We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star - no way”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Martin Miller's Tors hotel last night - what a surprise. From the outside it looks like a standard 3 star hotel - until you see the elegant statues of 2 gorillas greeting you at the entrance and i am not referring to the friendly and efficient reception staff! Martin Miller has taken over this hotel and is in the process of creating a real style gem and his infectious enthusiasm has rubbed off on all the staff. The place has a great buzz about it . The food is superb - if you like filet steak with pepper sauce you won'nt find a better version in the UK. We were there on a fairly cold wednesday night in september and the place was buzzing . The town is charming and this is a hotel not to miss - it wont be long before the professionals realise how good this is so strike now before it is truely discovered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I went for a weekend with my stepmother and spaniel! It rained for most of the time but the trip was saved by the great food and warm welcome from the staff. Very dog friendly, to the point I'm told ,they are making doggie beds ...... four posters! Whatever next? Owned by the wonderfully eccentric Martin Miller who opened the " Art Bar" at The Manor in Lynmouth that weekend. Completely wacky!

Room Tip: If you are on the riverside of the hotel, keep your window closed ..... Loud sound of rushing water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to know that you (and your spaniel!) enjoyed you stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to continue enjoy the unique Miller style, both at the Tors and the Art Bar.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited the restaurant for an evening meal. Given the choices in Lynmouth, it was one of the best meals we had during our b/h stay.
The 3 course meal for £30 proved to be superb value. The food quality was very good, presentation and taste was excellent.
I would highly recommend the restaurant, they did children menus as well. The service was excellent and attentive. We spent all the evening in the hotel, enjoying the superb views and varied , interesting decor of the lounge rooms.
The Terrace menu looked good value as well, on a par to some of the local pub food prices.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Boardiesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am very pleased that your recent meal with us was enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back to Millers at the Tors soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We can't recommend a trip to The Tors enough. It's part of the Millers Hotels group that includes 2 places in Porlock (just down the road in Somerset) and a recently acquired, and currently being renovated, Manor House in Lynmouth. Owned by Martin Miller who founded the eponymous antiques guides, these places really are something different. We were lucky to find Mr Miller in residence and he enthusiastically went through his plans with us. Very entertaining. The service was delightful and the food well up to standard. Enough! Just go

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your great comments. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return in the near future.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went to the Tors for a two night break Wednesday & Thursday at the end of August. Driving into Lynmouth down Countisbury Hill there is a small turning leading down a narrow lane to the upper car park. This car park has space for maybe a dozen cars and from there you can get the lift down to the ground floor. You will still have to carry bags through a couple of lounge rooms to reach reception. We went to the lower park which is more clearly signposted. There are about 20 little steps up to the hotel level and a short walk to the front door. Along the way you pass a gorilla and a sheep eating sweets and above the entrance there are two more gorillas. The lounge area is full of antiques and artifacts and really makes you want to lounge.
The outside terrace with superb view is finished but the small pool and some other areas are still being worked on. Check in at Reception was friendly and efficient. We had a Countisbury room with a partial view of the sea (210).It is on the left side as you look at the hotel. The front facing rooms are more expensive obviously but bigger and better. Our room was clean and bright and, looking across a flat roof, we had a nice view. The room is a reasonable size and would cost about £120 for a night. The bathroom is functional, clean and bright with a good pressure shower. We went up the stairs lined with prints and pictures and insect collections. At various places there are lounges with little bowls of sweets to suck while you wonder at the splendor of the place. With heavy bags you could use the lift of course. The restaurant has wonderful views and the menu has some good choices for a 3 course meal for £30.00 a head. As we only had 2 nights we went down to Lynmouth, an easy 5 minute walk down a well lit zig -zag path. The hotel bar is very relaxing and comfortable with a 'terrace menu' which seemed very reasonable. Breakfast was filling and of course the view over Lynmouth was incredible. Martin Miller, of antiques guide and Miller's gin and lots of other things fame, the owner. We chatted with him briefly while we were on the terrace watching the surfers down below. He seemed , like the hotel, friendly,relaxed, approachable and amusing. Of course the location is the big plus point. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and your meal in our restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for the bank holiday weekend and had a lovely stay.
The decor in the main areas, was welcoming and interesting. The bedroom while slightly dated was extremely clean and well thought out with the most amazing view. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the food served in the restaurant beautifully cooked.
Couldn't praise the staff enough, they were courteous and helpfull and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities such as clean and spacious rooms, excellent food quality and above all a very friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Millers at the Tors soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The position, overlooking Lynmouth and the sea, is fantastic. The antique and quirky furnishings and decor of the hotel are fascinating to explore, especially if you like antiques. (linked to the Millers antiques guide person.) Very comfortable public areas. Restaurant dining. Rooms comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. A very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enid55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the unique Miller's style! We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another stay soon, again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
10.4 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: $107 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing