We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorna Doone House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Shelley's(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
162
18
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
18
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troublethe riverb bmy gluten free dietfour poster beda wonderful holidayfudgeshort strollrushing waternice clean roomseach morningwarm welcomeplenty of choicepacked lunchfantastic hostsstunning locationselection of cereals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 181 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked the B&B for our first wedding anniversary, and made the choice based on others reviews on here. I am glad we did as we were very well looked after during our weekend. We were welcomed in on our arrival and allowed to settle into our room, there is a folder with useful info and local attractions for those without any set plans. Lynmouth and Lynton are great places to explore and the B&B has many walks on it's doorstep, if you have not done your homework (or left it at home as I did)! Neil and Sharon are able to offer their knowledge in planning your days outings, with advice on places to stop along the way. There is a choice of breakfasts each morning with specials available if pre-ordered the day before. We felt most welcome at the Lorna Doone House and Neil and Sharon really do go that extra mile to make sure your stay is a smooth and pleasant one. Thanks James and Lauren

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary break at Lorna Doone. Hope we have the pleasure of helping you celebrate lots more! Thank you for your very kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room (and bathroom) was large, comfortable and very clean. For breakfast we had a great choice of everything. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. We loved it and will go back one day, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hel_schuette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope we do have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon arrival, Sharon warmly greeted us with tea and cookies on her sunny patio. She’s a very cheerful, communicative person with a good sense of humour and truly loves to entertain her guests. Service received is also very good. The rooms were both of a good size with large bathrooms, the décor a bit dated but in good condition, overall cleanliness was good. Only downside is that the mattress in our bedroom was a bit tired, but was ok for 1 night. Also, it was very quiet at night, but in the morning there was a big noise coming from the water pipes or boiler (no problem if you don’t wish to have a lay-in). Breakfast was very nice with a good choice and freshly prepared.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capricorno-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not find the beds to your liking but are glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lorna Doone is a lovely quality B&B with all the finishing touches - perfectly cooked breakfast too. We were welcomed with a pot of tea which was much appreciated and our room was very well equipped. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: room 4 had a four poster bed and looked over the river
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything has already been said about this lovely ' home from home'. Great location, rooms clean and spacious, lovely power shower, food great. Owners are friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. My mum loved them.
Can't get much of a mobile phone signal at times. Also the drive to Lynmouth via Porlock Hill - take the toll road if you can. We have a small car and missed the warning signs, not a pleasant experience!!
Lynmouth itself is lovely, clean, lush, friendly people. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Neil's lovely food. Hope your experience of Porlock Hill on the way home was better than your first journey !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews