We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cancellation feedback”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cancellation feedback”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had booked four days dinner, bed and breakfast for my husband and me. However, when we arrived, it was clear that the hotel was unsuitable for my husband who has terminal cancer and is very frail. Along with a deterioration in his health since i booked, I realised that the 'short distance to the lift' was not quite so and as we use a wheelchair (He can use a stick for short distances) the hotel was not going to be suitable.(The decor i.e. thick rugs and distances - large distances from a to b.). The hotel was incredibly understanding and despite it being clear in the confirmation about paying a cancellation fee, they did not charge me anything. This was so understanding and much appreciated. Coupled with this, they identified an alternative with a suitable, ground floor room. Unbelievable customer service!

Room Tip: Cannot complete the ratings as no experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastwordlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. We are very sorry that you could not stay with us as planned but I am very pleased that our staff found suitable accommodation for you.

Again many thanks for your review

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon-England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A sincere thank you to all the wonderful staff that made our recent visit such a delight. From the moment I booked this hotel until we left the service provided was excellent. Having experienced first hand the service and hospitality I am surprised at some of the trivia that people write. What difference does it make in respect of the colour of the toilet paper that featured in a review of this hotel, personally we thought that the small bin on the breakfast table was an excellent idea as it enabled you to dispose of wrappers and other sundry items thus giving the occupant an uncluttered table.
The location of this Devon Delight, set as it is into the hill side above Lynmouth, provides an ideal setting which in turn gives the resident some panoramic and exceptional views which can be enjoyed from sea facing rooms and the dinning room alike. This hotel punches above its weight, guests need to be aware that it is currently a 3 star hotel which provides a 5 star service I am confident that under the stewardship of Mr. Marks the General Manager this will change as he makes the necessary modifications that will ultimately result in more stars being awarded. The woodland walk, pathway down from the hotel to the town, whilst difficult and as advised not suitable for push chairs was managed by a 76 year old without undue difficulty. I think it is difficult to mention individual members of staff as without exception all went the extra mile to ensure that the guest had a pleasant stay, that said I must say that the receptionist Kinga warrants a special mention as she was always cheerful and extremely helpful. I must also say what a delightful couple of waitress's served us in the dinning room. We had two excellent evening meals cooked by Andy Collier and his team in the kitchen, the scallops my wife ordered were cooked to perfection, difficult as they are so often overcooked, his slow cooked belly of pork and lamb are to die for! Without doubt well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonshireWrinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the food, hotel and service.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy another stay with us at Millers at the Tors.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port douglas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am sitting in the lounge of this hotel and I am quite baffled about some previous comments made about the food and chill factor in this hotel. I have just finished dinner which was quite delightful (as was the beautifully presented G & T) and whilst it is a cold night, I have just had to take my jumper off because the hotel is so warm (and that is not bad given I am from tropical Australia where the average temperature is 28 degrees and it does not take much for me to feel the cold).

This is an old worldly resort full of old worldly character and charm. The views are second to none, the service brilliant and the rooms are just fine. Remember this is a three star resort (with a five star service), so do not expect five star rooms. Very comfortable though. As for the artwork it would not be my cup of tea but certainly adds to the ambience and will certainly keep you interested.

I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for your great comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to ensure all guests enjoy their stay and it is great to hear that the service and food were to your expectation.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We don't live very far from Lynmouth but upon reaching my room at The Tors Hotel, Lynmouth my first reaction was to say " why travel miles when you have this on your doorstep" ? A Lovely hotel in a stunning position & the staff were all so very friendly & helpful, they always had time to stop & talk as well as being obliging. It was a very cold weekend when we were there & we saw mentioned that people had complained that they were cold in their rooms but we certainly didn't find that, in fact quite the opposite. The food was superb & plenty of it & the public rooms furnishings were amazing. The views were superb & of course the walks in the area are as good as anywhere. We walked up to Watersmeet, a stunning location, then on up to Rockford, as good a walk as you will find anywhere in the country, coming back down to Lynmouth via The Two Moors way, makes you ready to relax on the deck in front of this superb hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207 & if I ever go back I would ask for that room again, plenty of room &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwalker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your great comments on the food, staff and style of the Tors. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Once again thanks,

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a Classic Motorcycle club we book the whole hotel every year @ the opening of the season.
The management & staff are just lovely & make us most welcome. The food this year was absolutely superb as was everything else about this rather special place.

Room Tip: 117 is a sea view corner double. Great views of Harbour & the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review! It is always a pleasure to greet the AJS motorbike group and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm going to split the review into positives and negatives as there is quite a bit to cover and I want to be as fair as I possibly can.

Positives

Staff. Staff staff staff. From check in all the way through the staff were brilliant. Friendly, helpful, patient - I do hope the Manager is aware of how wonderful the staff are with their residents.

Views. The views really are tremendous and I will remember them for a long time. Whether high noon or nearing midnight, the vista was just super.

Beds. I found the bed to be incredibly comfortable and I slept like a log. The linen seemed fresh and I had no complaint about the quality of the night's sleep.

Downstairs Areas - As one would expect from the Miller Antique's family, downstairs is crammed with all sorts of interesting objects. I wanted to purchase all the Beardsley prints in the downstairs Ladies loo immediately. Fun to look around. Pleasant groupings of chairs for groups to lounge or lunch at.

Outside Veranda - A recent upgrade, the veranda is lovely. Too cold for us to use, sadly, but will be a boon in warmer times.

Upper Car Park - Brilliant for those with any issue with steps, whether mobility or pushchair related. Looks hideous but very handy.

Breakfast - The setting for breakfast was, however, lovely (negative issues listed below). The table was well laid and the view, as I've mentioned, wonderful. By sitting in the lounge we were able to have our dog with us which was an absolute bonus. The staff were super.

Dog friendly but nothing particularly welcoming considering a charge is made. No dish or rug for example.

Negatives

Decor - We estimated that our room was probably last fully decorated in around 1992. There was chintzy fabric, rufffles, coronet bed canopies, floral wallpaper borders and all this felt very painfully juxtaposed against some stylish photos of movie stars. The hairdryer was a particular joy - I've uploaded a picture.

Cleanliness - Grubby paintwork, grubby door, the top of the bathroom heater covered in dust, mold on the window frame. When we awoke the windows were awash in condensation so in some ways the mold being under control was even somewhat impressive.

Bathroom - The showerhead is placed at collar bone level on me and I'm 6' tall. Useless and frustrating. No holder for (the peach) toilet paper which is just shocking. Hot and cold taps were the wrong way around. The curtains in the toilet did not hang properly nor meet in the middle.

Wifi - I realise it is hard to network a hotel. I don't even object to there only being wifi in the bar area downstairs at a tourist hotel. However I do object to the signal being so low one of our our ipads couldn't connect at all, and the other was left flailing to catch it, lose it, catch it. What's even more frustrating was that there was another business hub available showing as full strength! Really not good enough at all. Either make sure it works or don't offer it.

Food - We were asked if we would like to stay for dinner on the first night at £35 a head. We decided to utilise breakfast in order to see what the food standards might be like. Thank goodness we did. I was surprised at the mediocrity of the menu listing. No reference to a vegetarian offer at all, if that applies to you. Standard Full English or two fish options. I have attached a photo of my incredibly attractive plate of fish and a poached egg. I have stayed at some wonderful, much smaller, hotels that have made a real joy out of breakfast, stressing local produce and providing various options. None of that here. A real missed opportunity. On the basis of breakfast we steered well clear of other offerings from the restaurant. Coffee could do with being left on the table.

Bizarrely, on our second morning there we found a wheelie-bin on our table. What on earth? It was an advertising gimmick for a bin company. Either rude to guests or misjudged humour, I really couldn't tell.

Balcony - Room had a balcony but could only fit one chair on it and heaven help you if you scooted back by accident as the feet would have been straight over the edge. You'd have been safe due to railings, but heart failure a possible risk!

Heating - Areas of the downstairs rooms were freezing and our room struggled at times. A portable radiator had been provided to help.

Niggles - Two people in a twin room yet only one set of toiletries. Two bottles of water left in the room, but not replenished throughout the stay. TV reception very poor and fuzzy. No digital reception.

Essentially, what I found so very frustrating was that this has the potential to be a truly remarkable, experience hotel, a 'cant' miss' hotel. At the moment this potential is being woefully underused and this is a desperate shame.

I will just end by saying: the staff? The staff are great.

Room Tip: It's an upgrade for a sea view of £30 a night per room. If you like a view, it's a spectact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kttravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and for your kind words. We do strive to ensure all guests enjoy their stay with us. Your comments have been noted and passed to the relevant departments.

Again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay. A nice hotel with very friendly staff in a superb location. Quirky in nature and with bags of character I can imagine that this would be idyllic in the summer. However during our stay the weather was very cold, hardly the fault of the hotel, but the single glazing In the bedrooms meant that whilst we weren't cold we weren't as warm as we might have been even with the radiator on maximum. In the morning the windows were streaming with condensation. The rooms are of a decent size, the bathroom perhaps a little small but clean nonetheless albeit rather dated. We also found the public areas, particularly the bar to be chilly evidenced by the fact that we didn't see anybody use this area during our stay. The reception area was however warmer albeit the log fire wasn't even in use. The hotel is slightly better than average but certainly not 'VERY good' and hence the 3 star rating. The footpath down to the village is not suitable for the elderly or infirm so if you meet either of these criteria you would need to use your car. Would we stay again? Yes, for sure but at at warmer time of year. The restaurant food was good but we did think the wines to be pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for you review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed our 'quirky' hotel and the fabulous views and food at Millers at the Tors.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing