We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely to watch the world go by in our conservatory balcony room”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed before at Shelley's in 2011. Great informally run hotel in the Exmoor harbour village of Lynmouth.
Great room, spotlessly clean, it was lovely to watch the world go by in our conservatory balcony room.
Lynmouth is a very pretty village with lots of walks and nice restaurants, including the water powered Victorian cliff railway which takes you up to Lynton.
We would definitely visit again, but won't leave it so long next time to return.

Room Tip: choose a room with a conservatory and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelennaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 499 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well done, we just read about the well-deserved award. We returned last Autumn after first staying a couple of years before, but I forgot to leave a review.
Just to say that we weren't disappointed, it was exactly how we remembered, a lovely little bed & breakfast hotel run in a relaxed and friendly style by Jane & Richard.
We aim to return again again this September.

Room Tip: start your break on a Sunday for the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank troger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Brilliant location, amazing views - I thought I was in Switzerland, not Devon! Everything immaculate and all that was provided was generous and delicious. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony and a beautiful four poster bed...lovely! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OverTheMoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Congratulations to Shelleys on receiving the 2014 TripAdvisor award that we recently read about in the Times newspaper.
We stayed for 3 nights in September last year, Jane & Richard run Shelley's in a relaxed and informal style and their award is well-deserved, we are looking forward to returning again this Autumn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Returning guests, we came on after having a couple of nights in the Peak District.
As before the hotel was comfortable and clean, and Jane & Richard excellent hosts with a friendly informal style.
Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated to a high standard.
The location is perfect, quiet and peaceful, yet Shelley’s is a stones throw away from the shops, restaurants and harbour.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank sknafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at Shelly's a couple of times now. Fantastic location, great breakfast, excellent accommodation, brilliant owners. Got soaking wet one day while out walking and when we returned to Shelly's the staff even took our wet clothes to dry off.
Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful room, delicious breakfasts, spotlessly clean, wonderful sea views,very pleasant & knowledgeable hosts and a truly wonderful location!
When planning a visit to North Devon & Exmoor this hotel is too good to miss out on.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank marshall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: $80 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing