We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marian and Brian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marian and Brian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our first visit to North Devon. We chose Shelley's because of their excellent website,we could not have chosen better! Richard and Jane were excellent hosts in every way,from our arrival to our departure.The Juliet corner 2 window room had excellent views.Breakfasts had a very good selection to suit all tastes,were of premium quality and the service was friendly,efficient and attentive.Richard was particularly helpful with his local knowledge regarding walks and many thanks for his Family Tree websites which he has e-mailed us.Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is our fourth break at Shelleys and it was fantastic. The hotel is lovely and the atmosphere is much like staying with friends. Both Jane and Richard go out of their way to be helpful and friendly and the breakfast is superb!

Lynmouth is a beautiful place and draws us back again and again.

Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We decided on a last minutebreak in North Deven for our wedding anniversary and wanted somewhere friendly and comfortable where we could relax and unwind after some very busy weeks. We chose Shelleys from its tripadvisor reviews. We are so glad we did - it was wonderful. We had room 6 - large, spotlessly clean, well decorated, very comfortable and with a lovely conservatory balcony. We spent a lot of time on this, reading, relaxing and watching the world go by. The weather wasn't brilliant and it was good to be able to pop back to the hotel when it rained and have cup of tea on the balcony whilst watching the rough seas. The breakfasts were the best we have had anywhere - I don't usually like a full English but these were excellent. The omelettes and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon were also good. Jane and Richard were charming and Richard was extremely helpful recommening places to go for photography and scenic walks and drives. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them. The location is great - just minutes walk from all the pubs, cafes, restaurants and the harbour. The whole area is beautiful - so much to see and do. It is one of our favourite parts of the country.
The only tiny downside is parking. Shelleys doesn't have its own car park so you have to use the public car park opposite with a special reduced rate ticket purchased at reception. Parking is at a premium in Lynmouth and when we returned from a drive at 2pm on sunday there wasn't a space anywhere and queues for all the car parks - but Richard and Jane kindly let us use the drop off point in front of the hotel. Next time we would either stay in Lynmouth all day or return after 4.30pm when the crowds disperse!
We strongly recommend Shelleys and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room with a conservatory balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the third or fourth time we have stayed at Shelleys. Richard & Jane are really helpful & friendly. There is a good choice of hot breakfasts. The views from the front bedrooms are amazing. I have taken a phot of the view for the desktop of my computer at work so I can see the views at work when I feel low.
A great place for help and advice on researching for your Family Tree.
We definately will be back.
Paul & Lesley

Room Tip: The front rooms with conservatory or balcony are best. Covered in so it does not matter if it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Murrays796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and & I both needed a break, we were stressed out from a hectic few weeks at work.
We spent 3 very relaxing nights in September at Shelley's, the sea views & sunsets from our conservatory balcony room were simply wonderful to watch, we departed completely refreshed and relaxed.

We had booked Shelley's after an internet search for accommodation and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

Ideal location, as I said before wonderful sea views, great breakfast, excellent value, Jane & Richard helped make our brief stay a great one.

Eating out we had fish & chips at the Esplanade, a bar meal in the Rising Sun and on the third night we ate at Le Bistro - all quite different yet all very enjoyble.

Things to do, we walked to Watersmeet, took the Cliff Railway to Lynton and the Valley of Rocks, took a 50 mile scenic circular driving tour of Exmoor National Park taking in Exford, Dunster and Porlock and spent a day at RHS Rosemoor and Dartington Crystal at nearby Great Torrington.

Shelley's is to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank martinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Shelley's Hotel is in a perfect location and Jane and Richard were the perfect hosts.They always had time for us,the room was a good size and very clean.We had our own conservatory and balcony which had great views.The choice at breakfast was first class.This was one of our best breaks and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room was great it was one with a conservatory and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank george t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for a week, in the conservatory bedroom, room 6, well worth the extra money for the room as you could sit out on the balcony and watch the sea/river.
Pictures on their website does not do the rooms justice, they were a good size and were very clean.
Hotel was great, as per the previous reviews, Richard and Jane were there to ask questions when needed but let you come and go as you pleased when you didnt.
Breakfasts were great and set you up for the day.
Local area is brilliant as well.
Great week, keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: room 6 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank reecefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing