We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant for locals and visitors alike.”

The Glasshouse Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe & Coffee Bar
Lynton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for locals and visitors alike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a family gathering of cousins,their wives and our last surviving uncle who is 93 years old.Some of us had the Sunday lunch as did myself and my wife while others settled for salads,all day breakfasts etc., and everyone said how much they enjoyed it.Myself and my wife visit quite often and we always find the food is of a very high standard and reasonably priced.This is one of the best places to eat in Lynton as you can see from other reviews and if the locals use it you know it must be good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyntonLyntonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    40
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newton abbot
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a little gem, we only ate here on our last night of our break but had we eaten here the 1st night we would have eaten there every night. The feel of the place was warm and inviting, the food was excellent, very tasty and plenty of it. Our waitress( which I'm afraid we never asked her name- Scottish lady) was brilliant, she made us feel extremely welcome and looked after us beautifully. Definitely return again when we are in that area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank clare b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate twice in this restaurant on our recent visit to Lynton .the food was excellent and nicely presented .the special board and dessert board changed daily .

Helpful?
Thank warts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Lynton and at a price nobody could grumble at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Although we only stayed in Lynton for 5 nights, we used this restaurant 3 times. The food is excellent and diverse with sensible sized portions and not silly prices. The daily specials are just that, different every day. The wine list is as good as you'd expect and again, not silly prices. The restaurant itself is light and airy with comfortable seats and sensibly sized well spaced tables. The waiting staff are extremely pleasant and helpful without being over familiar, and readily engage in sensible conversation if you so wish. After the 2nd night I didn't even need to give my name when booking a table. Well done The Greenhouse and see you again next time we're in Lynton.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RADE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chip heaven in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We tried to get into the oak room but it was full which I'm glad of now because it was easily the best meal we had on our holiday in North Devon.
Although our starters weren't the best the mains made up for it. I had the duck which was very good and my boyfriend raved about how tender the burger was and the chips were the best I've had, EVER! We also shared a fudge cake which was divine.
You must go here!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse Restaurant also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Glasshouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing