We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

With it's quirky and fascinating antiques and interior, it's sunny terrace with the best views in Lynmouth, Tors Hotel is a hidden gem. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The children were made to feel welcome and the stay was rounded off by an excellent meal and great service. It's well worth the trip up the woodland path for it's food alone. It was a great start to our family holiday - will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_H186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your email and for your great comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that the food, views and antiques were to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A well established hotel that is in need of updating in the bedrooms but the opportunity to find nooks and crannies in which to relax or have a meal more than makes up for this. Having a G&T out side on the terrace looking at the sunset over the harbour is a real treat.
The cooked breakfasts were of a good standard but were let down by poor preserves. What on earth the plastic mini bins on the tables were suppose to contribute to the experience I do not know.
However I would not rule the hotel out if I was visiting the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for some more 'Martin Miller' Gin and Tonics in the sun!

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The best of these established hotels is their prime position. The Tors has it all. Good views and a lovely sun terrace where you can sit an enjoy the last of the day's sunny rays. I am 70 this year and found the woodland path to the village quite acceptable (I do not usually walk well). I am an antique lover so enjoyed the decor which is so in keeping with a classy traditional hotel. You can park at the back and they have a lift, so do not worry if you are not terribly mobile.
The food was good; the bedrooms clean and the staff are excellent.
The best of this hotel is its good ambience. Well run and the emphasis on pleasing.

Room Tip: sea view is nice but not necessary as the terrace has good seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your great comments. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the food, staff and the beautiful position of Millers at the Tors.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It had been many year's since my wife and I stayed at the Tors, long before Martin Miller took over. We always found it to be a very good hotel, even way back. On arrival Kinga on reception offered a choice of two rooms, we took the seaview, bit of a no brainer really. The room was a Countesbury and was well appointed. The hotel's public rooms could be likened to Miss Haversham meets the Antiques Road Show meets the Saatchi Gallery, set dressed to make them appear slung together, very relaxing and candle lit at night. The food was very good, a breakfast as large as you wish and excellent quality three course dinner at £30 per head.
Lynmouth itself has to be one of the most scenic and romanitc places in Britain with many walks from the hotel to suit all. All the staff were fabulous. We found none of the problems encountered by others.There is plenty of parking if you include the upper level car park further up Countesbury Hill, giving direct access to the hotel's third floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmelhuish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food and views were to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Weekend break What can i say we arrived Friday afternoon and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist !!! we were shown straight to our room which had a great view of the coastline and was clean and tidy. The Staff were Fantastic !!!!!! The Hotel was Great hotel !!!!! The Food was great !!!! and a lovely location thankyou !!! What more can i say

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for you kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location and food at Millers at the Tors.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy another stay with us.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tired room: fixtures not fixed and a shower that has less water than the drought of 76 , building exterior was in need of love even after the so called refurb. Reception and Bar area had money, bling and poor taste thrown at them in equal quantities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the style of the hotel, but we hope that individual tastes would not put you off returning in the future.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot on the cliff over looking Lynmouth and the sea. There is a very small car park but it was not an issue for us during our stay but in busier times it culled be a problem if you had to park in the public car park and walk back up to the hotel.
We had a nice room with wonderful sea views. The bedroom and en suite were a little tired but it was spotlessly clean and there were beautiful new white fluffy towels. The walls, however, are paper thin and we were kept awake by the tv next door on the first night and the endless creaky floorboards above and next door in the mornings as people start moving around. i don't think I could have stayed more than 2 nights, we were so tired by the time we left.
We went to celebrate our recent engagement.
We stayed on a special offer for 2 nights with dinner on the first night. The dinner was quite expensive so I had high expectations. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent but unfortunately later in the evening, I felt very unwell which i can't pin directly down to the meal but I hadn't eaten anything else all day and the feeling of sickness etc stayed with me for the duration of my stay. I'm sure it was food poisoning and the hotel did look Ito it and have since called me but have basically said that as everyone else seemed to be ok it can't have been the food.

The breakfasts were excellent, not that I could really eat much of mine and the dining room has some tables looking out over the sea.
It was unfortunate that I was unwell so early during our stay as it did spoil things but I don't think I would stay here again as the hotel is too old, creaky and there are not enough places to sit and have a drink in the evenings as the set up is quite quirky. On a nice day there are plenty of chairs and tables outside but we had bad weather so couldn't do this.
On the special offer deal it was good value for money but I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

To address your comments;

We do have an overflow car park situated to the rear of the hotel for busier times.

Regarding the food, we had eight other guests in on the same evening who ate the same meal, on checking with them they had suffered no ill effects. The fish was also fresh in that day and therefore we feel that no responsibility can be placed on our hotel.

I would love to welcome you back to the hotel as we strive to ensure all guests enjoy their stay. If you would like to contact me directly on 01598 753 236 I would be happy to offer you a reduction in price for your stay.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing