We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch”

The Rock House Harbourside Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stopped here for lunch and enjoyed it. We ate in the garden and both lunches were good value. Lovely views of charming town. A good place to have lunch

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wrappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    25
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Filled a gap, could not get out quick enough.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

An amazing location, sitting in the garden looking over the sea, it is a pity the rest of the experience did not manage to wow us.

It was very quite and on ordering in the bar I had not got a table number; my wife had not decided where to sit and was unavailable. If it was busy I would understand the insistence of a table number. Eventually the barman took my order.

The food was very disappointing, my wife had a pasty witch was on offer, a very large quantity of potato with very little meat. I had a burger, which was average, the best I can say is it filled gap. The frozen chips where cooked fine.

I ordered a cappuccino, this was poor. It turned out as a latté no froth.

Overall a very disappointing meal and could not get out quick enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful place to sit, and snack.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Rock House has a lovely garden, and since the weather was wonderful during our stay, we spent a little time here, for tea and scones. There's a meal menu, but we haven't tried that. We enjoyed the position, (lovely views) and the atmosphere. There was a singer/guitar player busking whilst we were there, and it made for a very pleasant experience. There are a number of very cheeky seagulls patrolling this garden. It was entertaining to watch them swoop down to steal the little pots of leftover jam, and cream when people left. I found it amusing, but I know some people are not seagull lovers. Overall, I would recommend a visit here. Food was nice, and as you see from the description above, relaxing ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly & Accomodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stopped to have some drinks and light bites and were very impressed by the kindness of the bar and kitchen staff who went out of their way to make us all feel welcome, especially to my fiancee's mum.
The portions of chips were very generous and we would thorougly recommend this place to others and visit again.
Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited here recently and was extremely impressed. Had a drink in the beer garden first which has amazing views over the beach. We then ate in the restaurant in the evening. Very nicely decorated and a good selection on ales, which my boyfriend was very happy with. the service was very good. the waiter was by himself but still very quick with taking orders and very helpful when it came to recommending ales and food. The food was very reasonably priced and excellent quality, I was very impressed. I would definably eat here again. Perfect after a long days walking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daydreamer743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock House Harbourside Restaurant also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Rock House Harbourside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing