We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They keep you coming back for more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Chipping Norton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They keep you coming back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place should come with a health warning...it's addictive! The hosts and locals are so friendly that we felt welcome within minutes of entering the bar. Four legged friends are also welcomed as are families. It is a good all rounder with lots of local characters to add to the ambience. Joey, the barman has an incredible sense of humour and made us laugh incessantly as did the landlords brother in law, Malcolm who was visiting for New Year - these two really should do a double act!!! (Just one more for the road - oh well you might as well stay another night now!)
Lenny the chef is excellent and nothing is too much trouble for him. Thank you for my snowflake shaped crouton in the soup Lenny! We ate here every night of our stay and were not disappointed. Although staying at another establishment for new year we were quickly persuaded to spend an extra night at The Crown and had a lovely room. We will be keeping in touch and will be back! Thanks for such a memorable time!!!

Room Tip: Book extra nights as you will not want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    43
    13
    7
    15
See reviews for
25
70
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just had a stay at the wonderful St Vincent house in Lynton but spent a lot of time at The Crown simply because the welcome, food, staff, locals and genuine dog loving community were like no other we have ever encountered on any stay anywhere in the world! It's a shame the previous owners made such a bad name for the place as Tristan and his lovely wife really have turned the reputation right around. They have a fantastic team and although we didn't stay here we plan to on our next visit. The whole place has a wonderful ambiance and great character. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karentazdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Brilliant weekend at the crown, fabulous new owners Naomi and Tristan made us very welcome all weekend. Food excellently cooked by Lenny, drinks served with some banter and always with a smile by Joey, Christine ensured all of our breakfast needs were met.
Rooms spacious, clean and decor very fitting to the period of the hotel. Plenty of parking and very dog friendly

We will definitely be making another visit soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A great pub, friendly locals, good beer (St Austels HSD is particularly good), dog friendly (if you like dogs) and entertaining staff. Whilst we didn't eat the food looked good and was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went in here for the first time for lunch. We were greeted by a very smart man behind the bar. The interior is a little shabby and needs some updating, but it is clean. I ordered a pint of Proper Job, and as it was the first to be served that day he pulled off a fair quantity from the pipes before he filled my glass. The beer was excellent. We ordered lunch; a ham baguette and a cheese sandwich, expecting to be given just that, but they came on large plates with very generous helpings of both salad and fries. The baguette was £4.95 and the sandwich £4.50. My baguette contained plenty of very good home cooked ham. I noticed that the barman (who may be the licensee) greeted everyone who entered. The majority, like us, appeared to be visitors to the town. The toilets were spotlessly clean. Having been unhappy with previous visits to the well known pub down the hill at Lynmouth we will certainly be returning to the Crown very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calendarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

i was recently at this lovely place great deserts etc lennies spotted dick is to die for,a must for all,and the banter is such a hoot.........................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank localbathboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely place to stay and eat.We had a lovely cooked meal and Lenny the chef always gives you a good portion . The selection of beer is very good and the prices are competitive.Must be the best pub in town. Good luck to Triston and Alice from Dibley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cottage Inn
The Cottage Inn
#16 of 25 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Hunters Inn
The Hunters Inn
#2 of 2 in Martinhoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Market Street, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has 12 comfortably furnished rooms, all with en-suite facilities. Continental and full English breakfast is included in our room rates. Our bar holds a wide range of local real ales. A wide range of food is available from bar snacks through to restaurant meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing