We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming friendly B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South View B&B
Ranked #12 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A charming friendly B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were greeted at South View with a welcoming cup of tea by the owner Katherine. Our room was lovely and immaculately clean. Plentiful breakfast choices with a lovely cooked breakfast and a great choice of teas or brewed coffee. We can well recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
55
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I can only agree with all the previous reviews regarding the friendly welcome, great breakfasts, and lovely rooms at South View. If I had one negative comment it would be the access to the car park. 'Interesting' doesn't do it justice, I actually had wheelspin on my first attempt to exit what feels like a 1 in 4 ramp from a standing start.
The really sad news is that Maureen & Rob have now left South View - I was one of their final set of guests. All we can hope is that they are as successful in whatever venture they move on to, and that the new owners are as successful in placing their mark. They have a tough act to follow

Room Tip: They are all good and the website provides accurate details of each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keitht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

From the moment I knocked on the door to the moment I left, the service was outstanding. The room was very well presented with some very nice extra touches. If only all places were this good.
The Value was outstanding £34 Bed and Breakfast. I doulbt you will find a better breakfast in the Southwest, let alone Lynton.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely friendly owners, making you feel welcome with a nice pot of tea on arrival in the guests lounge, which has books and games and information books, on the local area.
Breakfast was amazing !! so much on offer,from the buffet table as well as a superb cooked breakfast to order, was very delicious! it really set you up for the day!
The Lavender room was beautiful! light n airey, large, quiet,spotless, and comfy, with a tv, clock, bath and a shower with beautifully fluffy white towels. It also had, complimentary chocolates, biscuits, tea, coffee and toiletries in the room,which was a lovely touch.
There are lots of stunning walks in the area and it is in a lovely location. Lynton and Lynmouth being very picturesque! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!
Many thanks Rob and Maureen!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had been camping but had to leave due to bad weather so were wanting a simple B&B for the night. We wandered into this place and were surprised at the low price considering peak season. The owner was really kind and welcoming. The room was ideal (especially after camping!), comfortable bed and good shower.

The real highlight is the breakfast which had a very extensive menu and provided lovely food and good coffee.

We were only there for one night but would highly recommend it if you're looking for a simple B&B which does great breakfasts and makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djr205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in South View with the best breakfast during our trip in England. Clean, quiet and lovely room. Absolutely nice and friendly staff gave us a warm welcome and good advice for our hiking activities around Lynton. They accept credit cards. Just perfect. We would like to go there again.
Andrea & Rainer

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coral71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My friends and I arrived at South View muddy and wet after walking from Portlock. We were greeted with a friendly welcome with a big pot of tea and a sit in the relaxing lounge.
In the lounge there are useful information folders of restaurants and walk in the area, books and games. The rooms are light, clean and nicely decorated with hand-made cross-stitch, patchwork, and photographs they took. Selection of tea with fresh milk, chocolates and biscuits. The breakfast was amazing! I had a full English breakfast but there was also fish on the menu. I also enjoyed the fruit salad and home-made jam.
It really felt like they enjoy running the B&B. They lent us umbrellas and even dried our shoes and clothes for us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deisi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#10 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fernery
The Fernery
#8 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View B&B

Property: South View B&B
Address: 23 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and Martin look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Staying with us will be a stress free, simply perfect sojourn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your South View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View B&B Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing