We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Cornwall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely meal & staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were staying in Lynton & our hotel didn't have anything on their menu that my, undeniably fussy, husband could eat.
We were lucky enough to book the last table in the restaurant. We'd checked it out earlier and I thought it might be a touch dark, but with the lighting & candlelight later the dining room looked lovely. The bar was full & the atmosphere really good. Lots of tourists, but also locals - a good sign.

We had good banter with the bar staff before we were shown through. The gent who took us through the menu was honest about the size of the meals (huge some of them) and totally efficient. Shelley was lovely & looked after us well. The whole restaurant team were brilliant.

We've been to Lynton & Lynmouth a number of times, next time we'll stay at the Rising Sun as well to save the walk back up the hill!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    111
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
47
321
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Yet another glorious weekend spent here at The Rising Sun Hotel. Having Shelleys Cottage is like a little esape from the world. Sitting in the basking sunshine on your own patio, looking up the valley is priceless.

As always the food is amazing, the selection of platters is definately a must. Be warned though, they are for two!

If you do have to park in the large car park, beware not to park alongside the cliff edge at the end. The wild goats do tend to shift the boulders onto your car!!!

Thank you to all the staff, always go that extra mile to make the break more enjoyable.

Room Tip: It's got to be Shelleys Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked a single night here together with a meal for my wife's birthday and we were both so happy to have picked this hotel out of the few in Lynmouth.

The hotel itself is in a 14th Century building and the decor is perfectly suited to the period. The room (we were in sea view room 12) was clean, tidy and comfortable. The bar has some great local ales and some exceptional Somerset ciders. The meal was lovely and the taste of the fresh fish/seafood was sumptuous. My wife is a vegetarian so we were a little worried about what we may find for her as she also doesn't eat fish; but she was very happy with the dishes available to her. One lovely touch was the complimentary home made bread/bread rolls which were delicious! The staff were also more than happy to oblige.

A great find, great ale/cider, great location, great views, great hotel!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharkBaitRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in Lynmouth last October in a different place and I ate in the pub at The Rising Sun. I quite liked the very old building so when I was recently in the area I decided to stay there. It is an expensive choice for what you get. You can get far cheaper in the rest of the village and still go to the pub for drinks and food. Having said that, TRS building does have character dating back to the 15th century or so. I am a little tight fisted so did not pay for a seaview. My room was up at the back of the building up 2 flights of stairs. Some things were broken in the room such as the electric heater in the bathroom and during the night the power went off to my part of the building. It was reset just before breakfast. Breakfast was ok but it seemed everybody arrived to breakfast at the same time. Would I stay here again? No, I would stay at one of the substantially cheaper B&B's locally but I would come back here to eat at the bar. I found the restaurant to be a little pokey and claustrophobic. As a cyclist, Lynmouth is an excellent base if you enjoy steep hills and I do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pubcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

In terms of dining options, the hotel offers both an old world pub environment or an excellent restaurant. We tried and enjoyed both, but would highly recommend the restaurant in particular - advisable to book as it is very popular. Excellent food and service. The accommodation proved to be very comfortable, and the hotel is located in a pleasant spot with good views of the quayside. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would re-visit without hesitation.

Room Tip: Front room, for good view of the harbour/quayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at The Rising Sun for my wife's birthday and it was the perfect treat.
The 15th century Inn overlooks the harbour at Lynmouth and has fantastic sea and countryside views.
We had a seaview room which was quite small but very well furnished, with all the facilities one would expect. The bar is a proper "olde worlde" one, popular with locals and tourists alike, serving well kept beers, ciders, wines and spirits.
The restaurant is comfortable and serves excellent seafood and good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes with a decent wine list. All the food we had was very good and the service was of a high standard. The breakfast was also excellent.
This is a really good base to explore North Devon and perfect for a treat. The only criticisms could be that being a medieval building rooms are a little cramped and stairs are narrow and steep, so not suitable for elderly or disabled. Also the only parking is public, which although right outside gets very busy in summer. However it is free after 6pm!
Altogether an excellent establishment which we would thoroughly recommend to sea and country loving types or for a romantic retreat.....we will certainly return!

Room Tip: Seaview room are more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived at Lynmouth a little concerned about parking - it was 1st July and the Hotel doesnt have any parking. Not a problem Lynmouth has ample secure parking and no Dracula like traffic wardens. Our room had a wonderful sea view and easy access. We had B&B booking but ate in the restuarant each night. On the first night we had Lobster and Crevettes - absolutely wonderful and only £16.50 each what value.

All reasonably priced and good. Service very attentive and the whole place very clean.

Room Tip: We had room 15 an really confortable modern room - not the biggest but really pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing