We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay..”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The position, overlooking Lynmouth and the sea, is fantastic. The antique and quirky furnishings and decor of the hotel are fascinating to explore, especially if you like antiques. (linked to the Millers antiques guide person.) Very comfortable public areas. Restaurant dining. Rooms comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. A very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enid55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the unique Miller's style! We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another stay soon, again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have just returned from an absolutely fabulous bank holiday weekend at Tors Hotel.
The hotel sits in 5 acres of woodland in a majestic setting overlooking Lynmouth Bay so the views from the rooms are breathtaking.
It has been bought by Martin Miller, a brilliant and experienced hotelier who also owns The Anchor and Miller's Bistro at nearby Porlock.
From the moment we checked in I knew we were in for a real treat.The staff were incredibly efficient and friendly and were particularly wonderful with our 12 year old son and his friend.
Our room was spotless, light and airy with crisp white linens and a covered balcony so you could sit out in all weathers.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and then ventured to The Anchor for dinner on the second. The food was superb in both. Locally sourced and cooked to perfection. A really great wine list and fantastic value.
There were all sorts of guests, from families to couples on romantic getaways and the best thing about the hotel is that it caters for all. It would be a fantastic place for a big family celebration or a group of friends wanting a weekend away.
The public areas are filled to bursting with antiques and curiosities from the Millers collection with cosy sofas around fireplaces and books galore. The ballroom doubles up as a little cinema and Ron the manager very kindly sorted out a film for the boys to watch with other kids soon joining in.The boys were able to be pretty free range which was great for them and us! Just below the hotel is a tennis court and an 18 hole putting course and the walking from the hotel is out of this world. We walked along the river to Watersmeet and had a great cream tea in the beautiful National Trust cafe. This is my first ever Trip Advisor review as I can never usually be bothered, but Tors deserves the effort and the praise. As we drove off, our son said " Thanks guys, that was awesome!" Says it all really!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenVBruton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your meal at our sister hotel. It gives us great pleasure and satisfaction to know that the hard work we put in is being rewarded. We look forward to welcoming you and your son back to the hotel soon, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

With 3 kids we took a "Countisbury" room for all 5 of us. Decor and furnishings from 1970-something I guess! Windows only open an inch (no doubt for 'safety') but this left the room unbearably hot. That said it is quite good value. The hotel is being upgraded having been bought by the Miller family (as in Millers antique guides). All the public rooms have been "Miller-ized" which means they are stuffed with sort-of antiques and car boot sale junk! One of the more amusing books I found was a DIY guide to maintaining your Ford Escort! Staff are all pleasant and room cleaners did a perfect job. The beauty of the Tors Hotel is its stunning elevated location overlooking Lynmouth - the new terrace providing the perfect view. One downside for us was that the pool was shut - and with 3 kids, the pool was a major reason for booking this hotel. We didn't receive any notification that it would be closed which was poor management. Once all the rooms have been remodelled and staff numbers and service levels sorted out, this will once again be a great hotel. I am sure we will return one day, but not with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Our staff all work hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay and receiving comments like yours make it all worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back to Millers at the Tors soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I loved our time at the Tors, it rained all day, every day (we stayed 4 nights) but the view was still splendid, staff wonderfully happy and helpful and the food good. Our room, 301 had amazing view with a balcony to sit and admire over a glass of wine in the evening, the bed was very comfortable, room clean with new flatscrean TV with DVD player, it did seem a little dated in places (old hairdryer, well worn carpet) but im told that updating is planned as the hotel is under new ownership.

The downstairs is just enthralling, with all the antiques and curiosities, life size sheep statues, gorillas on the roof! the cinema room was a lovely addition (they do a meal and movie night which seemed like a great deal (£11) although we didn’t know about it, before hand but did see others enjoying it) as was the large deck outside the hotel to continue to admire the setting. In the evening when the candles are lit and the lights dimmed the atmosphere was relaxing and cosy as the rain beat down.
I’m looking forward to staying again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family, though the style in the public areas may not be to everyone taste, it is at the very least, unique and interesting with stunning views and very good serivce

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowsky857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review, it is important to receive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully with some better weather!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel is situated on the side of a hill overlooking Lynmouth and its harbour, which is about a ten minute walk away either down a zigzag path or a rear road (would not advise using the main road that passes the hotel as it does not have a pavement, and traffic does come down the hill at speed). When we arrived we received a very friendly and warm welcome at Reception, and after registering we were shown to our room. The room (115) was situated on the first floor and overlooked the surrounding valley hills of Lynton. However, attached to the room was a small seating area located in a turret from which could be viewed Lynmouth and its harbour. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable, and had numerous books and novels dotted about. This seemed to be a feature of the hotel as books were located just about everywhere you looked. The public areas were equally cosy and comfortable, and there were spectacular views of the surrounding hills and sea from both the restaurant and terrace. The hotel also offered free national telephone calls, although we never made use of this facility. Those wishing to use the pool would be advised to contact the hotel prior to booking, as it was out of use during our visit. Breakfast was freshly cooked, and was served piping hot. Overall I would highly recommend a stay at the Tors Hotel, or if just passing pop in for a meal or a drink and make the most of the views.

Room Tip: Room 115 has a turreted siting room with views over the harbour and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our staff all work hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay and receiving kind comments make it all worthwhile.

Once again thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have just returned from a two-night stay at the Hotel, which is positioned above Lynmouth and so the views - as you can see from the piccies, are rather wonderful - the terrace and restaurant are a fantastic spot for looking out over Lynmouth and the sea, and the sunset that we saw was stunning. The Room was clean and orderly, some of the fixtures are a little dated and it isnt boutique or high-end in that respect, however it was comfortable and pleasant in the room with nice big sash windows and the sounds of watersmeet rivers outside. The lounge areas, restaurant and terrace were very classically old-school hotel style but with lots of bric-a-brac ornaments and tonnes of books everywhere - even in the loos! It wasnt my cup of tea in terms of style but I found it quite endearing and 'eccentric'. Breakfast was satisfactory with an obvious selection of the usual, and the cooked brekkie was good quality and generous. Evening meal was fine - again, what i would expect from this type of hotel.
I was travelling with my very active and crazy 23 month old, but the staff were very accommodating and helpful (except there are tonnes of bowls of toffees all over the lounges which was hard work keeping my daughters hands out of!) Staff were friendly and welcoming. Basically, if you want a Mr and Mrs Smith style boutique hotel then this wont impress you, but if you want somewhere cosy and easy-going whilst visiting this quaint little village then you will not be offended by what is on offer. If you go and hate it then I apologise in advance for leading you astray!? p.s The walk down into Lymouth is via a 5-minute walk down a rather beaten track - not at all viable with a wheelchair or buggy. The only access with buggy or wheelchair is via the extremely steep roadside which has no path and is very unadvisable. So you will need to take your car into Lynmouth from the hotel if you are disabled, with buggies. (my daughter did enjoy the walk via the rugged path but I had to carry her for a good part of it so only do this if you are fit enough). Thanks All, happy travelling!

Room Tip: We had a standard twin room and the hotel supplied a clean and comfortable travel cot too - there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esmepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your great comments on our Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Recently spent the weekend at Tors hotel Lynmouth and I have to say I found my stay to be one of the best hotel experiences ever. The Hotel manager was very pleasant and welcoming and I felt he was very approachable as we're all the staff.

Our room had an beautiful sea view and the hotel in general felt very relaxing and confortable. At night time it had an intimate feel to parts of the hotel, A beautiful new built terrace overlooking the sea and Lynmouth which was fully lit with outdoor heaters and has plenty of seating were we enjoyed a drink at night and an outstanding meal in the day.

The chef cooked & prepared first class food which everybody I had spoken to at the hotel had mentioned how beautiful there meals had been during there stay. The staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant & happy & helpful.

The manager told us there had recently been a lot of work & money invested to get the hotel to the standard it is at now which has clearly paid off, just glad I wasn't staying there whilst the work was being done =)

All in all It's a unique hotel and very relaxing and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear VALUED Guest
May i on behalf of myself and our staff thank you for your kind comments, it means a GREAT DEAL TO US,knowing you enjoyed your stay with us and i look forward to seeing you again at Millers Tors Hotel.

Kind Regards

Ron Marks

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
10.4 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: $107 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing