We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy times!”
Review of Lorna Doone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorna Doone House
Ranked #6 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A lovely welcome and such a friendly place to stay. The house was warm and our room was pretty and comfy. Our room had a lovely big bath and it was heaven to be able to soak for a while after a long walk with the dog. Breakfast was superb. We were really well looked after.

Room Tip: Most rooms have ensuite with showers. Room 5 has a lovely sized bath.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay despite the unseasonal weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Lorna Doone House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

Always a bit wary going back to an Hotel when the previous stay was so good. Nothing to worry about here though, what another excellent 2 night stay. The welcome was as warm as ever with a lovely pot of coffee and friendly hugs, Sharon having remembered us from our previous visit. The room ( number 3 ) was excellent, very spacious with a lovely view of the river. Neil and Sharon were superb hosts and again nothing was too much trouble for them. We met some lovely people in the hotel and even when we returned from a very wet days walking Sharon offered to dry our clothing. Cannot recommend highly enough. We are already looking forward to our next stay, thanks once again Sharon and Neil

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PACT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thanks for your review. It was lovely to see you again. Hope we have a return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our third visit ,always made to feel welcome.Wanted to meet up with some old friends and asked Neil if we could invite them to dinner ,he agreed, and we had a lovely evening with the added bonus of a great meal !

Room Tip: One at the front over looking the river , the sound of water all night is very relaxing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth94Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times before with Neil and Sharon, but this time they have not only excelled themselves but this time but gone above and beyond the call of duty. On the 4th day of our 5 day break, I was taken ill at Exmoor Zoo. First thing Neil did was drive from Lynmouth to bring my daughter to the zoo to enable me to be bought back as I wasn't able to drive. On returning to Lynmouth, I was promptly admitted to Barnstaple hospital with acute pancreatitis which in turn will require the removal of my gall bladder. My wife, son and daughter, after me being admitted, remained at LDH and were looked after by Neil and Sharon with all sorts of kindness showered on them, most of which passed me by. Nothing was too much trouble, including taking my wife to visit me one day. Her stay was extended with no issues, then my son, who had returned now, was also found a room, all at extremely short notice. Prior to my demise, we had enjoyed (all 8 of us) the most fantastic time. My soon to be daughter in law, on her first visit, is now arranging for her family to have a visit. So if anybody has any doubts about the hospitality at LDH, doubt no more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliverobey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Well, you certainly know how to make a stay interesting!! It was lovely to see you all and we are glad that you are now finding your feet again. Looking forward to seeing you all again. xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This guest house is in a superb location and benefits from excellent service. The owners are helpful and friendly - nothing is too much trouble.
the babbling of the river (and no other noise) aided sleep and was a real treat to wake up to.
Great breakfast too!

Room Tip: River facing if possible!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review - Hope your batteries are now fully recharged ahead for a busy summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our parents booked the Lorna Doon for our mini-moon. We were booked into the four poster bed room. The room was really nice and the owners had even left a congratulations card for us which was a relly nice touch! We were well looked after from the minute we turned up to the minute we checked out. Good breakfasts and plenty of it! Despite the fact it rained all week, we throughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The four poster bed room is really nice, the bed was really comfy. But if you're used to quiet a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" with us. Congrats on your marriage and we hope we may have the pleasure of seeing you again - may be on your anniversary?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my Wife and Mother for a long weekend recently. The Guesthouse is perfectly situated in a quiet location but just a couple of minutes walk to the heart of Lynmouth. We had a warm welcome on our arrival and throughout our stay Sharon had an infectious enthusiasm about her work and the immaculate Lorna Doone House. The room was clean, light and airy and had many touches of luxury that you just would not expect. The bed was comfy which was a great precursor to the tremendous full English breakfast (I assume Neil has to take the accolade for that, although I didn't see who was cooking).

I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Sharon and Neil obviously have the experience and passion to give their guests the best stay and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBSFAMILYDEVON, Owner at Lorna Doone House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thanks for your warm review. Rest assured it is Neil who does the cooking! Glad you enjoyed yourselves and it was a pleasure having you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone House

Address: 4 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $76 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorna Doone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly service in a great location. Guests can enjoy a four course evening meal as well as a great breakfast. We are licensed so you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorna Doone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone House Hotel Lynmouth
Lorna Doone House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing