We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkers - this is the spot to pause.”
Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #6 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lynmouth is a delightful village and this is the place to rest and recover - especially if you are doing the coastal path. I have nothing but praise for this place. My friend and I had a single room each - actually mine was a double four poster bedded room; better than the one I stayed in for my honeymoon.

We stayed two days - separated by two days of walking around the coastal path. Our hosts were so accommodating and the value for money excellent. We ate evening meals in the Village but had two wholesome breakfasts at Lorna Doone.

Our thanks for a great stay.

NB - do not confuse with a similar named establishment in Porlock.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster room and bring a significant other!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your walking holiday at Lorna Doone !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Lorna Doone House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 176 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well this was our 4th visit. End of November 2012.
To be honest the quality of this Bed and Breakfast cannot be beaten in our opinion. We stayed for three nights and had dinner each night the food is fantastic with a very good choice. Sharron and Neil constantly achieve a higher standard than the very high standard they have set for themselves. Great hosts, great rooms, great food, great value and a great location. We just know that we will return sometime next year. Thx to you both. Chris and Martin x

Room Tip: The best tip we can give you is to visit soon, you will love it :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review - again !! We are pleased that despite the inclement weather you both enjoyed your time in Lynmouth. It was a pleasure to share your company and we do hope we see you again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We, a couple stayed at Lorna Doone House for 3 nights in October, it was my wife’s birthday. The Location of the house is just by the river. It was so soothing to hear the sound of the river from our room. We took a king size front facing room on the first floor which was decorated very tastefully. In fact the whole guesthouse is beautifully decorated with a nice lounge to have a drink in the evening. Our room had a huge bathroom with overhead shower on the tub. Toiletries, tea coffee and biscuits in the room were very top quality including a complementary bottle of water each day. The Full English Breakfast was amazing and lots of options. We didn’t dine at Lorna Doone unfortunately but will definitely do so the next time. Lorne Doone has Free parking and Wi-Fi which is a definite plus. Some of the B&Bs don’t have parking and you have to park in the pay n park. Both Sharon and Neil (the owners) made us feel very welcome. They have a huge collection of DVDs which you can borrow and watch in your room as the TVs have built in DVD players. We had a wonderful time at Lynmouth and would like to thank both Sharon and Neil for their hospitality and for the lovely custom made birthday card for my wife! I did a lot of research on TA before selecting Lorna Doone and I can say it is one of the best B&Bs we’ve stayed at so far!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, We are pleased you both enjoyed your stay and enjoyed exploring the beautiful area we live in. We hope we may have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Would definitely revisit. When we arrived we were offered a tray of tea and biscuits whilst being shown to our room which were served in the lounge. A lovely touch. Our room was lovely and we enjoyed watching a DVD in our room to dry off from the rain! The b&b's decor is to a very high standard and very clean. Well stocked rooms with hair dryer, lots of tea, coffee etc, water and complimentary toiletries baskets, lots of soft towels and great information on services and the area. Gorgeous generous breakfast with high quality produce. Free parking and wifi. just a few minutes walk from the harbour. Highly recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your break and found Lorna Doone a good base for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have known Sharon and Neil for many years and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them. A totally spotlessly clean guest house, beautiful rooms, stunning location in tranquil and special Lynmouth, Lorna Doone House even comes with parking. The variety and quality of the food is par excellence with sorbets at evening meal. Where today do you still get that! The breakfast was superb with proper butchers meats. Tasty sausages and bacon and a variety of 6 marmalades, fruit, yogurts, cereal and top quality porridge. The evening meals show the experience and ability of Neil as a chef. Again quality meats with exquisite sauces, home made as are the sweets. I cannot recommend this enough please stay for a welcoming, quality stay with food which would grace a four star establishment. But please don't tell too many people. We want to make sure we can get in when we book again! In summary Class.

Room Tip: No pool my mistake.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

It truly was a pleasure to catch up with you all again. It was a great few days and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the card tricks are going down well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very friendly and helpful, clean and tidy throughout, we had a comfortable room on the first floor overlooking the river. With just a matter of minutes to walk into the village and situated on a quiet cul-de-sac this is an ideal place to stay and explore the surrounding area or just stay local and walk the area. The evening meals are to be recomended, drinks are available, and at sensible prices, so with car parking on-site as well (not a lot of places have parking) this is the ideal place to stay to visit Lynmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our lovely evening meals. We hope we may see you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in Lynmouth North Devon.
We stayed at the Lorna Doone House as usual.

The place is spotless, Lovely rooms, Wonderful food and a very warm
welcome!

It,s the only place to stay in Lynmouth.

Looking to staying next year,

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best veiw
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thanks for another lovely review. It is always a pleasure to see you and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $76 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing