We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new meaning to B&B - Bouncy and Bright - the star of Lynmouth”
Review of East Lyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Lyn House
Ranked #4 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Paul and Barbara are the hosts to die for, Thier eight roomed B&B has a cosy character of its own and is well situated but nothing to match the warmness of the hosts. Be it at a black pudding breakfast to the warm cosy glow of an open fire late into the evening, they are the goods. They place you at your ease with a local yarn, topical information, delight in your news of the day, or year, or lifetime. Nothing was too much trouble. Being an Aussie, I appreciated their well stocked bar and often joined them for a nichtcap. They have off street parking as a bonus but you need to be aware a steep access drive. It is a test but Lynmouth is hill country. The final word loved the place but loved the people better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 355 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at East Lyn House with our 4 children (twins of 7 and twins of 18 months) and were made very welcome indeed. Paul and Barbra were really helpful , no request was too much. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was 10 out of 10. The setting is amazing . We loved sitting out on the balcony enjoying a drink and admiring the view.
I think this is one of the few places that has off road parking.

If we return to Devon, it will definitly be East Lyn House for us !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clanmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We have spent a wonderful weekend at Lynmouth & Lynton, beautiful place to have a deep breath from crouded city. East Lyn House that we have stayed at over night is a very cosy place to rest in. Excellent location, clean rooms, car prak space, but most of all friendly couple which runs this place with a 5* hotel customer service. W have been welcomed with a big smile ,although a bit too early the room was already waiting for us. They gave us helpful advices about local attractions. English breakfast was delicious:)

Agata & Kuba

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank laura22london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

No wonder they call this place 'Little Switzerland', Lynmouth and the surrounding areas are truly beautiful. East Lyn House is in the most perfect of locations being set right on the river with views following the short stroll down to the sea. Relaxing on the terrace on a sunny evening with a glass of chilled wine has to be one of the best way to escape the normal hustle and bustle of everyday life. The hotel is clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the owners Barbara and Paul. It's a real home from home! From the welcoming atmosphere to the good home cooked food. Breakfast was outstanding and really did set us up for the day. We were slightly worried that our second visit wouldn't live up to the first but we were not disappointed. If you're looking for a relaxing break in the UK you won't be disappointed either. We shall be recommending this lovely hotel to both friends and family. Thank you Barbara and Paul for a lovely stay.....yet again! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oystercatcher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melton3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House

Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $108 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Richard and Helena and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your East Lyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing