We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation in a wonderful location”
Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #5 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in a wonderful location”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and loved the room with ensuite. The B&B is right next to a river and found the sound of it very pleasant. The scenery can not be faulted and we found Lynmouth to be a very picturesque and lovely place. We enjoyed one of the local walks and this would be an ideal location for anyone with an interest in walking as there several to chose from nearby. The breakfasts were good and evening meals are an option but not one we used. The hosts were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Lynmouth is a great place to visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the area and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
115
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed just one night at the Lorna Doone and wished we had booked for longer. We received a warm welcome and pot of tea on arrival and we were very impressed with the decor and facilities in our room which had a lovely view of the river.

We have visited Lynmouth many times over the last 40 years but this was our first time at this hotel and, hopefully, will not be our last. The food is simply outstanding. Our room was very comfortable and we were made extremely welcome by Sharon and Neil.

Absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
We do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again. Its nice to think that even after 40 years Lynmouth still holds its charm. We are glad that you found us and hope we see you on your next visit to this lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our second time staying at Lorna Doone House and its difficult to find superlatives to describe our experience except to state that, 'if Carlsberg did Guest Houses then this is how they would do it!'

The welcome, hospitality and accommodation were all first class. Guests can also choose to have an evening meal at Lorna Doone which is excellent value and offers cuisine that would not be out of place in a four or five star hotel restaurant. The proprietors Sharon and Neil go that extra mile to ensure they have done everything possible to ensure you have a great stay.

In conclusion Lorna Doone House is a delightful, small, friendly and exceptionally well run guest house that makes you feel special from the moment you arrive. If you are considering a break in this area of Devon then please consider Lorna Doone House. You wont be dissapointed and I warmly recommend this peaceful and relaxing oasis of a guest house to you.

Room Tip: Room 3 offers the best views of the river and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Well, we would return the compliment because we are sure if Carlsberg made Guests they would make a guest like you! - It was lovely to see you again and thank you for your great review. We hope Lynmouth recharged your batteries and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

What a stunning location this is. Very friendly hosts and great food. Nothing too much trouble. Only complaint was the bed. Small and not too comfortable but it is personal taste. Parking handled well... You leave the car key with your host if you are out walking and he moves cars about so nobody is blocked in. Worked well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We do hope that the rest of your tour of England goes well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a long trip down to Devon we were welcomed at the door by our wonderful host with a brilliant smile and a perfect question, "Would you like a cup of tea?" What a wonderful way to start a holiday. The accommodation was top rate and the hosts so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was also excellent. Unfortunately the breakfast was so good we completely filled up on the first day and couldn't quite manage the full breakfast on the second day. The area was absolutely stunning and it was wonderful to listen to the river whilst sleeping. It is the perfect place to stop to enjoy this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Go for the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful village and house and Neil's great breakfasts!! We agree they are rather filling - But great for a long days walking. Hope we may have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Lorna Doone during the early part of April after a recommendation from family. The B&B was very easy to find and parking was not a problem. However, if you have an older/not too powerful car (like mine!) I would strongly advise against arriving via Porlock Hill.

Upon arrival we were greeted very warmly by Neil, our host and chef, who showed us every kindness and attended us to our room. We were lucky to get a front, river facing room with a fantastic view over the East Lyn River. The room itself was very well appointed, featuring the usual facilities, such as television, hairdryer and kettle, as well as a well stocked tea tray! The room was immaculate in terms of decor and overall cleanliness.

As a taller person, I was gratified to learn that the bed was over 6ft long - and incredibly comfortable! The en-suite bathroom was larger than your average B&B en-suite, with the shower also being tall-person friendly.

We opted for an in-house evening meal on the first night of our arrival - a choice I strongly recommend to all guests as there isn't a great choice of restaurants in Lynmouth, but much more importantly Neil's cooking is immense. We enjoyed 2 evening meals while we stayed at the Lorna Doone, and both meals were incredible - a strong recommendation. During the evening meals and breakfast, we were served by Sharon who was very friendly and attentive.

I would strongly recommend the Lorna Doone as a B&B, and I imagine that we will be staying here again. Thank you, Neil and Sharon, as your warm hospitality and great food made for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hair_chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always lovely when people come on a recommendation and then they also enjoy their visit. Thanks for the kind words about Neil's meals. He takes great pleasure in serving interesting food and it is lovely when this is appreciated. We hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I took my wife on a last minute 2 night stay over the Easter Bank holiday weekend and we were both enchanted from the moment we arrived. This is the best Guest house i have ever stayed in with the best hosts. Parking alongside and a veranda to enjoy a pot of tea whilst overlooking the river - watching a heron fish from the hotel room - falling asleep and waking up to the musical sound of the babbling river. The location is perfect for walking down to Lynmouth harbour and the room was delight to be in. Overall - thank you Neil & Sharon for the privilege of staying in your beautiful guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John n Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We too never tire of looking out at the river and seeing the great wildlife we have on our door step. It was great to meet you and we hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Property: Lorna Doone House
Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing