We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally situated, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rock House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Centrally situated, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very clean and comfortable room/Hotel with sea views. Very friendly and efficient staff. Very good restaurant and also parking available for guests which is pretty useful in Lynmouth. Centrally situated in the Village next to the river and sea. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    73
    19
    19
    16
See reviews for
40
175
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Celebrated my husbands birthday with a few days in Lynmouth. This was our first visit to the Rock House Hotel and will visit again in the near future.

Very friendly management and staff at this small hotel, surrounded by sea.

Very good food, including breakfast

Nice clean rooms

Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cannot compliment this hotel enough. To start with the location is magical with wonderful up-close views of the river, the Harbour and the sea. Our room was spotless and furnished with both style and comfort. We even had the sound of the river flowing past our window. All the staff were friendly and informative about the area. The breakfasts are excellent - try the lovely smoked salmon and poached eggs as well as the gorgeous full english. The dinner menu is a bit limited, but enjoyable none the less. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just had a wonderful break at the Rock Hotel. From arrival to departure we were made extremely welome. The friendly and attentive staff made our stay especially memorable.
The restuarant served very good food at a reasonable price, even though the menu was limited there was something for everyone. The breakfasts were of exceptional quality both in the ingredients and the cooking ( we have not had better in hotels charging twice as much ).
Our room had wonderful views onto the town and harbour,it was very well appointed,spotlessly clean and the decor in excellent condition even though it was the very end of the season.
This was a very good value hotel and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What can I say? I just love this place!!!!!

Great location!

Spotlessly clean!

Lovely rooms!

Great food!

Lovely staff!


A must visit!!!!!!

I always visited lynmouth as a child with my family, and this hotel has always been a favourite. I would say it had one of the best locations in lynmouth. I really did reminisce while I was here. Would choose this hotel if I went back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill from kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

First stay in Lynmouth and it was a fantastic experience. Hotel was very clean, warm, extremely comfortable and value for money.

The staff seem genuinely concerned that guests are happy.

Food was delicious and bedroom spacious.

Room Tip: Room 2 looked out over the quay - stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Isn't it great when you are offered a room and are able to bring your pet with you! Our Lhasa Apso Maizi loved this place! As did my wife.There is one room available for pets, it faces the river and the harbour, and is on the ground floor. If you love the sound of rushing water then this is ideal, the sound is superb! I agree that the coffee is great too. We were made to feel welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, comfortable and warm. In general Lynmouth welcomes dog owners, many pubs and hotels have a relaxed attitude to pets... I wish other places would take note.
Food was OK and we had no complaints... the staff were very helpful and friendly...all in all a great place for a break, well done!

Room Tip: If you are disturbed by the sound of water go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candymanPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Property: Rock House Hotel
Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Rock House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing