We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and magnificent views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb food and magnificent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on a 2 day midweek break. The hotel is magnificently furnished with a number of sitting rooms packed full of objets d'art. There is even a cinema room (though that was not available on our stay). The owners have only been here a year and are gradually modernising. Not all the bedrooms are complete yet, but we stayed in an unmodernised comfortable room with a superb sea view (129). Sure, there are a few draughts from the windows (offset by powerful heating) and the curtains are a little frayed, but the kingsize bed was excellent and frankly that is the key ingredient for us. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, but the highlight for us was the food. For a set price of £35 each, we had some of the best food we've ever had. Add to that the fact that we only had to pay £30 each, plus a free bottle of house wine by booking the dinner at the time of booking). We would recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: Ask for any of the sea-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great hotel generally with very good food but please make sure that you check the price of evening meals before partaking thereof, or you might have a nasty shock on receipt of your final bill, as we did. There are no prices shown on the evening menu, which I feel is out of order, with hindsight we should have queried this omittance. Although the food was of a high standard, we had paid only half this cost at the nearby Millers Bistro Hotel in Porlock. There seemed to be a inordinate amount of flies around the hotel, a matter which needs urgent attention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraB186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest, I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay - I look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

INSECT INFESTATION
I emailed the owner, in August as he appeared to be personally involved in this venture and the local manager didnt seem to want to know. I have given up waiting for a reply from anyone and copy part of it as follows.

You have an insect infestation that that has not been resolved. Under certain weather conditions millions of small black flies hatch. It would appear that this is a known problem and that your reaction is to get a contractor to kill them then. It does not appear that prevention methods have been used such as silicone sealing all the cracks and then steaming out the usual breeding grounds, i.e. inside the back of the washbasin pedestal and down the overflow pipes plus any other orifices. Elsewhere in the world I find this is a standard and have always used this on any old houses I have owned. The Manager and a senior cleaner both blamed the problem on the weather and assumed no doubt my bad luck in being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

On the night of the 16th we barely slept due to adult flies and killed about ten. We shut the window in the bathroom ( that was decrepit and in need of maintenance ) in case they were getting in there.

On the morning of 17th I explained to reception and asked them to rid my room of flies. During the night every surface started to be covered with dead baby flies so we shut the bathroom door as they were coming into the bedroom.

On the morning of 18th the bathroom was totally covered with a plague of thousands of baby flies on every surface as photographs attached show. We were unable to wash or use the toilet. My wife was nearly in tears and totally disgusted as was I. I went down and told reception but then saw the manager passing through in a hurry and approached him. He appeared to know that my room had that problem and casually explained it was due to the weather and that room. I explained that we had no toilet and washing facilities whatsoever and he said someone will be with me shortly and then rushed off without apology or offering alternative facilities. I returned to the room and my wife and I waited for twenty minutes and nobody turned up. As we were about to miss breakfast we went down to the restaurant. On our return there was a cleaner who was removing the flies and who appeared familiar with this on-going problem. She said that a specialist would be coming in the

afternoon and confirmed that it was the weather to blame for our inconvenience. I was expecting to be approached by the manager but never saw him again.

INADEQUATE PARKING

Your location is isolated and requires reserved parking spaces. Without this we were caught returning and finding nowhere to park. My osteo arthritis does not allow me to park below and walk up nor did I pay to do this. The only response from your reception desk was basically to go away and come back a little later especially as you chef would be moving his car! I went to the newly laid path outside the ground floor and physically removed the builder’s equipment enabling my car to barely get onto the new path. I then told the reception where I was parked

The wonderful location, hotel public spaces, restaurent and food are stupendous and second to none. Shame about the management.
What a ruined holiday!

Room Tip: Dont be responsible for their cleanliness and fly problem that they accept in August. Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishermanNeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
may i firstly state myself or the owner did not receive an e-mail from you as rest assured we ALWAYS reply,i didnt speak to you personally but was informed of your situation,when told we at once contacted rentokil who came that day, it was an isolated incident in just the one room, it was not an infestation,as you will read in all our reviews our CLEANLINESS, is above reproach, we pride ourselves in this matter. I am surprised it has taken 4 months to put on your review, as if i had read this earlier i would have certainly invited you back for a complimentary stay to show you that the one off matter had been swiftly resolved . we strive very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy there stay with us, and regret yours did not live up to your expectations.

Assuring you of our best attentions at all times


Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

nice staff very friendly and helpful, great position with fabulous view, good breakfast and very good dinner.

the bedroom was clean and comfortable, the public areas are quirky and full of stuff, lots of hidden places to sit . Really liked the little conservatory area built into the hillside-very quirky and a nice place to sit and read.

free WI-FI a plus.as was being able to take the dogs.

Would definitely recommend and return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a great stay, and that you enjoyed the food, staff and our stunning views.

We look forward to welcoming you and your dog back soon.

Once again many thanks for your kind comments

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thank you to the Millar family for a wonderful stay at the Tors Hotel Lynmouth. Wonderfully quirky hotel interior, comfy, cosy and friendly, with amazing decked terrace looking out to sea. Beautiful view from our sea facing room.

Excellent service and location but WOW - the food in the restaurant was nothing short of spectacular. One of the best meals I have ever had. Lynmouth is small and we exhausted the things to do on foot but I would MOST DEFINITELY come back to this hotel just for the food! (breakfast in the morning but superb as well!).

A hidden gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our 'quirky' style. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another great meal with us.

Again many thanks

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a 'Living Social' 2 day break at the Tors Hotel on the 23rd October 2012.
The location of the hotel is very good, we liked Lynton & Lynmouth very much.
On arrival we were welcomed by a very pleasant man on reception. He kindly upgraded us to a sea view room which was spacious with a lovely view, it was a very nice room with a very comfortable double bed.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent! The staff were polite and helpful. The food was rather expensive but well cooked and good presentation. I wish there had been more fish selection though.
I did feel that there was an overload of antiques in the downstairs rooms which was rather claustrophobic, less would have been better. Also, the conservatory was rather disappointing, with a poor outlook. The swimming pool was out of use which did not matter this time of the year, but it should have been hidden from view as it was not a very nice site.
Overall, it is a good hotel which I feel would be very attractive in the summer as there were smart outdoor furniture on a nice terrace. When the alterations are finished, I think it will be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Eccentric, charming, great location - all absolutely true but couple of issues to be addressed before perfect.
Entrance ! Arrived in pouring rain in the dark - took first sign Tors Hotel. Big Mistake - almost went home at that point. That entrance is 2nd carpark - very tight parking - entry by code only - tried to ring Hotel - NO SIGNAL AREA!!!. Persevered and went back to main road and found
proper entrance - allelujah! Charming, idiosyncratic and quirky in a nice way. Rooms due to be refurbed - cant wait. Waited and waited for waiter to bring menus and take order - food excellent! My
partner wasn't feeling great and wanted something easy and plain but no deviation from menu was offered, what a pity no empathy. Will go again - just hope food offerings a bit more flexible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beechcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing