We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

We did not stay at the hotel and judging by the other reviews we are glad we didn't. We have been to Lynmouth many times the last being in March 2007 when we enjoyed the food and drink and the company. However, on arriving for lunch in October 2010 we found the staff to be unhelpful, foreign and not able to converse with customers. The menu had nothing to tempt us as most was overpriced and not your normal pub type food. When will pubs stop acting like gourmet restaurants and be good honest english food inns! We just had a drink the left! Very overpriced for what it is and just because it is in such a good position doesn't mean they can overcharge everyone. We will be looking for a hotel to stay in next year but this will not be on the short list!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleighLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    108
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
47
314
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Very nice friendly hotel. This hotel is every thing you could expect from a typical old style English hotel and restaurant. The hotel is in an excellent position in lynmouth with a short walk to the cliff railway to Lynton. The rooms are quaint and well furnished in old style. The hotel has so much character you are transported in the pas as soon as you enter – but with very up to daet service . The restaurant was a really nice experience. Breakfast individually cook and served to your table – no buffet style – thank god. All in all my stay was comfortable and the price is very good – we will go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandIMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel is superbly sited on the harbourside in Lynmouth, in a charming 14th century building.
Whilst our room was perfectly acceptable and clean the en-suite facilities were totally inadequate.The room had no windows or extraction and was dirty and smelly.The shower was miniscule in a booth behind the washroom door.
The hotel prices itself in the premium bracket and is clearly not up to todays standards. We paid £120 pound a room a night for b&b and better accommodation was available locally for half this amount.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Its a two star hotel. The restaurant is full of tourists and prices therefore reflect that, they are unlikely to return often. They will remember Lynmouth rather than the specifics of the hotel.

So, given the above, the hotel was fine and the restaurant was fine. (Let down as usual by a tourist location employing cheap non english speaking staff.)

Accepted all the above and it was absolutely fine.

Reason for a long winded review, the crane lifting a boat out of the harbour at 0630 on a sunday morning!!!!!! Decided I couldn't blame the hotel for that until we found out it was one of the part owners boat.........................I will stop now....

Only stay here if none of the owners have a financial interest in aboat -:))

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had previously stayed in the area and eaten at the Rising Sun and had fond memories. On check in we were shown to our room by a pleasant and efficient receptionist. We walked through a very tired looking corridor and sitting room (grubby sofa and whole room looked unloved and in need of a clean) which all smelt of stale fish cooking. Our room was OK but looked quite dated and the bathroom and net curtains could have done with a deep clean. Toiletries provided smelled cheap and horrible. Downstairs the bar looked clean enough but was filled with flies and sweaty walkers. The bar staff were somewhat stony faced and unwelcoming. The restaurant staff were pleasant enough but English not being their first language led to a couple of misunderstandings plus a less than top class service ("what do you want" being a common question). Supervision and advice would have prevented this. The food was quite nice but for the price not really that superb and the wines were wincingly expensive for the quality. All in all the Rising Sun is living off its past reputation in a town that is very down at heel and feels quite expensive because of it. The reception staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotswoldian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Room exceptionall small for the money one of the most expensive hotels pre square foot we have ever stayed in. Carpet dirty- windows difficult to shut. Hardly any room to turn around in -quite scandulous to charge £60 per person per night.

Restaurant cramped too many tables on top of each other food OK but not worth the price.

Best meal we had was at the Bistro a couple of minutes walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenRosetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Beautiful pub in one of the best locations in Devon. Our room was perfect and the staff were extremely polite and efficient. The food in both the bar and restaurant is excellent, especially the fresh oysters. You must stay here and enjoy the view from the bar. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stato08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing