We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great.”

The Glasshouse Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Lynton
Price range: $4 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cafe & Coffee Bar
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited the Greenhouse Restaurant again today for Sunday lunch with a choice of roast pork or roast beef,we chose the beef and it arrived perfectly cooked with a selection of vegetables.The service was very good and the staff were attentive to your needs and keeping themselves busy, not stood around talking like some places.
While we were eating another group on another table dropped a knife on the floor and a waitress had replaced it with a clean one within seconds without being asked,some other establishments would not have even bothered or would have waited to be asked for a replacement,nice touch.
The restaurant is spotlessly clean and as the toilets.
The price for a Sunday roast is under £8.00 which we find very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LyntonLyntonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 410 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

During my holiday I have had lunch several times at this restaurant. The staff are friendly, the food is good and attractively presented. It is very clean. Nice ambiance and decor. Dogs and children are made welcome. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoanWak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Five of us visited the greenhouse and were greeted by the owner with a warm and friendly welcome. The restaurant was quite and it was almost their closing time, but we were assured that we can order our food & stay for as long as we like. The food we ordered was well presented, perfectly cooked and delicious.

This is not a restaurant for fine dining, but for a reasonably prices meal, food that is well prepared, served in a clean environment and a friendly and welcoming service, it is hard to fault. We all enjoyed our meals and the friendly chitchat with the owners, who I believe have recently taken over this establishment.

I am very happy to recommend the Greenhouse to anyone visiting Lynton and looking for a quick meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S10hum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Disappointed after reading previous reviews, the restaurant has been done up, and is bright and clean, but lacks any real character, and the menu is very standard. On the saturday we visited there was only one other table in, and so no atmosphere, on a good note, service was friendly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel W, Owner at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your comment, We are pleased that you noticed that "the place had been done up".
Being from Illfracombe you must be aware that it is still very pre-season and most cafes and eateries are quiet and when you have 70 covers 2 tables for dinner does look a little lost, smaller venues will seem cosier but we only opened in the evenings on Friday 8th and we have been really pleased with the response. We thought our evening menu had something to suit everyone but obviously we were wrong
Perhaps you should have visited us the following day, Sunday, to sample our breakfast/lunch menu although you would not have gotten a table between 12 noon and 3-30pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my wife and daughter had decided to go a ride out and ended up in Lynton we had a nice walk around and got rather hungry we were recommended by some of the locals to try the green house restaurant so we gave it a go soon as we walked in we were made welcome and the staff seemed really nice we sat down and ordered are drinks and food there was a good choice of food on the menu and at a reasonable price. Are drinks come out in good time and the food was presented well and tasted superb there was a really good friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend anyone to visit this restaurant and if we are in the area again we will definitely be making a return thanks to the staff for making us very welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gjk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse Restaurant also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Glasshouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing