderful - the best poached eggs I have every had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsVonSpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location really nice views. Comfy cosy rooms with lots of character. Excellent food and good vegetarian selection. Staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help you. Really really impressed with this little hotel couldn't thank you enough had a magical stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstylou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I had a great 4 night stay at Rockvale which provides an excellent Lynton/Lynmouth base from which to set off for walks and to which to return weary to a log fire and friendly welcome, to await a wonderful 2 or 3 course evening meal. Bar drinks and wines were also very reasonable compared to many hotel & restaurant wine lists.
The food is excellent, the bedrooms spacious and the owners welcoming, friendly & keen to keep the lounge log fire stoked up in the afternoons & evenings for both ambiance and comfort.
The 3 nights for 2, Bed & Breakfast package (with evening meals at £15 a head) was exceptional value for money, so much so we booked the 4th night
All in all the perfect choice and when we next visit the Lynton area we would without a doubt look to stay at the RockVale again.

Room Tip: Room 6 has panoramic views over Lynton & surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Rockvale, we was very well looked after, the food was great and very friendly people. The weather wasn't great but we always came back to a nice roaring fire and a hot drink to warm up. We will defiantly be coming back for another fantastic stay at Rockvale Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 is very nice,with a great view over Lynton and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyMwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at the Rockvale on several occasions over the past six years. The friendly welcome by sisters Alwyn and Heather make you feel like part of the family. The rooms are immaculate, warm and cosy.
The bar is well stocked and the food is out of this world. Home made bread, jam, marmalade not forgetting the lemon curd create a virtual buffet on toast for breakfast, alongside other delights such as pancakes or fresh eggs produced by the hens at the back of the hotel.
All the food is home cooked, well presented, absolutely delicious and lovingly prepared.
You could not ask for more - with every detail of your stay catered for.
Alwyn and Heather are a winning team, we can not recommend a nicer place to spend a weekend or longer if you have the time.
The local village of Lynton is a dream for people like me who enjoy a stroll around 'trinket' shops, browsing for unusual gifts - the craft centre is amazing with prices to meet every pocket big or small. A very short trip on the cliff top railway takes you to Lynmouth where more little quaint shops await - coffee shops are a plenty and were very welcome particularly on this chilly wet weekend where a hot mug of fudge/chocolate, topped with fresh cream and marshmallows filled the gap between a cooked breakfast and evening meal at Rockvale.
To sum up my weekend - before I run out of words on 'trip advisor' it was like being in Heaven not Devon. Can't wait until my next visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose any room they are all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#11 of 23 in Lynton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 23 in Lynton
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockvale

Property: Rockvale
Address: Hollerday Drive | Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockvale 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockvale, the ideal base for your Exmoor adventure. Situated in the picturesque village of Lynton, close to the North Devon coast and with easy access to the stunning countryside of the Exmoor National Park.We have seven bedrooms, a comfortable guest lounge and licenced bar, our breakfast menu offers the widest range in the area.There is free parking and excellent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rockvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockvale Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing