We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts, Great Breakfasts, Great Views, Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Lyn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Lyn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hosts, Great Breakfasts, Great Views, Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent! Couldn't fault it. Best B&B we've ever stayed in for cleanliness, comfort, welcome and the hosts' genuine desire to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Quite the best breakfasts we had all holiday. Good quality ingredients and not stingy with them. We originally booked for one night but loved it so much we decided to stay the whole week. We shall definitely return unless too many people read this and they become booked up for the rest of the century! Our hosts, Paul and Sally have only been operating for a couple of months but they are so good at what they do that they seem like old hands. Other proprietors could definitely learn from them (and would do well to emulate them). We wish Paul and Sally every success; they certainly deserve it. (Rob & Lesley)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
232
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Like a previous reviewer we booked with the previous owners and bearing in mind that Sally and Paul have only been running East Lyn for 6 weeks we could not fault the level of service. Tea offered as soon as we arrived shown around and our room (2) was spotless overlooking the river and down to the harbour. Paul;'s breakfast was to die for and the on premises parking is a real bonus in Lynmouth. We were grateful for being allowed to leave our car even after we had checked out.

We used to stay at East Lyn years ago and loved it and I have to say that nothing has changed for the worse and in some ways improved since those days.

I don't know when we will be back in Lynmouth but would not hesitate to make this our base for any future visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the first floor has cracking views of the river and down to the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Whilst we only stayed the one night, we will definately look to return when next visiting the area. The new owners, Sally and Paul, were found to be very welcoming. We were greeted with a pot of tea on arrival. Our room (#6) was very comfortable with good river and sea views. An extra bonus was breakfast the following morning on the terrace. We sampled the Honesty Bar which was reasonably priced. All in all, a lovely stay and we shall recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

As the weather was so good we decided to head off and try somewhere we hadn't visited previously and chose Lynmouth and East Lyn House Hotel. The area was so pretty and the East Lyn was located on the river with a view of the sea. We hadn't booked and were lucky to find that we could be accommodated for 2 nights. Sally and Paul were very welcoming and friendly and showed us a very well decorated, light and airy room on the second floor with en suite. Sally was kind enough to make me a pot of coffee and even gave me a newspaper to read while my husband went off to get the car. After a good nights sleep in the queen size bed we had an excellent breakfast - freshly cooked to order. 2e don't usually say that we will go back somewhere but we would love to go back for another visit to East Lyn and we have already recommended it to friends. Lynmouth must be one of the prettiest places in the UK.

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor are a little steep but we didn't find them to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I can't recommend the East Lyn House Hotel highly enough. We stayed here after walking the Porlock Weir to Lynmouth part of the South West Coast Path and were hot and tired when we arrived. As soon as we walked through the front door we were met by the owners Sally & Paul who couldn't have been more welcoming. We were going to go straight to our room to crash but found ourselves sitting and chatting with a couple of drinks. They have managed to create a very comfortable environment in which to relax. We were very lucky with the weather and made the most of the superb balcony overlooking the river down towards the sea. Blissful! We slept ok and the room was clean and light. We were sore from our walk so didn't get the best nights sleep but I don't think we would have slept that well at home either! We sat on the terrace for breakfast with the sun shining. It was cooked to perfection too ....... well done Paul!! We will definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to all our friends. There is also lots of free onsite parking. If you are looking for a relaxing short break in a beautiful part of the world, then this is it. Thanks for a great time and see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We haven't visited the Lynton area before and chose the location due to its position on our drive north. Lynmouth was beautiful and East Lyn was perfectly located on the river with a view out to the ocean - couldn't get better. The new owners Sally and Paul are excellent hosts, offering tea on arrival and providing advice on best places for where to eat in the village.
Our room was on the top floor - third - tight turn on the stair case (not for the not so agile). The room was nice-and we had a queen/king size bed (better than the usual double bed we've had in most rooms so far on our current travels).
Breakfast also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marqui_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The new owners are doing a great job. Very helpful, friendly and informative. Lovely place, great walks, good pubs and plenty to do. Good sleep and a good breakfast. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex0686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House Hotel

Property: East Lyn House Hotel
Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Paul and Sally and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your East Lyn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing