We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South View Guest House
Ranked #12 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be better.”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We have just stayed for 2 nights.
Rob and Maureen are nothing short of perfect hosts. The rooms are clean and bright and lovely, the breakfast was stunning, and the location is superb.
Rob helped us with the bags, even though we didn't arrive until after 10pm, we were made to feel very much at home and the people we stayed with all enjoyed it as much as we did.
Maureen accommodated the demands of our young baby girl with style and grace allowing us to store food in their fridge and heating up stuffs whenever we needed. All of our party were impressed with Rob's ability to memorise the extensive menu, even though we seemed to me making up some of the component parts ourselves!
We cannot praise the B&B enough.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonColdfieldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
60
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wickford essex
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Absolutely first class hosts. We booked the B and B for 2 nights over the telephone. Rob was very helpful on the telephone. Upon arrival We were shown where to park,offered help with our luggage and were made a pot of fresh tea. The room was bright and airy with lots of space ,all freshly decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a culinary delight with homemade muesli, homemade jams and a cooked breakfast you would walk 20 miles for. We were very pleased with this discovery. We will go back soon. You can't fault the hospitality or location. Free parking, lots of handy advice and local knowledge. Great views across the town to the countryside beyond. Absolutely perfect. Don't just look . Book!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumpsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucstershure
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

9 friends stayed for a weekend at this bed and breakfast accommodation - a noisey muddy group of walkers. We were welcomed with such wonderful hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and the most excellent breakfasts of our choice. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was supplied with unremitting cheefulness. We all agreed we had a most enjoyable weekend and would highly recommend Mr and Mrs Roper's hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuchsia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Walking the south west coast path by myself, arrived late at this B&B due to helping a fellow walker. Was delighted to be made instantly welcome and also to discover that the owner had been trying to contact me to check i was OK and offer to come and pick me up in his car. Was shown to a very comfortable and adequately equipt room with not only biscuits but chocolates too - very much appreciated after the day i had had, but also 100% better than i was offered at other (sometimes more expensive) B&B's along the route. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acbUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Service is second to none with the hosts making your stay a very inviting experience. Nothing is too much trouble , and the ample selection of locally sourced produce makes breakfast time not worth a lie in. Rooms are light and airy and exceptionally clean, and finished to a high standard . Anyone thinking of a break in this part of beautiful Devon need look no further, this is our fifth trip so far and our second this year and needless to say it won't be our last..................its our little home away from home........we love it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bojoStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2009

what a fantastic find,everything from start to finish was excellent!friendly service,beautifully clean and comfortable roomsand so homely, onsite parking too,very close to all amenities, will definately return,cant reccommend enough!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbirdLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Two guys on walking holiday on SW coastal path. Needed room on Saturday and was recommended by fully booked first choice. This B&B was excellent for us. We had one of the two family rooms. Price good, breakfast excellent, rooms smart clean and spacious.
Local pub also good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarchTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Vincent House
St. Vincent House
#13 of 24 in Lynton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View Guest House

Property: South View Guest House
Address: 23 Lee Rd, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryan and Julia look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Visit England 4 Star rated with Silver award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your South View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View Guest House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing