We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South View B&B
Ranked #12 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My friends and I arrived at South View muddy and wet after walking from Portlock. We were greeted with a friendly welcome with a big pot of tea and a sit in the relaxing lounge.
In the lounge there are useful information folders of restaurants and walk in the area, books and games. The rooms are light, clean and nicely decorated with hand-made cross-stitch, patchwork, and photographs they took. Selection of tea with fresh milk, chocolates and biscuits. The breakfast was amazing! I had a full English breakfast but there was also fish on the menu. I also enjoyed the fruit salad and home-made jam.
It really felt like they enjoy running the B&B. They lent us umbrellas and even dried our shoes and clothes for us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deisi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
55
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Read the reviews on trip advisor before booking, wasn't disappointed.
It was a great B&B with fresh milk for drinks and choccies for late night nibbling.
We were greeted with tea and coffee when we arrived . The owner was very welcoming and answered any queries we had. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our 2 night stay.
The scenery in the area is spectacular and both Lynton and Lynmouth are worth visiting.

Room Tip: Rose room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Couldn't find fault with the hotel or the amazingly friendly welcome from the owners. I have been there several times and I love the warm atmoshere, beautfully kept rooms and the amazing breakfasts.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suehelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed with Maureen and Rob for 3 nights and being on business, was spending everyday at boring workshops and meetings. Thank goodness I had Southview to go home to in the evening! Not to mention the amazing hearty breakfast to set me up for the day.
The room I stayed in was very cozy and had all the essentials- plus some nice extras like fresh milk in the rooms. The shower was great to start the day and sleeping in the lovely bed meant I had a great nights sleep too.
The whole house is very nicely decorated- someone seems to have a flair for interior design!
The whole house is really clean and Maureen and Rob really made me feel like they were sharing their home with me.
I have to say my favourite part of the whole trip was my homemade muesli followed by full english every morning delivered to me by Rob who, no matter how early was always cheerful. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessamarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed with Maureen and Rob in April for 2 nights. They are really the most accomodating and freindly people you will ever meet. The house is lovely and very cozy. As for the breakfast i think Mo and Rob could win Master Chef with thier breakfasts!. Local produce, plenty of it and great hosting, Attention to detail through out , we will definatley visit again with our children. Ideally located for a great weekend or longer visit to Exmoor!... Fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

A beautiful area to visit. We were welcomed into South View guest house and immediately felt at home. The rooms were lovely, and the lounge area was equally gorgeous!! All those small touches (such as fresh milk for the rooms, lovely products in the bathrooms etc) really make a place extra special.
Breakfast was excellent.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay. After a long hike we were happy to find a comfy place to relax.
Bed is comfortable, a very cosy living room to relax, amazing breakfast!
The hosts are absolutely welcoming and take case of their guest!
Definitely to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayjay_B00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fernleigh Guest House
Fernleigh Guest House
#10 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fernery
The Fernery
#8 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South View B&B

Property: South View B&B
Address: 23 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South View B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and Martin look forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished and upgraded Edwardian Guest House situated on the sunny side of Lee Road in the picturesque village of Lynton in North Devon. Each of our five en-suite rooms have been individually newly furnished to a high standard and comfort that reflects a homely atmosphere. We are located in the centre of the village close to restaurants, local attractions and the gateway to some of the most spectacular walking and cycling trails in Exmoor National Park with views of the coastline from England's highest cliffs. Staying with us will be a stress free, simply perfect sojourn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your South View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South View B&B Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing