We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #5 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a long trip down to Devon we were welcomed at the door by our wonderful host with a brilliant smile and a perfect question, "Would you like a cup of tea?" What a wonderful way to start a holiday. The accommodation was top rate and the hosts so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was also excellent. Unfortunately the breakfast was so good we completely filled up on the first day and couldn't quite manage the full breakfast on the second day. The area was absolutely stunning and it was wonderful to listen to the river whilst sleeping. It is the perfect place to stop to enjoy this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Go for the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful village and house and Neil's great breakfasts!! We agree they are rather filling - But great for a long days walking. Hope we may have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Lorna Doone during the early part of April after a recommendation from family. The B&B was very easy to find and parking was not a problem. However, if you have an older/not too powerful car (like mine!) I would strongly advise against arriving via Porlock Hill.

Upon arrival we were greeted very warmly by Neil, our host and chef, who showed us every kindness and attended us to our room. We were lucky to get a front, river facing room with a fantastic view over the East Lyn River. The room itself was very well appointed, featuring the usual facilities, such as television, hairdryer and kettle, as well as a well stocked tea tray! The room was immaculate in terms of decor and overall cleanliness.

As a taller person, I was gratified to learn that the bed was over 6ft long - and incredibly comfortable! The en-suite bathroom was larger than your average B&B en-suite, with the shower also being tall-person friendly.

We opted for an in-house evening meal on the first night of our arrival - a choice I strongly recommend to all guests as there isn't a great choice of restaurants in Lynmouth, but much more importantly Neil's cooking is immense. We enjoyed 2 evening meals while we stayed at the Lorna Doone, and both meals were incredible - a strong recommendation. During the evening meals and breakfast, we were served by Sharon who was very friendly and attentive.

I would strongly recommend the Lorna Doone as a B&B, and I imagine that we will be staying here again. Thank you, Neil and Sharon, as your warm hospitality and great food made for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hair_chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always lovely when people come on a recommendation and then they also enjoy their visit. Thanks for the kind words about Neil's meals. He takes great pleasure in serving interesting food and it is lovely when this is appreciated. We hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I took my wife on a last minute 2 night stay over the Easter Bank holiday weekend and we were both enchanted from the moment we arrived. This is the best Guest house i have ever stayed in with the best hosts. Parking alongside and a veranda to enjoy a pot of tea whilst overlooking the river - watching a heron fish from the hotel room - falling asleep and waking up to the musical sound of the babbling river. The location is perfect for walking down to Lynmouth harbour and the room was delight to be in. Overall - thank you Neil & Sharon for the privilege of staying in your beautiful guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John n Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We too never tire of looking out at the river and seeing the great wildlife we have on our door step. It was great to meet you and we hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Perfect for relaxing Easter Break. Lynmouth is one of the nicest villages and with just a couple of restaurants and pubs nearby made it perfect. Sharon at Lorna Doone was lovely,always cheery and making sure all guests are happy and satisfied with the breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks for your cheery words! It is always a pleasure to have such lovely guests and we are glad the charms of Lynmouth were appreciated by you. Let's hope you manage to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is truly a lovely place to stay in a perfect location. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely and clean and the food was wonderful, certainly the best by far that we have ever had and plenty of it. There is the added bonus of a car park and there is lots to do and some beautiful walks. We can not wait to return to the Lorna Doone and thank Neil, Sharon and their staff very much for their wonderful hospitality.

Julie C

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves whilst with us. Many guests enjoy the fact they can just park up in the car park and then explore the area on foot. We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very lovely location and a warm friendly welcome, especially for our dog Charlie. Room was lovely and breakfast was one of the best I've had in a B & B, even a sausage for Charlie both days. We hope to come back to Lynmouth and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Glad you and Charlie enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfasts. It was good to have your company and we hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed first weekend in November - our first time in Lynmouth and at Lorna Doone - we were greeted with tea and biscuits on arrival. Perfect location by the river and spacious, clean and warm bedroom. Great breakfast and dinner (optional) was delicious and all home cooked- chef Neil will spoil you. Hope to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we may have the pleasure of seeing you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Property: Lorna Doone House
Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing