We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bonnicott House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Luckily they had a vacancy on a Tuesday night for me and my husband, who were in town for one night and needed a place to stay. Jeanie checked us in with no fuss and quickly sent us off to find food since we arrived very late. Luckily, the pub was still open and serving food. We came back to the hotel to find some of the guests enjoying a guitar jam session with one of the staff who's in a band. Jeanie told us to go join in and we did! Such a pleasant evening, although we just got there at the tail end. The hotel itself is much more like a bed and breakfast, as it definitely feels like you're in someone's home. There are plenty of books and magazines around if you're looking for something to read and lots of art and curiosities all around. Our bedroom was small, as is typical in England, but very cozy, with a four poster bed, loveseat sofa, and en suite bathroom. I don't think I'd ever slept in a four poster bed with a canopy before! We felt like medieval royalty! Breakfast was also delicious, and service was excellent. There's no wi-fi in the bedrooms but it is available downstairs in the lounge. I'd definitely recommend Bonnicott House to anyone looking to stay around the Lynmouth area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litlhafgost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 420 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

The highlight of our stay in this vintage vicarage turned into a 10-room bed-and-breakfast hotel was our wonderful hosts. Whether at happy hour in the lounge each day, preparing and serving wonderful breakfasts and dinners in the dining room, or providing helpful travel advice Jeanne and were the ultimate hosts.
The lounge and the dining room both have large windows looking out over the harbour, pleasant places to sit at the beginning and the end of the day. We recommend you take the offered option of dinner at the hotel. The setting is magnificent, and the food matches!
The hotel is located in a vintage building with a variety of rooms with sea and cliff views. Parking is available across the street. Note that it is a bit of a hike up the stairs on a hill - you cannot drive up to the door, so you will have to lug baggage up a couple of flights of stairs outside, as well as another flight within the hotel. As well, if you are driving, the road into and out of Lynmouth is quite steep, so be prepared with good brakes!

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room and it was great to wake up to a view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spruce_grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Its not often you find somewhere that has such consistently excellent reviews, but they were justified, what a lovely place! We had a four poster room with views down to the sea, for 3 nights.The décor was great and suited the building which once was the rectory for the church opposite. The breakfasts were great and Jeanne and Jeremy were very attentive. My gluten free vegetarian diet didn't faze them at all! Nothing was too much trouble, they loaned us walking maps and even offered to pick us up. Lymouth itself was pretty quiet when we were there but the restaurants and pubs both there and in Lynton were busy, and we ate out in some lovely places (Oak House, Rising Sun, and Greenhouse). And for someone from the suburbs of the West Midlands, a visit to the Lynton cinema was an experience - really quaint!
Would visit again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank roseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed again for two nights last week. The weather and Bonnicott were both excellent. Decor is splendid with echoes of Edwardia. Food is superbly cooked by Jeanne. She is a lovely, caring lady who will make anyone welcome and mean it. And you get massive portions. Breakfast and evening meals huge - and I'm a big eater. Could just about finish without bursting at the seams. Although you must save a little room for triple ice cream for afters. Poppy is the perfect 'man's best friend'. Barks like the clappers when you walk up the steps to the Bonnicott but is loving and playful once you see her inside. Jeremy is a great chap and a dab hand at cryptic crosswords in the Telegraph. All in all, the most genuine and decent place I've ever stayed on holiday. If everywhere was like this, the phrase 'Rip Off Britain' would no longer exist. May God bless Jeanne, Jeremy and Laura. Love to Poppy XXX

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best - Four Poster Elegance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Bonnicott House for one night. The hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Bed was very comfortable and Breakfast was lovely including cereal, freshly prepared fruit, yogurt and full English or other alternatives
We were also given a parking permit for the two days we were in Lymouth.
Would stay there again!

Room Tip: We Stayed in the Bishop's suite which has a very comfortable Super-king size bed and everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed two nights whilst walking the South West Coast Path and might have to find an excuse to return to this fabulous hotel. Jeremy and Jeanne were so friendly and welcoming. Our four poster bed was exceedingly comfortable (room 3) and the whole room was full of thoughtful extra touches. The food was very good, especially the generous breakfasts. Jeremy took a special pride in matching music to the guests tastes - no ubiquitous radio music here! Even a guitar was at hand! Needing a lift to our walk starting point was no problem - Jeremy was happy to oblige with transport and lots of good advice. Parking permits for our car appeared as required.
The ambience of Bonnicott House was very relaxing, with lots of books, plants, and interesting items. All in all - top marks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzLovers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night at this charming B & B. There was a very warm welcome from the hosts. Our room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful view, and breakfast was excellent - nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommend a visit here. We will be going again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Rockford Inn
The Rockford Inn
#1 of 1 in Brendon
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnicott House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnicott House Hotel

Address: 10 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $101 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bonnicott House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under new ownership, and where all bedrooms have been redecorated and refurbished this charming Grade II listed building offers a warm and friendly welcome. Bonnicott House sits in a elevated position set in the cliff-side. We offer comfortable rooms with fresh crisp linen and white fluffy towels, we are also a 2 minute walk from Lynmouth Town and the Harbour. Our scrumptious breakfasts are cooked to order and served in our dining room overlooking the village with views to the sea, The comfortable and spacious lounge/bar with a log burning stove, also delivers stunning sea panorama and views over our terraced gardens. Guests staying at Bonnicott House also have the option to eat at our sister hotel The Rockford Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bonnicott House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnicott House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing