We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly, serving good food.”

The Glasshouse Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe & Coffee Bar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, serving good food.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Five of us visited the greenhouse and were greeted by the owner with a warm and friendly welcome. The restaurant was quite and it was almost their closing time, but we were assured that we can order our food & stay for as long as we like. The food we ordered was well presented, perfectly cooked and delicious.

This is not a restaurant for fine dining, but for a reasonably prices meal, food that is well prepared, served in a clean environment and a friendly and welcoming service, it is hard to fault. We all enjoyed our meals and the friendly chitchat with the owners, who I believe have recently taken over this establishment.

I am very happy to recommend the Greenhouse to anyone visiting Lynton and looking for a quick meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S10hum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    113
    40
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Disappointed after reading previous reviews, the restaurant has been done up, and is bright and clean, but lacks any real character, and the menu is very standard. On the saturday we visited there was only one other table in, and so no atmosphere, on a good note, service was friendly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel W, Owner at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment, We are pleased that you noticed that "the place had been done up".
Being from Illfracombe you must be aware that it is still very pre-season and most cafes and eateries are quiet and when you have 70 covers 2 tables for dinner does look a little lost, smaller venues will seem cosier but we only opened in the evenings on Friday 8th and we have been really pleased with the response. We thought our evening menu had something to suit everyone but obviously we were wrong
Perhaps you should have visited us the following day, Sunday, to sample our breakfast/lunch menu although you would not have gotten a table between 12 noon and 3-30pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't say anymore than perfect”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my wife and daughter had decided to go a ride out and ended up in Lynton we had a nice walk around and got rather hungry we were recommended by some of the locals to try the green house restaurant so we gave it a go soon as we walked in we were made welcome and the staff seemed really nice we sat down and ordered are drinks and food there was a good choice of food on the menu and at a reasonable price. Are drinks come out in good time and the food was presented well and tasted superb there was a really good friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend anyone to visit this restaurant and if we are in the area again we will definitely be making a return thanks to the staff for making us very welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gjk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Lovely resturant in Lynton"”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We found this great resturant during our recent stay in Lynton. We visited the worlds famous cliff railway. At the top of the railway lift we had a short walk and found the Greenhouse resturant which we was recommended by locals. "What a lovely experience" The food there is great, and locally sourced,very reasonable priced too, something to please the whole family. I'm a great coffee lover the coffee was superb.The service was fantastic, it makes a change to feel relaxed instead of rushed,the staff were very wecoming. We would recommend the greenhouse resturant if your in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant Experience”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My Wife and i visited Lynton & Lynmouth on Sunday 03/03/2013. We were looking for somewhere for a bite to eat and a nice coffe, when we came across the Greenhouse restaurant in Lynton. We encountered a very pleasant experience, with a good choice on the menu, we opted for the Sunday Roast which both of us really enjoyed, one of the best Sunday Roasts we have had on our travels. The coffee was nice also and the meals very reasonably priced which was topped off with pleasant and friendly staff. We will visit again when passing through. The Greenhouse is well worth a visit if your in this area. Good food - cosy - friendly and nice clean decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse Restaurant also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Glasshouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing