We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$157
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
$128
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$128
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$184
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
319
128
39
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
128
39
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrising sunthe puboysterscrabthatched rooflow ceilingssea viewbar menugreat atmosphererestaurant was fully bookedexmoor goldclub sandwichsmall harbourweekend breaksitting roomthe cliffhome made
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 522 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a 14th Century Inn right next to Lynmouth harbour. Being so old it has narrow steep uneven stairs which may cause an issue for the less mobile.
However it is absolutely old English charming, yet at the same time the room we were staying in was very well equipped and beautifully presented. There was a lovely sea view, and even if you don't opt for a sea view there is a sitting room on an upper level (have to admit to losing my bearings) which has view.
Had excellent evening meal in the very small restaurant which made the stay all the more special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at another hotel in Lynmouth but went to the Rising Sun for dinner one evening.Its a lovely pub very old and picturesque but we had fish and chips which were nice but vastly overpriced at £12.95 when the hotel a couple of doors down was doing them for half of that.
What spoiled it for us though was the landlady who stood at the bar gossiping with her mates and loudly talking about their evenings out and how many times they had been sick on there way home in great detail!!!.Not very nice when you are eating and not very proffesional !!! let alone in a pub that expensive.
Try somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobsmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well stay in this room if you pay much less than £130/night, and like black mould around the very small shower. The current pictures are not of this room, be warned! I did not see any other rooms so may be OK. I will try to upload pics and video of The Luxury Bathroom. The only thing is this is a marvelous area, stunning scenery. We were offered another room but as only there one more night could not be bothered to move as the room to move to was in the annexe and apparently smaller. At the time we could get no internet signal so could not check pics online, should not have paid full bill in hindsight.

Room Tip: Not Room 3, ask for details of sizes of rooms here if you are of larger build or infirm.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent three nights at this old inn, whilst exploring Exmoor and surrounding areas. Had one meal in the bar and one in the restaurant, both excellent, but make sure you book prior to your visit or when you book in, as it gets very busy. Our room (9) was on the third floor and was well worth the adventure of getting to it via narrow corridors, steep narrow stairs and sloping floors; once there it was a comfortable, clean and cosy. There were views of the thatched roof, but you could just see the sea, and the dawn skies were spectacular. There was a small, tall modern bath with shower attachment. Some of these features may be a bit tricky for elderly or infirm guests but the whole place suited us perfectly. There is no car park but plenty of parking near by. It comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for near to 15 years now. Rarely missed a year. Just stayed in Shelley's cottage with our dog for the first time (taking the dog and shelleys cottage). Lovely to be able to take the dog and he was left in his crate during dinner. Food was awesome as usual.The thing I love most about the place is it the one place I have been where I can truely relax. No mobile access, nothing. Beautiful location and very olde worldly hotel. That is my two-penneth. In answer to some criticisms on this sight though here are my thoughts. Too many dogs in the bar? Sometimes there can be but it is a small bar and if you allow dogs then you can't limit the number. Dogs on the table? That is not the fault of the hotel, that is a crap owner. Food prices ? Not cheap but in line with other local establishments. To be fair they are pretty good considering the location and quality (and portion sizes). Small rooms ?? This one made me laugh, its a collection of several hundred year old thatched fishing cottages linked together. Of course some are small and odd. Thats the attraction of the place. Each room is so different that they would need a seperate price per room which is daft. Luck of the draw or book early. Miserable staff ? Never when I have been there but I guess anyone can have an off day. Drinks are dear but they are everywhere. This is not a wetherspoons. You have to decide is this the sort of place you are looking for. If not then go elsewhere in Lynmouth, there are many other great places.

My one thought would be to have a sperate bar menu with different meals at slightly reduced prices as the bar area is more cramped and bustling and food prices should probably reflect this. Obviously still offer the restaurant menu at normal price but provide alternatives (they used to). Other than that, I love the place. If you want spacious, bright and clinical then go elsewhere. If you want quircky, unusual, quaint, magical then this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews