We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Bath
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Right on the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend and had a very pleasant stay. A nice first floor room with an unusual conservatory style seating area and comfy bed. Also a good breakfast and pleasant hosts. No bath which was a shame as we both like a wallow after a few miles on Exmoor, but really do recommend Shelly's. Also - try the Bistro across the road for dinner, really excellent fish based cooking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mugshot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

'Ideal position with central location, quiet, comfortable rooms and friendly owners. The breakfast was part buffet with the full English made to order.
Ate at the Rising Sun and Vanilla Pod which were both very good. We were given good information about walks so all in all a very enjoyable stay.'
We and another couple that were with us have previously stayed at the Seawood Hotel in Lynton, we passed through the property whilst walking and were hurled a load of abuse by the owner so we wont stay there again now we have found Shelleys.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Juliet balcony room which was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Flyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Location is Excellent, we had a most pleasing room with incredible two aspect views. The service was first class with a breakfast menu to die for!
To top it further the three day package price is a steal!

Room Tip: Our room with a two aspect view was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have regularly returned to shelleys for a short break for the last 6 years. A high standard of cleanliness has been maintained with superb flexible breakfast for all tastes and if you have 'Hollow legs' Jane's full english breakfast will set you up for the day! We always feel relaxed in the hotel and love it's location. We look forward to revisiting in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms light and warm with sea views and quieter as set back further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I think it's all been said by others -
Lovely hotel, friendly hosts, good food!
Thank you Richard & Jane
....................................................................................................................................

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jannikakeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shelley's from 14th to 16th September 2012 for his birthday. The hosts were very welcoming and the room was very comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was superb and the honesty bar was a lovely idea and much appreciated! The only slight criticism was that the TV was very small for the size of room, but apart from that, everything was excellent...thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lynette_Wolfe_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Shelley's.Our room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Richard and Jane were very helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed.
The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel.
Lynmouth is lovely also.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rkshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing