We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent week at Shelley's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another excellent week at Shelley's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Lovely room overlooking the bay with colour TV and selection of tea and coffee. Excellent breakfast menu served in the conservatory and service as always second to none . It has a quiet and relaxing 'honesty' bar. Shelley's is ideally situated for visiting the surrounding area of the North Devon coast.
Richard and Jane are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We have visited this hotel several times over the past few years and would highly recommend it .

Room Tip: Juliette rooms and Conservatory Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BRIAN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We treated ourselves to three nights at shelleys for our 42 wedding anniversary,it was a great stay,we had room 7 with the balcany over looking the harbour.We have stayed at this hotel several times since it was renovated and it still has the high standards the owners work hard to maintain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great choice of breakfast, excellent chef (Jane)!
Honesty bar good idea for guests.
Plenty of eating places for evening meal.
Definately will come back again.

Room Tip: We had Room 5 and it had great views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rick_auger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We have been visiting Lynmouth and Shelley's at least once a year for a good number of years, and always find the same friendly welcome from Richard and Jane, who have now become firm friends - it's a bit like coming home!
Shelley's is a place where you can relax from the first instant you walk through the door, where you will find a hotel of exceptional high standards of decor and beautiful comfortable bedrooms, particularly the ones with balconies overlooking the seafront, which are the ones we always try to book, but all the rooms/bathrooms are equally as good.
One of the highlights of our stay are always the breakfasts, with a excellent menu choice to suit everyone in a delightful dining room overlooking the seafront. Although Shelley's do not serve evening meals, this is neve a problem for us as there are plenty of eating places, with a recommendation list in Shelley's hotel folder in each room.
We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: Book well in advance to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ollie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Returning guests June visit. What can we say?

Warm welcome, spotless rooms, delicious breakfasts, enviable location, excellent value and most helpful & friendly hosts.

Say no more.........except we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Shelley's.

Best Regards.

Room Tip: Conservatory Balcony Rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HelennaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at Shelley's on one of their Exmoor Break offers which are very reasonable value for money, we opted for a superior conservatory balcony room with a kingsize bed and with private conservatory area and balcony overlooking Lynmouth Bay. It was lovely to have the conservatory so we could relax and unwind in the evening with a drink from the hotel 'honesty' bar and watch the sunset over the sea with Wales in the distance.
Breakfast was freshly cooked in the morning to order with a very wide choice not often seen even in the biggest of hotels, the cheese & mushroom omlettes were scrumptious.
Shelley's central location within Lynmouth was very convenient for the nearby pubs and restaurants, Le Bistro immediately opposite was our favourite.
Lynton & Lynmouth provide an ideal base from which to explore the North Devon & Exmoor, while the scenic '21 Mile Drive' is well worth doing as it takes in all that is best in the immediate Lyn Valley Little Switzerland area.
The glorious walks to Watersmeet and Valley of Rocks are also to be recommended and were made all the better the lovely May sunshine we experienced for our entire stay.
Over the years we must say we have stayed in many many hotels and B&B's right across Devon & Cornawall, many charging twice the price and not half as good.
Tasteful, stylish, no hint of pretension, a perfect place to chill out, Shelley's is definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank juliemurphy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have just got back from a 3 night stay, Shelley's is a warm and friendly hotel with everything you could wish for, we can't recommend it enough.


The hotel is spotlessly clean, the room was to a very high standard and well decorated and looked the same as the pictures found on the website.


Very very reasonable prices, perfect location central to everything,
fabulous freshly cooked to order 5 star breakfasts.


All in all a very good hotel made even better by the friendly, helpful and informative hosts

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dmerry1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing