We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously relaxing weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have just stayed at the Rising Sun in Lynmouth last weekend and had a wonderful time, the staff were incredibly helpful, we were delayed getting out of London on the Friday night and missed last orders in the restaurant, but after a call to the hotel, a table was reserved in the bar and a hot meal provided which meant that after a stressful journey, we were able to relax as soon as we arrived, many thanks to a gentleman called Tim who assisted us with this! The hotel/pub has tons of character and our room had a great view and provided everything we required for a 'escape from it all break'. Can also highly recommend the food we ate both nights at the property and had super food. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room 10, with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 496 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

A beautiful fourteenth century thatched building with lovely, warm and friendly staff, sublime food and an excellent location. We booked in for two nights with hardly any notice and were lucky enough to get a room with a sea view. We were made extremely welcome by all the staff. The pub itself has a great atmosphere and the hotel is absolutely packed full of charm and character. Can't wait to visit again...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked a stay here off season with zero notice. Comfortable room with a beautiful view over the harbour and up the valley. Excellent food in the restaurant/bar, and an excellent breakfast the next morning (the coffee was the only thing that let it down slightly). Friendly staff and really good local atmosphere in the pub. Lovely place to stay as well, with terrific scenery nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the Pub/Hotel/Restaurant. The ascent to the rooms has to be seen to be believed with very narrow stairs and sloping corridors and rooms. The room was very traditional but comfortable, what you should expect of a 14th century building. The food and drink was excellent but not cheap, never the less offering good value for money. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly.
There are some fabulous walks in the area, eg, Watersmeet House, The Glen Lyn Gorge and The valley of the Rocks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayGee338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We never stayed in the hotel but visited the pub and ate so cannot comment on the accommodation. The setting is very good being right down by the harbour and the old charm of the place is excellent. We ate the cod and chips, as someone previously mentioned it was a little on the expensive side at £12.95 but I have to say that was the finest piece of cod I have ever eaten, the fillet was really flaky and the thickest I have ever seen along with a beautiful beer batter, the chips were what I call "real chips" cooked beautifully. Looking around at other meals being served the crab dishes looked amazing so i'll be trying that on my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a 14th Century Inn right next to Lynmouth harbour. Being so old it has narrow steep uneven stairs which may cause an issue for the less mobile.
However it is absolutely old English charming, yet at the same time the room we were staying in was very well equipped and beautifully presented. There was a lovely sea view, and even if you don't opt for a sea view there is a sitting room on an upper level (have to admit to losing my bearings) which has view.
Had excellent evening meal in the very small restaurant which made the stay all the more special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at another hotel in Lynmouth but went to the Rising Sun for dinner one evening.Its a lovely pub very old and picturesque but we had fish and chips which were nice but vastly overpriced at £12.95 when the hotel a couple of doors down was doing them for half of that.
What spoiled it for us though was the landlady who stood at the bar gossiping with her mates and loudly talking about their evenings out and how many times they had been sick on there way home in great detail!!!.Not very nice when you are eating and not very proffesional !!! let alone in a pub that expensive.
Try somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobsmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: $170 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing