We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very atmospheric, good if you Like Cosy hobbit sized room and bed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very atmospheric, good if you Like Cosy hobbit sized room and bed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Waitress and other staff friendly although bar man deff not welcoming! Room very small and cold on arrival, took ages to warm up. The room was clean but slightly fousty which made me very allergic. I never moan or complain but felt compelled to having spent alot of money to stay here would not recommend or return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    109
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
47
310
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in here on a off chance, and ended up staying for 2 nights. We had been here before and eaten, in high season, so knew that the food was good. Room had view on the sea and up valley, huge bed and bathroom obviously recently redecorated. (Watch bare skin on towel rail when exiting shower!) Really impressed with room, food, and location. Old building so winding stairs, gave the place a very old romantic feel. E Food is great here, plenty of fish, although the food and bar are not cheap. Breakfast also better than expected. Being out is season just a few couples here, suited us just fine. Walked up the valley and then back down the SW path, beautiful scenery and had the place to ourselves. Great relaxing couple of days and made to feel very welcome. Recommend stay here! Would definitely go again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Never_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband had picked this out and as it is usually me that does the bookings I wasn't hoding out much hope! I was totally surprised when it turned out to be an excellent place to stay with a very cosy modern room overlooking the water up the rickety stairs. It was a Friday night and the bar was very full with the locals but we joined them and were welcomed. The food was extremely delicious and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have been coming here for quite a few years now, usually stopping for a night or two on the way to Cornwall. We love the hotel, its oldness, its uneven floors, banging your head on your way up to bed is a pleasure ! We always ask for a seaview room, well worth the extra money. [ it is quite expensive mind]. This time we noticed the room had been refurbished, well appointment comfy and with that lovely view. If you are coming and want to eat here always book in advance for the restaurant. If you chance it you will probably be disappointed.The food is good. We have always found the service to be friendly and welcoming. We recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pistols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Some places transport you to another dimension...a magical space. It doesn't happen often. My husband and I felt fabulous at this beautiful old hotel and in this amazing countryside. Our clean room was very tastfully appointed with a view of the river and ocean. The tides are extreme here and the river was a wonder to watch as the boats floated and then grounded. The old tavern was warm, delicious and lovely. We found it completely charming! I couldn't stop taking photos on our nearby coastal hike.
We were visiting from Laguna Beach, California. After my husband finished some business in London, he "dragged" me to this hotel in Lynmouth that he had found on the Internet. I complained all the way there...it is too far, too remote, etc. I am so happy he prevailed...we plan on returning this June ....only this time we are going to hike for a few days. The coastline is breathtaking! Originally, we were going to go to Spain to hike part of the El Camino de Santiago, but after hearing how crowded it gets there and also how most of it is on or near paved roads with traffic, we changed course. As it turns out, nearby Minehead was a departure point in the early 1800's for the El Camino de Santiago pilgrimage. We realized there are many paths we could take and this one is the less travelled.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyousneedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

As we are local we use the pub for food often, but have never eaten in the restaurant or stayed until now, We stayed here for a night just before Christmas and it was fantastic. The location is right on the front where you can walk to everywhere. The hotel has a welcoming, warm and cosy feel, with a log fire. Our room was a decent size considering the age of the building, beautifully decorated, clean and modern. The shower room was excellent.

The food is always excellent and the service in the restaurant was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights this November and its was fantastic. The location of The Rising Sun is right on the beach front where you can walk to everywhere. The hotel has a proper warm and cosy feel, being November in Devon you need this ! The room was large,clean and modern but had an euthentic feel about it. Bathroom was even large enough for the travel cot ! There was plenty of choice for breakfast and we couldnt fault the service. We will definatley be returning next year and recommend you take a visit to lovely Lynmouth and The Rising Sun.

Just one tip is to shop around the net for prices as they seemed to vary. We saved 100 pounds with bookings.com

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keefandkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing