We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of East Lyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Lyn House
Ranked #4 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here at the end of August. Found Paul and Sally very welcoming. Best breakfast ever.
Wonderful location. Our room was up two flights of stairs but well worth the climb.Room was
beautifully presented. Would definately stay here again, if in the area. Parking was an
absolute bonus. More than highly recommended. Thank you Paul and Sally.
K & A Thomas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
246
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Location is stunning, something new to explore every day. Paul and sally were friendly and accommodating and intuitive to guests needs I.e those who need privacy or those who enjoyed company. Rooms are ever so clean, well decorated & nicely furnished.
Sound of the stream outside was calming to go off to sleep by. Full English breakfast is the best we've had in a long time.
Also en suite shower room & W.C were separate. Nice touch!

minus-we could not stay longer, we will return.

Room Tip: Stay in 1 room per night as every one is as lovely as the next!!!!(sorry best if not impractical adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A very warm and friendly welcome from the new owner Sally. We were offered tea on arrival. Our room was clean, warm, comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast was superb. The house is in ideal location. We had a great stay. Paul and Sally were excellent hosts. We will return..
Highly recommended- F & M Jennings

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIT_0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice to be welcomed with tea on the patio almost hanging over the river - room was clean & well decorated (just a shame that matress was a very hard memory foam & there was no shower gell or shampoo provided in lovely en suite) We had fabulous views from both our windows - upstream & downstream to sea.Lovely breakfast with suberb home made bread & real bonus of secure garage parking.

Room Tip: Room 1 has super dual aspect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arrived after a tiring long drive, so was so nice to have such a lovely warm welcome from both Paul and Sally, who provided a much needed pot of coffee. We had a very comfortable, light and airy room (number 5) which had dual aspect windows overlooking the river lye from watersmeet.
After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a superb cooked breakfast, which I defy anyone to find anything better. Can't wait to stay with Paul and Sally again- wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely stay in the East Lyn. Sally and Paul were very hospitable and welcoming. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated; breakfast generous and nice.

Rooms overlooking the river, pretty view. Peaceful. Tea and drinks on the patio. Ample parking. 5 minutes into Lynmouth with touristy shops, 5 minute drive or cliff railway to Lynton for more shopping. Lovely walk (steep in parts) to Watersmeet.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room at the top facing river was lovely with the river gurgling the background and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The midlands, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely place, lovely hosts, lovely food and beautiful setting. Couldn't have wished for more. Just had 2 nights there and it was perfect. Can't wait to return. Try The village inn for food, delicious and plentiful.

Room Tip: Room 1 has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House

Property: East Lyn House
Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Richard and Helena and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your East Lyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing