We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B and B, Such friendly Hosts, Highly Recommend it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South View B&B
Ranked #11 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B and B, Such friendly Hosts, Highly Recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely friendly owners, making you feel welcome with a nice pot of tea on arrival in the guests lounge, which has books and games and information books, on the local area.
Breakfast was amazing !! so much on offer,from the buffet table as well as a superb cooked breakfast to order, was very delicious! it really set you up for the day!
The Lavender room was beautiful! light n airey, large, quiet,spotless, and comfy, with a tv, clock, bath and a shower with beautifully fluffy white towels. It also had, complimentary chocolates, biscuits, tea, coffee and toiletries in the room,which was a lovely touch.
There are lots of stunning walks in the area and it is in a lovely location. Lynton and Lynmouth being very picturesque! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!
Many thanks Rob and Maureen!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
55
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had been camping but had to leave due to bad weather so were wanting a simple B&B for the night. We wandered into this place and were surprised at the low price considering peak season. The owner was really kind and welcoming. The room was ideal (especially after camping!), comfortable bed and good shower.

The real highlight is the breakfast which had a very extensive menu and provided lovely food and good coffee.

We were only there for one night but would highly recommend it if you're looking for a simple B&B which does great breakfasts and makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djr205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in South View with the best breakfast during our trip in England. Clean, quiet and lovely room. Absolutely nice and friendly staff gave us a warm welcome and good advice for our hiking activities around Lynton. They accept credit cards. Just perfect. We would like to go there again.
Andrea & Rainer

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coral71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My friends and I arrived at South View muddy and wet after walking from Portlock. We were greeted with a friendly welcome with a big pot of tea and a sit in the relaxing lounge.
In the lounge there are useful information folders of restaurants and walk in the area, books and games. The rooms are light, clean and nicely decorated with hand-made cross-stitch, patchwork, and photographs they took. Selection of tea with fresh milk, chocolates and biscuits. The breakfast was amazing! I had a full English breakfast but there was also fish on the menu. I also enjoyed the fruit salad and home-made jam.
It really felt like they enjoy running the B&B. They lent us umbrellas and even dried our shoes and clothes for us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deisi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Read the reviews on trip advisor before booking, wasn't disappointed.
It was a great B&B with fresh milk for drinks and choccies for late night nibbling.
We were greeted with tea and coffee when we arrived . The owner was very welcoming and answered any queries we had. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our 2 night stay.
The scenery in the area is spectacular and both Lynton and Lynmouth are worth visiting.

Room Tip: Rose room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Couldn't find fault with the hotel or the amazingly friendly welcome from the owners. I have been there several times and I love the warm atmoshere, beautfully kept rooms and the amazing breakfasts.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suehelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed with Maureen and Rob for 3 nights and being on business, was spending everyday at boring workshops and meetings. Thank goodness I had Southview to go home to in the evening! Not to mention the amazing hearty breakfast to set me up for the day.
The room I stayed in was very cozy and had all the essentials- plus some nice extras like fresh milk in the rooms. The shower was great to start the day and sleeping in the lovely bed meant I had a great nights sleep too.
The whole house is very nicely decorated- someone seems to have a flair for interior design!
The whole house is really clean and Maureen and Rob really made me feel like they were sharing their home with me.
I have to say my favourite part of the whole trip was my homemade muesli followed by full english every morning delivered to me by Rob who, no matter how early was always cheerful. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessamarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#10 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fernery
The Fernery
#9 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View B&B

Property: South View B&B
Address: 23 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and Martin look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Staying with us will be a stress free, simply perfect sojourn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your South View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View B&B Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing