We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We only had a drink but wished we had eaten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rising Sun Resturant

Rising Sun Resturant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We only had a drink but wished we had eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped for a drink, nice Prosecco at £3.95 a glass. Tried to book a table but they were full and couldn't guarantee what time a bar table would be available. We went to the Fish on Harbour to eat which was disappointing and returned for another drink to see lots of lovely looking food being served and wished we had waited to be served ! Staff were friendly , locals clearly support it and were pleasant too, such a convivial atmosphere sitting outside overlooking the harbour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyF361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    199
    81
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice local beers, pricey food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely Exmoor Ales, pretty well kept so a treat. Lovely to sit out the front on the walls drinking beer and watching the tide come in. However, food is OK but pretty pricey for Lynmouth. Much better fish and chips 30 metres away at the Esplanade Fish Bar for a third the price! Beer in one venue then food round the corner if you ask me!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a change!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We discovered The Rising Sun on our first trip to Lynmouth for many years. We had two meals in the restaurant which were excellent and served by attentive and helpful staff. What a change from many other establishments in the UK we have patronised. We suggest you book early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great choice of fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited twice with my wife on a recent holiday in Lynmouth. Fortunately I rang from home to book, as it was the earliest booking available was three days away, so we booked two nights, it's certainly worth planning in advance!
We really enjoyed the food, excellent fresh caught seafood, including lobster, crab and oysters, presented really well. Service was incredibly polite and friendly. Good choice of beers and ciders at the bar as well as an extensive wine list.
This is a 14th century pub, full of character with a great location. No, it's not cheap, but as long as you know that, you would expect to pay a little more for an evening of this quality

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigelharrison500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

A really lovely 'old-fashioned' pub. After a day's walking we were starving and stopped for a bar meal. The service was prompt and the food was delicious and well cooked. The steak was perfectly cooked and the accompaniments were perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun Resturant also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Rising Sun Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing