We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, basic bed and breakfast”
Review of The Bath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bath Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, basic bed and breakfast”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arrived late with nothing booked and we were found a suitable room for us and our dog. The room was basic and the decor a little dated but the room was very clean and had all the basics.

The following morning whilst we couldn't eat in the restaurant with our dog we were given a table in the bar where our dog was welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    80
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
122
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been here a few times just for food and drink. Stopped eating here over a year ago as the food was truly awful.
The burger seemed the cheapest possible meat and chips/garlic bread tasted of fish!!
Other couples we have been with all said the same about their respective meals and no one finished their plate.
Good for beer, pool and music but that's about it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leefromdanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxulyan, Cornwall
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The room was a delight with views over the harbour and we could see Wales on the horizon. It was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was very small but again it was spotless and there was a good shower over the bath. Breakfast was quite wonderful in fact one of the best we've had in an English hotel. All of the staff were so helpful. We would love to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here a few times and manager was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. clean and friendly and when cold there is a fantastic roaring fire. breakfasts were top notch. great views and lynmouth is beautiful. cannot wait to go down and stay again

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is the best
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sallyweeks1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Didn't actually stay in one of the rooms but thought the food was so good that wanted to leave a review. We had spent the day in Lynmouth and wanted to have dinner there to end the day, we had looked around and if I'm honest we didn't really like the look of the restaurant I think it was called The Gallery and Bar at the hotel, but it was well situated and it started to rain so we took the plunge and I'm glad we did there were what looked like two Italian brothers running the restaurant and bar which in my experience Italians know how to cook so we were in for a treat. The menu was a laminated card but with plenty of "pub classics" of it to choose from we ordered a chilli, a lasagne and fish and chips and a jacket potato and every single meal was superb, then for dessert the choice was again a little dated and basic but again every one was a huge portion and very tasty. If you like simple food, home cooked and well then you won't go wrong here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rusdevcobann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a wedding. The room was on the small size for a double with old fashioned decour. I was rather disappointed after we realised there was only a bath in the bathroom, even though there was plenty of room to put a shower in. As we were in a rush to get ready in the morning I really didn't want to have a bath and the bath tub was rather old, grubby and stained and I did not enjoy it at all. There was no ventilation in the room so after myself and my boyfriend both having a bath the room was humid and stuffy and I didn't want to have a window open too much as people on the street outside could see in easily. This might seem a strange thing to fixate on but for me it is important and I was desperate to get out of the room and I had to go to the hotel of another member of the bridal party to get ready and I was really annoyed.
In general the staff were friendly, the breakfast was good. We had to pay to use wifi (which could only be used in the downstairs seating area) which seems a bit cheeky, I have stayed in plenty of hostels which charge half as much for a room but still provide free wifi.
Overall it was fine but I was to stay in the area again I would look elsewhere for a hotel with better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deckchair26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

we sayed there on speck for two nights as part of touring holiday. We were given a choice of two rooms, one £20 dearer than the other, and had a look at the rooms first before deciding. while the cheaper room looked adequate the dearer room was well worth the bit extra. Good size with a lovely view. There are lots of steep stairs in this hotel and I didnt see a lift anywhere so Id question the suitablility for anyone with difficulty in walking. There is also only a couple of points in the hotel where wifi workes, and you can forget about your mobile phone.. so id thats important to you - beware!

good breakfast, pleasent and professional staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Hotel

Property: The Bath Hotel
Address: Harbourside | Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bath Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath hotel in Lynmouth offers spectacular sea views, excellent service and a warm welcome. With 20 en-suite rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast. We also have a selection of dog friendly rooms at the hotel. The Ancient Mariner bar serves food and drink all day from 10AM. With a children's menu available, free WiFi and it is dog friendly. The Aubrey Cocktail bar offers delicious speciality cocktails from 6PM every day to residents and non-residents. The Galley family room is open to residents and non-residents, serving local and seasonal food all day, dog friendly and great for families or big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Bath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Lynmouth
The Bath Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing