We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”

The Glasshouse Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Lynton
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe & Coffee Bar
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a very good meal, very well cooked, unfortunately the restaurant was so hot we could not stay after which was a shame as the staff were very friendly. They definitely need proper air con.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel W, Owner at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Sorry Susan that the restaurant was a quite warm that evening,
Unfortunately air con is not an option due to the layout and style of the building
Its over 120 years old and to put modern aircon in would completely spoil it.
we do have the ceiling fans but 9 times out of 10 oue diners ask for them to be switched off as its too cool
hopefully you will visit us again in the future
many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 410 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We ate their last weekend and regretted it! The 'jus' on the lamb was so loaded with garlic salt that we had to ask for a clean plate to try and salvage the food. The other meals were only average with the chicken breast very dry and lobster tiny and tough.
Although the staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived they did not take the complaint seriously and just said they would 'tell the kitchen'
This really was not good enough - there was no apology, no recompense even in the form of a complimentary coffee!
Would NEVER eat there again! Will go somewhere else or get a sandwich from Costcutter!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank HILARY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel W, Owner at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments
As the four of you shared two starters at the beginning of your meal when you requested a spare plate for your main the girls naturally thought you were perhaps sharing once again, no complaint regarding the lamb jus (or any other of the meals which all came back as clean plates)was not brought to kitchens attention until the en
As for the Lobster, we cannot guarantee the size as they are caught fresh in the Harbour at Lynmouth ,I know by all of the other comments regarding the Lobster that evening that it certainly was not tough, perhaps it just didnt suit your party .
Also for the record, we do not use garlic salt.
Perhaps like you say, a sandwich from Costcutters would be more to your taste
Still you all seemed to enjoy the wine and were after all the last table to leave
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Food was amazing and very reasonably priced.

We ate there twice in 24 hrs!!

I recommend the homemade soup and also the apple and blackberry flapjack! My favourite was the lobster and prawn salad!

I would definitely eat there again.

Thank BlueEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited just the once,and what a superb find,if staying longer would have dined again.
Clean airy,busy,friendly staff with personality.The food was outstandingly good,as was the service.
Highly recommended,as will return,hopefully next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank idavies432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a family gathering of cousins,their wives and our last surviving uncle who is 93 years old.Some of us had the Sunday lunch as did myself and my wife while others settled for salads,all day breakfasts etc., and everyone said how much they enjoyed it.Myself and my wife visit quite often and we always find the food is of a very high standard and reasonably priced.This is one of the best places to eat in Lynton as you can see from other reviews and if the locals use it you know it must be good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LyntonLyntonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse Restaurant also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Glasshouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing