We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South View Guest House
Ranked #12 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at South View.Kathryn was welcoming and attentive . The rooms were pretty and had biscuits and sweets to go with the tea and coffee. Although our bed wasn't the most comfortable I've stayed in, Kathryn explained it was due to be replaced and it certainly wouldn't stop me returning.
The variety provided for breakfast was incredible for a B&B and would put some hotels to shame. I enjoyed the fresh fruit ,nuts and seeds , cereals , toast and home made jams on offer as well as the fry up.There are lovely walks around the area and the village was charming. All in all ,it's a fab B&B in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
60
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I visited South View B&B last weekend and I can honestly say it is the best B&B I have every stayed in. The welcome was amazing, and as we were a large group Kathryn handled all our different arrival times brilliantly - even passing on messages and directing us to the right pub!
The room was so pretty, and although only a 2 night stay it was cleaned and tidied - most don't bother the entire stay!
Breakfast was brilliant and Kathryn catered for all requirements; the selection was fantastic and the cooked breakfasts was super - I really enjoyed my salmon and scrambled egg - who else offers that :)
Location was great, the cliff railway is worth a visit plus have a look around the quaint little shops.
In short, we will be returning for another visit soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've just returned from a long weekend in Lynton where I stayed for two nights with a group of friends (9 of us - we took over the entire B&B!). I was so impressed with this B&B and also with Kathryn who was so welcoming and friendly. South View B&B is in a great location - we used it as a base for a long walk from Lynton to Porlock Weir (via Lynmouth). There are far too many great touches to mention, but I feel I must mention the tea, coffee and home-made fairy cakes we were offered upon our arrival. Also there's a nice lounge complete for guests to use with a selection of board games, lots of local information and also an honest bar/drinks cabinet! Breakfast was delicious - such a great selection (cereals, fruit, cooked options), including some home-made muffins and jams. Given that we were staying two nights, I didn't expect the rooms to be tidied/cleaned (beds made, etc) after the first night's sleep, but they were (not all B&Bs bother). Definitely one of the best B&Bs I've ever visited! Thanks to Kathryn for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinsSamaraweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Would like to thank Kathryn for a wonderful stay at South View, we stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it, on arrival we were welcomed with tea and her lovely homemade cake. Our room was lovely and light and spotlessly clean, loved the bowl of chocolates in the room which were nice to come back to after a long walk during the day. The Full English breakfast was lovely and it was nice that Kathryn had a 'Special of the Day' breakfast option too which John enjoyed, especially the porridge with a tot of whisky. Would definitely recommend this lovely B&B, Kathryn is a wonderful host and we look forward to coming back again.

Liz and John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We cannot speak too highly of our stay at South View. Kathryn was a most welcoming host and she went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable.Our bedroom was all that we could have wished for.....tastefully furnished and with a very comfortable bed.Breakfast was really lovely in a pretty dining room and with excellent choices.
We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Kathryn showed us all the rooms and we would have been happy to stay in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GERRYF122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at this b & b over a year ago and loved it then. It has changed hands since but our stay was every bit as good if not better.

Reasons to stay at South View:-

Warm and friendly welcome with tea/coffee and chocolate biscuits in the lounge.

The entire place is spotless.

The bedlinen was also spotless - snow white and of excellent quality.

The breakfast was an event in itself. Fresh fruit, cereals and yogurts, croissants, fruit juice then a menu offering everything you could think of for a cooked breakfast. Kathryn served locally sourced bacon and sausages of the highest quality. Vegetarians are offered a similarly wide choice. I know our vegetarian daughter would have loved the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. I don't know if I should mention the delicious little pancakes in case poor Kathryn is snowed under for orders.

We had our own front door key so could come and go as we pleased and we were given fresh milk to use with the hospitality tray in our room, laden with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and a heavenly little bowl of chocolates.

We stayed three nights and had the most lovely relaxing time. We can't recommend this b & b highly enough. Lynton is a charming place to visit.

Chris and Paul

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywritertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBLynton, Owner at South View Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Chris and Paul were delightful guests and I thank them for their comments. I am pleased that they enjoyed their stay and are both welcome to revisit any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

What an excellent stay, we couldn't have asked for more!
Cathryn is the perfect host, greeting us with tea and homemade cakes. From the get go nothing was ever too much for our host and was most welcoming.
The room (rose) was beautiful, clean and incredibly fitting for the perfect Devon escape, with beautiful views. Breakfast was also superb with a nice selection of fruits, yogurts and juices followed by a beautifully cooked breakfast ( menu has a good selection of cooked breakfast so no one misses out).
Everything was brilliant to the last detail!
Her knowledge of the town and Lynmouth made our stay even better.
No one should hesitate to stay at South view! Wether you want to go to relax, walk or just enjoy the views it is a perfect B&B and location!!!

Want to say a massive thank you for making our trip so unforgettable...thank you!!!!

Ally & Ben

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allymiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#4 of 24 in Lynton
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Vincent House
St. Vincent House
#13 of 24 in Lynton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View Guest House

Property: South View Guest House
Address: 23 Lee Rd, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryan and Julia look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Visit England 4 Star rated with Silver award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your South View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View Guest House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing