We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab eclectic, relaxing hotel with great service”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed October 2, 2013

WOW - what a location on the hill. As soon as we arrived, we had cream tea on the veranda and relaxed. The large curios collection and design work with the 1940's soul music.
food very good, service excellent, rooms adequate

thank you we will be back

Room Tip: superior room recomended
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chieftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our unusual style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Tors Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took advantage of an Amazon deal for our 20th wedding anniversary break at this amazing hotel. We had no idea what to expect but everything surpassed our wildest expectations. aAs we approached Tors up a very steep incline and turned into the drive we were overwhelmed by the staggering view from the hotel on a hillside nestling in the middle of what seemed like a tropical jungle. From the cream tea on the sun terrace at the start of our break until the view of the bay from the breakfast room on our last morning, this was an unforgettable break. Each day started with a delicious breakfast overlooking the harbour at the foot of the cliff and finished lounging in one of the many amazing sitting rooms on antique sofas surrounded by wall to wall books, antiques and Persian rugs beneath our feet. There was so much to do during the day whether it was a leisurely stroll down to Lynmouth and a wander around the delightful village there, or an eye-popping hike around the coastal path gazing out to sea, trying to keep our eyes off the precipitous drop below, or a trip to the fantastic surfing beaches at Woolacombe or Salcombe or a visit to the delightfully eclectic market town of Barnstaple with plenty of stops for cream teas and ice creams on the way....our days were filled with activity of every kind. The staff at Tors were friendly and helpful and the whole stay was crowned by a magnificent room overlooking the sea and the harbour. We happened to notice a covered swimming pool beside the sun terrace which seemed out of service....once that has been re-commissioned Tors will be 'absolutely perfect'....as for now it will just have to do with only being 'perfect'.

Room Tip: Pretty much every room was perfect-peaceful and spotlessly clean.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hidihidiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our unique ambiance and stunning views. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Miller at Tors, Lynmouth for a quick 2 night get away and were simply blown away by the location and also the eclectic style of hotel. We also ate at the hotel on the first night and the food was exceptional. Would highly recommend a stay at this fabulous place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind comments, it means a lot to get such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, once again my thanks.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights at the Tors for our anniversary break. It was our first stay in this hotel, having looked at it in awe for over 30 years from the putting green below. When the chance came for us to stay, we couldn't refuse a good offer. On arrival the hotel manager, James gave us a very warm greeting and made us feel instantly welcome. Our room overlooked the bay and was breathtaking. We dined in the hotel restaurant and our meals and service was excellent from beginning to end. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. All produce is locally sourced and was of top quality. The hotel is themed like a victorian/colonial mansion with antiquities and surprises in all rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to repeat it as soon as we can. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing

Room Tip: Book early and the sea view was worth the extra upgrade cost.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the views and our quirky style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to the hotel as part of our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. On arrival the meet and greet was excellent and we were made to feel welcome from the outset and nothing would be to much trouble. We were escorted to a well equipped, large bedroom which overlooked Lynmouth harbour. We decided on the first night to have a bar meal in the hotel bar. The West Country sausages were excellent and the lamb burger according to my wife was to die for. The Korev Cornish lager was one of he best lagers I have tasted (normally a real ale drinker). On the second night we dined in the restaurant and again the food was of outstanding quality. It was nice to have a cheese board of local cheeses, five in total, rather than the usual cheddar, brie and stilton. All the staff were helpful and cheery and were only to willing to oblige. The breakfast was hearty and easily set us up for the day.
Our two night stay helped re-charge the batteries and helped recuperation after a recent operation. We would certainly be using this quirky hotel again.
The only thing to be wary of is exiting from the hotel car parks onto the busy A39 as the views from both exits are limited and to turn left you have to go over into the opposite carriageway. This did not detract in anyway from an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the property for an excellent view over Lynmouth and out to sea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandgtravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from a two night Groupon break at this hotel and I can not believe the rating of 4th out of five for Lynmouth hotels. This seems to be a complete nonsense. I would be hard pressed to find many ways to improve this beautifully quirky hotel. The ambiances, the views, and the food and service were beyond reproach. Nothing was too much trouble for the young staff. Even my telephone call to book was a joy. We shall certainly be returning in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuffles2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words , it means alot to us as all my staff work hard to please our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to TORS in the near future Kind Regards Ron Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I had a two night break and it was a very interesting and enjoyable time. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and warm. Food is good, but could do with more choice. A lovely part of the world and a most individual hotel with lots to see and take in. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our unusual style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: $108 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing