We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break in journey”
Review of East Lyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Lyn House
Ranked #4 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for one night while travelling down the coast. It would have been nice to stay longer but were committed for the following night. Very pleasant establishment with a lovely choice for breakfast and friendly owners. Lovely room with views down the river to the sea and loved the sound of the river outside although another time I will close the window as it was a little too noisy and couldn't sleep until I did, My fault entirely!

Room Tip: The staircase to top floor is extremely steep with a tight turn. So if you are not so nimble try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraburton60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 355 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

The new owners of East Lyn House greeted us on our arrival, showed us around and then allowed us to choose a room. So we picked the lovely dual aspect first floor riverside room with views over the river and the sea. The room itself was bright, clean and modern. Free undercover parking on site was great and we were able to leave the car here for the day after our nights stay even though we had already checked out, which I really appreciated. Great breakfast too. Would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The river side rooms have the best views and the sound of the water is very relaxing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent location; very friendly and welcoming hosts, with suggestions as to where to eat and drink locally. On the plus side, our twin room was clean and very pleasantly decorated; well supplied for tea and coffee, (not the usual two of each) and packets of biscuits; breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and the lounge/bar was very comfortable, with various games, DVDs etc and gave access to a small terrace ideal to watch the sun go down and listen to/watch the nearby river; there was also free parking, (although a little challenging). We found the local environment to be pleasantly quiet at night, apart of course from the lovely sound of the river, and we had a great view of the valley from our window.

On the other hand, the only twin room was on the second floor and would not be suitable for anyone with restricted mobility as the stairs were very steep, with a couple of turns (would have been good to mention this at the time of booking.) The en-suite bathroom was dated and the shower was in need of some attention. Breakfast hours were a little on the early side - 8.15 to 9.15.

Unfortunately evening meals were not available during our stay - due to 'freezer problems'.

Overall though, if we could stay in a room on the first floor then we would have no hesitation in booking to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lincolntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

just spent three nights at east lyn house and it was fantastic!! paul and barbara were perfect hosts giving us ideas of places to eat and visit. the room was perfect. also being able to park our motorbike in a garage was a real bonus [especially in this weather]!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryangibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked in advance for my 2nd night on the South West Coast Path, based on reviews on TripAdvisor. I wasn't disappointed. Nice shower, flat screen TV, lots of tea, coffee, hot choc, sugar and milk provided. It might have been a little bit cramped if there were 2 people in the room, as not very spacious, but that's probably why I was given that room as a single booking. Very good breakfast. Overall, excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family of four had a very nice stay at East Lyn House B&B. The rooms were spacious and clean, all with a differently designed interior. The host and hostess were very friendly and forthcoming - as was the manager, Poppy that cat! A very nice place to stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerstiAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Comfortable and well appointed room(room 2) with lovely views. Covered parking below the accommodation was useful & Paul and Barbara very friendly. The meal at the Village Inn was excellent

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barmar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House

Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $108 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Richard and Helena and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your East Lyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing